We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Abukar H
California Desert, California

Amazing property.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 15, 2024via mobile
The Grand is an amazing resort. One of the most beautiful places to stay at. Staff are well trained and professional. I highly recommended this resort to all who are planning to visit San Diego. It’s also closer to the beach and attractions sites.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this review
Responded Jan 16, 2024
Thank you for your wonderful words and review, we look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$424
  • Hotels.com
19.0 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$465
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
17.7 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    C$191
  • Algotels
20.1 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$250
  • Algotels
12.1 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$297
  • Algotels
12.6 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    C$423
  • Algotels
18.5 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$228
  • Algotels
19.8 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$136
  • Algotels
11.8 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$237
  • Official Hotel Site
21.0 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$569
  • Algotels
25.6 km from Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (2,381)
Filter reviews
2,381 results
Traveller rating
2,034
201
69
42
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,034
201
69
42
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amaya restaurant adult pool prado suite chocolate covered oreos four seasons tennis courts family pool star resort pool staff turn down service beautiful property southern california lobby bar rooms are large self park fitness center addison
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 2,381 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2024 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont San Diego in Delmar on January 11-14, 2024. The resort is absolutely beautiful and I would definitely recommend just to see the setting. The front desk staff (first Impression) was top notch. Room was very nice with nightly turndown. The only complaint on the room was I found some tags pulled that were pulled off someone else’s clothes and thrown in the close. Also, found some plastic clothing clips in the same area. I was surprised the housekeeping staff did not provide better cleaning. The last night we were there after the nightly turn down the lockout was unlocked and open. This would be considered a major safety issue since there was someone else in the adjoining room and it was NOT our family. The hotel has a “Lobby Lounge” which is a part of the Maya restaurant. I would rate the food below average, ie., breakfast took long to come out and food had obviously been sitting under a heat lamp. Service in lounge area was average but at bar was actually good. Drinks in “Lobby Lounge” were some of the best, highly recommend “Vista Margarita”. Valet staff was always pleasant and had our car to the front in a timely manner. For the $$$$ I would not recommend this resort. We ate most of our meals there and were very disappointed.

Room tip: Valet only, but there is parking near Addison Restaurant where you can park free.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Girlkemper52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2024

We appreciate your insightful review and the meticulous feedback you've shared, which we will thoroughly discuss with our leadership team. Our Director of Guest Experience is keen to engage in a conversation with you at your earliest convenience. Your presence has been valued, and we eagerly anticipate the opportunity to host you again in the future.





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2024

Very inviting room. Very quiet.all the amenities you would expect from a stay at a Fairmont Hotel. Beautiful golf course and challenging. The dinner at the restaurant was excellent!! The staff was very attentive to your every need. From the greeting upon arrival, to transport to the golf course and back and checking out. I’ll be back!

Room tip: Very enjoyable experience! The golf course is in excellent condition and challenging. The rooms are luxurious with all the amenities provide
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2024

Thank you for your wonderful words and review, we look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2024

Fantastic hotel, gorgeous grounds, and over-the-top beautiful holiday decorations! The staff was so kind and attentive, our rooms were lovely and well-appointed, and my SIL raved about how wonderful her spa treatment was. I’ve stayed at hundreds of hotels around the world, and this property is truly a standout. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2024

Thank you for your wonderful words and review, we look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2024

I stay at the Fairmont Del Mar in San Diego regularly. The experience is always fantastic. I find the hotel and the grounds very relaxing. The staff (especially the concierge team) are tremendous. I look forward to visiting again.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank highexpactations1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2024

Thank you for your wonderful words and review, we look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2024

The hotel is exceptional across the board. The grounds and pools are lovely and facilities excellent. Rooms are great quality as well. We felt very welcome with the exception of the concierge person (a lady whose name I am sorry I cannot recall) on 26.12.23 who was terribly grumpy, seemed to struggle with my English accent (hello this is meant to be a hotel taking people from around the World!) and was really rather unhelpful to us. In contrast the older gentleman I spoke with on 27.12.23 was absolutely delightful, as was the front desk staff and pool staff.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bhaskarp2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joern Schwaiger, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2024

We sincerely appreciate your glowing review, highlighting the exceptional qualities of our hotel, from the charming grounds and pools to the excellent facilities. Your commendation of the rooms is truly gratifying.

However, we regret to learn about the less-than-pleasant experience you encountered. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused. We are committed to providing a welcoming environment that transcends linguistic barriers, and it is disheartening to hear about the challenges you faced with the communication. Rest assured, we take your feedback seriously and will address this matter promptly.

On a brighter note, we are delighted to hear of the positive interactions, as well as the commendable service from our front desk and pool staff. We value your feedback immensely and will use it as a catalyst for continuous improvement.

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for an even more memorable stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews