We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Ranked #165 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Overall, this hotel is good for families. We needed a hotel with a suite with separate bedroom since we have a three year old who goes to bed early. This hotel met that need, however I will say it could use a spruce up. It is not in terrible condition, but seems tired and a bit dated. That said, it was comfortable and met our needs. There are pocket doors separating the rooms in the suites and they are old, hard to close and loud. Not ideal for a toddler who needs to sleep. The couch pulls out to a bed which was fine for him, but I wouldn't have wanted to sleep on it! Our son loved the pool, especially the slide and the swim restaurant is pretty good, although I went there to get a couple of scoops of ice cream to bring back to the room and they couldn't figure out how to do that. (It was weird). The Red Marlin is really good, but pricey. The breakfast buffet is very nice. My main complaint about this hotel is that the staff seemed clueless about a lot of things. Our check in was soooooo slow, so slow that we were given free appetizers at Swim. They were apologetic and said their system is slow. Seems like they need to renovate more than their furniture!

Here is the stupidest thing though: they are situated 1.5 miles from Seaworld and unlike other hotels they do not provide shuttle service. We saw shuttles from other hotels both at Seaworld, Balboa park and the zoo. For a family friendly hotel, it would be a great service to offer. They have daily car rentals, but parking there is as expensive as a day of car rental! The website says that there is a water taxi to Seaworld, however when we arrived we discovered that it only runs until noon. Then the next shuttle isn't until 6:40 pm! How is that an appropriate time for young children? We asked why they don't have a service at like say, 3:00 or 4:00 in the afternoon and they said they just don't. We could have left Seaworld for nap time and gone back but instead we only had two hours there since they open at 10! Also, we couldn't use the water taxi there because you can't use your Go San Diego pass the first time from the back enterance (where the boat drops you off) so we had to walk there almost two miles! This seems like a big miss for a family friendly resort located so close to a major attraction.

We asked the concierge how to get to Old Town for dinner and she knew very little about public busses, including incorrect information about how much it cost. We had to figure it out on our own. One concierge could not recommend a family friendly place for pasta in the entire San Diego area. A different concierge requested the wrong car seat in our rental car. All in all, it seems like it should be the job of these people to be helpful but they were clueless! One woman (older w/dark hair) was knowledgeable and helpful. The other two were not. Also, not sure if this was intentional but our room did not get cleaned on the first day and on the second and third day the bed was made but that was it. At a Hyatt, it is kind of odd that the room didn't get cleaned.

Overall I would recommend this place for a family vacation but definitely rent a car for the whole trip, as it is somewhat isolated. We regretted not renting a car for the whole time and the hotel was not much help.

Room Tip: Suite was spacious and comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMBay, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Lisa H,
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay.As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,470)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 3,470 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We had two rooms and the smell in both was horrible.

The pillows are bellow any standards. Very low quality.

Front desk and pool staff were very nice except the water slide attendant that kids pointed she was unhappy to be there.

For the Hyatt standard and the price this hotel is at, one would expect a lot more.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMBay, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Allen B,
As the comfor & tranqulity of our hotel is a key priority, we are very sorry that your guestroom fell short of your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Overall it was a great stay. The swim lounge the pools. My king room with balcony was quaint. Excellent service. I went bike riding. I would definitely stay again. Right by boardwalk not far from beach !!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ieisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMBay, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Ieisha H,
Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay at our hotel. As a valued customer, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you the next time your travels bring you to beautiful San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HRMBay, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Where do I start... first let me say the front desk staff was very nice & really tried to accommodate us. The 1st room we were given smelled old & musty. The 2nd room smelled better but literally opened to the parking lot on the 1st floor. So the room was noisy. Then finally I was given the option of upgrading for a fee. At this point I was all in as long as the room was not smelly or in the parking lot. I walked into the lobby of the building & was met with a swarm of flies. No kidding.. of course I asked the maintenance if this was a recurring issue. To my surprise he said yup & sometimes they are in the rooms. Wow ...well I continued to check the room out & it was sufficient. We ended up leaving since I didn't want up live with the swarm of flies every time I entered the building.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank JEANETTE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMBay, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hi JEANETTE W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay. Although we aim to exceed our guest expectations, unfortunately we have fallen short over you recent visit.

We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to sunny San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Stayed at Hyatt during family reunion and was very dissatisfied with room cleanliness and furniture condition. Desk had paint splattering , chair was stained, alarm clock was busted from someone dropping it likely. Also it was a single sink in a corner suite. Heard outdoor noise while sleeping during the night(cars, birds, emergency vehicles) from 15th floor. Other family members had issues as well but moved rooms to try and get a better one. Pricey for what you get and costly fees for parking and hotel services.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank jamesz831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMBay, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hi jamesz831,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay! We are sorry that you had less than an "silent night". As we are nestled into the marina with downtown and the airport less than 6 miles away, we are sorry to hear that this kept you awake.

James, we are sorry we didn't impress you on your recent visit. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to sunny San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Dirty, dusty room in need of a reclean. Took almost an hour to get cleaning staff to room, which ended up including housekeeping manager because it was taking too long. Worn sofa fabric, tears in blackout curtains, bathtub kept filling up with water and not draining.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMBay, Manager at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hi Chris H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Mission Bay! We apologize that our housekeeping team failed to wow you on your recent visit. We appreciate your candid feedback; it will be shared with the team for future improvement.

We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to sunny San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#30 of 278 in San Diego
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#75 of 278 in San Diego
4,957 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
#150 of 278 in San Diego
5,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $186 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina is located in the heart of San Diego, Mission Bay. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 429 appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, flat screen televisions and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our award winning swimming pools and water slides, take a stroll to the world famous SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Blue Marble Spa. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing