We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Wanderer569194

Terrible room condition

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
I’d like to start by saying that everyone we encountered was very professional and helpful - excellent customer service. Having said that, our room was a disaster.
- Regarding room 291, drawers on the dresser and credenza don’t stay closed so create a hazard when walking past and look terrible.
- We ordered room service around 10pm. When the gentleman arrived, we couldn’t unlock the door. It took approximately 2 minutes to play with the latch, finally pressing full body weight against the door and cranking the latch to get it open. This is not only annoying, but incredibly dangerous in the case of a fire.
- We ran a bath and the stopper wouldn’t go down to seal the tub. After jockeying it a bit, I got it to seal. When we were finished, the stopper wouldn’t go back up for the tub to drain. I had to leverage a nail file under the stopper to hold it open enough for the tub to drain.
Based on the issues encountered in just the first hour, we just went to bed and left early the next morning without using anything else.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brendan Carlin, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good afternoon, Thank you for your detailed review of your experience at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. We sincerely apologize for your less than perfect experience at our resort, and our Our Director of Rooms would like to talk to you about your experience directly if you could please reach out to him at Abukar.Hussein@fairmont.com.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Reviews (2,388)
Filter reviews
2,388 results
Traveller rating
2,040
202
69
42
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,040
202
69
42
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amaya restaurant adult pool prado suite chocolate covered oreos four seasons tennis courts family pool star resort pool staff turn down service beautiful property southern california lobby bar rooms are large self park fitness center addison
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 2,388 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Wonderful hotel! Has everything you want and need. Excellent service, beautiful rooms and grounds, great restaurant and helpful staff. Irene, in the concierge service, was wonderful. She recommended Torrey Pines for hiking and we loved it! We really appreciated her help and suggestions. Mr. Jay was our driver, very nice and informative about the area. If you want to be pampered, I highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 596barryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brendan Carlin, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful review! we look forward to hosting you again soon! Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2024

We have been staying at the GDM in the past when the property was first owned by Papa Doug before it was sold to the Fairmont. We used to come yearly until Covid hit then we took a hiatus. We have returned to our Xanadu, The Grand Del Mar, after 5 years to celebrate our son’s 30th birthday and my wedding anniversary of 38 years. There is no better place than the GDM for such special occasions.

Some of the management key people are still very present at the property but many of the familiar faces that have been at the GDM for years are no longer present except for Bryan Duncan and Nick who are not at the Golf clubhouse restaurant. These 2 gentlemen welcomed us back like family and extended such hospitality and generosity to us. We thank Bryan D and Nick for their hard work and outstanding customer service! Other shout outs go to other wonderful staff at the property who went over and beyond to get to know us and to hep us—Liz in the gift shop; Eve at the Relaxation pool; Mia, archery instructor; and Lauren at the horse stable. Lastly, the housekeeping staff that cleaned our room during our stay (June 3 to 7) is outstanding…paying attention to every little detail in the room. Bravo to all these awesome people at GDM!

The management should also be recognized for their awesome leadership and for ensuring their loyal guests are valued and appreciated. They are extremely accommodating and they always manage to make us feel like VIPs. We appreciate and thank Mr. Hussein and Ms. Cortese very much in helping us with our reservation in ensuring our stay was nothing short of perfection. Recognizing loyal guests is so important in this economy and Mr. Hussein and Ms. Cortese out did themselves. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts to them both!

The property is still gorgeous as ever, our usual room is in better shape than before with an even larger screen tv. Our room had no wear and tear and everything was like brand new when we first stayed in it when the property first opened. It is truly impressive to be able to keep every inch of the property so immaculate and well kept.

The spa adult pool is lovely as before with new lounger cushions and umbrellas. I love the thick lounger cushions so it is really comfortable. Their tiles by the pool are always cool to the feet even when it is 40 degrees out which is so lovely. The bottom of your feet will never be burnt. One of the changes we did notice is that the water temperature is much cooler during our stay in early June and there are no more sunscreen or magazines. Luckily we did bring our own sunscreen but it was a nice touch to have bottles of it at the pool for those guests that may have forgotten theirs.

The one thing that I did miss most during this stay is the early morning coffee urn by the front desk for early risers like a few of us who needed a java jolt before starting off our day. We now need to wait until the coffee shop is open at 6am. There is a Nespresso machine and kettle in the room but the Nespresso can be noisy especially at 5am when the family is still deep in their sleep.

The menu offerings at the coffee shop has also changed ….now it is more of a grab and go type whereas before they had lovely soups like lobster bisque even and great salads. There were some lovely looking desserts like the chocolate rocher which i will try for sure.

It is so nice to see the Fairmont doing so much work to the property…there is now a “Grand Social” on the weekends at the front of the property; the man made sandy beach by the family pool now has been replaced by a games area with artificial turf and lovely ornamental grasses. It also looks like they are building a stage like structure there as well.

We love all the activities on a daily basis at the GDM—for both children and adults alike. We signed up for the archery lesson (complimentary) which as so much fun and we also had the opportunity to feed and pet the horses at the stable. (complimentary) There are also many other complimentary activities as well as yoga which I thoroughly enjoyed.

We like to thank the wonderful staff and management for providing us another exceptional stay at the Grand Del Mar. You provided us with such joy and happiness during our stay celebrating our son's 30th birthday and our 38th wedding anniversary. It is truly our Xanadu and we will return soon.

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brendan Carlin, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2024

Thank you for your wonderful review! we look forward to hosting you again soon! Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2024

My wife and I had an incredible staycation at this beautiful resort. The friendly staff, stunning grounds, amazing spa, and inviting adult pool made for a relaxing and enjoyable experience. The golf course was in fantastic shape and truly exceptional. I highly recommend this resort for an exciting and memorable stay.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brendan Carlin, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2024

Thank you for your wonderful review! we look forward to hosting you again soon! Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2024

Not what I expected for what I paid. First, it’s incredible hard to find someone working at the hotel. Second, the hotel accidentally charged me double and said, “go talk to your bank about it.” Although the hotel is beautiful, the customer service is not good at all. Do not go here.

Room tip: Make sure to bring your own snacks. The hotel does not have a conscience store and getting a hold of someone is very difficult.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Odyssey45576058068
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brendan Carlin, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2024

Good afternoon, Thank you for your detailed review of your experience at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. We sincerely apologize for your less than perfect experience at our resort, and our Our Director of Rooms would like to talk to you about your experience directly if you could please reach out to him at Abukar.Hussein@fairmont.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2024

Just the best hotel in San Diego.
The things we loved:
The pool temperature is perfect
The horses
The horse feeding
The food
The service
The excellent rooms
The pool attendants setting up chairs and the pool service was excellent
The valets
The kids eating free

I missed the cookies at turndown. That was such a nice treat. Also there was no meat options for any of the pizzas at the outdoor grand social. It would also be nice if they had a kids menu for the outdoor grand social.

I don’t have any complaints. Book this hotel if you want a perfect vacation.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tpearsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brendan Carlin, General Manager at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2024

Thank you for your wonderful review! we look forward to hosting you again soon! Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews