We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very impressed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Ranked #22 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We arrived at the hotel early (around noon), they gave us our room right away.
This location on Shelter Island is very close to the airport and lots of other attractions.
The room was recently upgraded and had a nice view of the pool and marina.
The restaurant has a happy hour with half price drinks and appetizers.
We only stayed 2 nights here but wished we had longer. There is free wi-fi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,934
    1,046
    230
    61
    32
See reviews for
1,213
1,356
98
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed April 1-3 for spring break. Booked in advance through Costco travel and paid a good price. Check-in was smooth, got to the room and we were given a room with a kitchen which I didn't expect or ask for. We were on the ground floor with an awesome view and walkout patio just by the pool. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but didn't hear our neighbors at all. The room was spotless and the beds were super clean and very comfy. There isn't a lot of parking at the buildings, but there is a garage at the end of the lot that had plenty of spots. Overall, I rate this hotel with the highest regard, as I have had much bad luck in the past and usually expect the worst. Truly appreciate getting to say we had the best vacation ever, and this Best Western helped with that!

Room Tip: I asked for a good view when I booked online and we certainly got it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytravelfun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

There is one complaint i have about this hotel - very thin walls. May be in some other rooms it is better but they gave us a room on the first floor with a view of the parking lot. That was fine with us because the room was clean, bed was comfortable, wifi worked fine and we really did not care much about the view because we were out most of the time.
In the evening when we came back, our neighbors in the room right of us had also arrived at the same time. I literally was hearing everything they were saying to each other. They were not even talking loud. Thanks God we did not have anyone in the room on the left side of us or anyone upstairs above us. So i was sitting there using my computer and listening to some guy talking to his children. I could hear everything he was saying just as if they were in the same room with me.
Same story in the morning. They woke up and i had to wake up because they were talking and it was like they were right next to me. I have never been in a hotel with such thin walls in my life, and i have been traveling a lot.
I don't think i will stay there again. I would rather spend $180 per night at some other hotel where i don't have to listen my neighbors' private conversations .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We saw this place the last time we went down to San Diego and wanted to stay there the next time we made it down. We did and it was very nice. The room faced the bay so we had lots to watch from the balcony. Big Navy ships, cruse ships, sail boats of every size, and just watching the people doing there thing in the small park across the street from us. But, most of all it is close to three of our favorite restaurants. First, Phil's B.B.Q at 3750 Sports Arena Blvd. (closed mondays). The best baby back pork ribs ever! Second, Blue Water Seafood Market and Grill. Not fancy! You eat off plastic plats and plastic knives and forks, but, the food more than makes up for that. They are at 3667 India St. Parking is not good. and Third is El Indio, again plastic but real Mexican food. They have been there since 1940, they make there corn Tortillas fresh everyday! The last day we were there we found a breakfast place called the Broken Yoak, be hungery.
OK, this was not the best time of year to go, spring break but, we had another good time and I hope that this will help you out.

Room Tip: Bay side is the best. More to watch. The Marina side might be a little quiter, but by 9:00pm it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My family lives in San Diego and when we need a short getaway, our go-to hotel is the Best Western Island Palms. The rooms are wonderful; modernly designed with warmth and taste and plenty of room to stretch out. The staff was great; very nice and always helpful. Our kids love the pool and we always get pool service for lunch which has always been delivered promptly, with the order correct and fresh & hot(when appropriate). Easy, complimentary parking and great water views over San Diego Bay on one side and a wonderful marina view on the otherside, it's a win-win no matter where your room is at this awesome hotel! Thank you Best Western Island Palms!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PGSevenSeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed April 3-5, 2012 for spring break. Island Palms hotel and marina has great view of the bay and the dock yachts. Their pool is very child friendly 3-5 ft deep only with lots of lounge chairs for adults to relax (background view is the yachts). Free clean towels to use at poolside and fireplace to warm up cold kids out of the pool. You can walk along the bay and watch boats and ships along the waters. The pier where you can fish (bring fishing stuff if u love to fish) is right in front of the Casa Marina building. There were pelicans, pigeons, heron and ducks all around. There is also a small park where the kids can play. We even played badminton on the grassy areas. We saw some families with their tents set up for a picnic. Choose a 2nd or 3rd floor room at Casa Marina so you can enjoy these views because you can see cars only if you are on the 1st floor. There's an elevator on this building. Our room is on the 3rd floor, 2 queen beds, enough for 2 adults and 3 small kids. There's a microwave, tv, refrigerator, and best if free wifi and free parking. Will definitely come back more more staycations here.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd or 3rd floor to enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arawatbuwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Found a great price online and called the hotel and they matched it. We stayed 7 nights. When we got our luggage, we called from the airport and shortly, the hotel's shuttle arrived to pick us up. Our rent-a-car wasn't ready as promised (was reserved with the room package) but Chris at the front desk went out of his way to help. After his two phone calls to them, a car finally showed up. We used our gps, went to Wal-mart and stocked up with what we would need for the week. We stayed in the Casa Marina building which is the furthest from the lobby. It is fairly new and we loved it! BUT, book the 3rd floor (as we did) if you can, otherwise your view will be a hedge that fronts the parking lot. We chose the bay side (not the marina). They are both nice - the marina side is probably more quiet, but you will miss out on all the neat things that you see on the bay side (like the huge cruise ships coming and going, the beautiful sailboats and yachts enjoying a day on the water and the fast recon vessels that originate from the Marine Anti-Submarine Warfare Training Centre!)

I am extremely picky about cleanliness and this hotel did not disappoint. You know how sometimes your tub gets grimy after a couple days of showers/baths. Not here - it was cleaned to a shine every day. You know how when you get home, you have to treat your socks with stain remover becauses they are so dirty from the hotel carpets? Not here. I was VERY impressed with the housekeeping. Our room also had a small fridge and microwave. At first the microwave didn't work (the turntable wouldn't turn), but they quickly brought up a NEW one and installed it! Ice is on the 2nd floor. We only used the pool closest to our room and it was nice + the hot tub was nice and hot. There is also a gas fireplace out there. Fresh clean towels are available (in the basket). You might even see the two local "mascot" ducks - my son called them Quacky and Quackles. They love a little bit of bread and will come up quite close to you.

I found the bed a little hard, then 2 days later my husband found the sheet that tells you how to adjust the bed if you want it softer!

All in all, a great hotel with reasonable prices in a great location (Shelter Island gives you a real safe feeling and it's not too far to all the attractions you will want to visit). Their shuttle also takes you to the airport to catch your plane home. AND THIS HOTEL DOES NOT CHARGE EXTRA FOR INTERNET ACCESS OR PARKING. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Choose a 3rd floor room - we preferred bay view with all the interesting things to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idaholovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#32 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#39 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Address: 2051 Shelter Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92106-3105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#39 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on San Diego's Shelter Island, the Island Palms Hotel and Marina is surrounded by the blue waters of San Diego Bay. Nestled among 6 acres of lush, tropical landscaping, this spectacular setting overlooks our private yacht marina and San Diego's largest yacht basin. Features and amenities include 227 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites, 2 heated waterfront pools and spas, waterfront restaurant and bar and over 6,300 square feet of water view meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel And Marina
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing