We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grooooooosssss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mission Valley Resort
Ranked #245 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I came here with 4friends and first of all the room was so small with very little walking space. My bed had crumbs in it, the floor had chili stains on it, the shower tiles were all chipped, there was hair in my bath tub, hair in the blow dryer, a hole in the wall that was covered by a picture frame....the drawers had no handles, and my towels were wet and very small! Horrible horrible horrible don't ever wanna go there again!

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeganS963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

If you like this place you have very low standards. The name is a huge lie. I had no idea when booking it that you should stay clear of Hotel Circle, lesson learned. Not only was it unclean, the beds were low quality (big issue with me), the staff was slow and the restaurant next door, whom they use for their room service, should be shut down. The food sat in my stomach like a ball of lead. That is until the gas started, the whole group not just me. It ruined our get away. It's hard to enjjoy sight seeing when you feel like crap

Room Tip: Stay near the Bay, this place was just as expensive as the good hotels in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieS575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We just checked in..... walked to our room, keys didn't work. Went back to the front desk, they issued new keys which... you guessed it, didn't work. Maintenance had to open the door for us and whew, the foul stench that came from the room when the door was opened was stifling. It wasn't just musty but was the eye burning aroma of urine. Of course the front desk says there are no other rooms available, which I seriously doubt, as the parking lot is only 1/3 full. This place is rated a 3 star, but if you closely at the rating categories, more often than not, the customer rates this place as terrible.... so take my advice DON'T book this rat hole!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dulcinea0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Was very disappointed with the Mission Valley Resort. I'd rank it below a Motel 6. The towels and sheets were thin, the safe in the closet had the door broken off, one of the pictures above one of the two double beds was missing. The light fixture above the sink was pitted as was the mirror. The whole place looked like it could have used an serious update. The most positive thing I could say was that the room was clean. The maids did a fine job everyday of tidying the room and the bathroom. On the weekday there was good coffee in the lobby. I would not stay at this "Resort" in the future

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickey108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My experience being a frequent guest of the Mission Valley Resort is always a pleasant one. The MVR is a full service hotel with the a restaurant called the Valley Kitchen which incidentally is very popular with the locals as well. The staff at this hotel cares.

The guest rooms are well appointed and very large and offer all the amenities of a five star hotel. For the rate, amenities, service and location there is not better deal than the Mission Valley Resort.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms in building 4, 5 or 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SeasonedTraveler1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This is still a okay place to stay , but the night time staff was not so good, I check in alittle after midnight, the guy at the front desk said I almost missed out on my check in time because it was after midnight. He put me in room 556, this room smell like fresh urine, We sat on the bed and the scent was strong, called the front desk, he could not do any thing but tell me to come to the front desk and get clean sheet, I went to the front desk to get the clean sheets and found out that the sheet he gave me did not fit the bed. I waited until 7 am and called the front desk again and the morning staff move me to room 152, this was a very nice room, I still had some problems I walked around the resort and all the information on the web was not correct, they stated there a work out area, found out this has been close since 10/2011, they stated we get a free breakfast no one knew any thing about it, until my check out date I over heard a staff member telling another customer where to go to get breakfast. I was upset because when I ask the front desk they said they do not offer breakfast. Then I tried to used the computer in the hotel lobby and that was like use a tuttle and they give you 5 min to use it per guest. I use my own laptop and still had a problem connecting to the wifi. It still close to a few nice area I went to Balboa Park, This is a must see if you going to be in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlcbear411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed through the second week of January and enjoyed our trip. The personnel upon check-in was remarkable. Our room was on first floor because we asked for; it had been a large room for $39, fresh and bedsheets was cool and cozy. It was also very tranquil and so our sleep was perfect. The hotel is bigger than I estimated along with the exotic backyard areas, the pool area were fun. We had booked a rental car and it was easy getting in and out from the hotel to get down to the city or the beach. We will stay here again next time at the same price I hope.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bod m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 279 in San Diego
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Fashion Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#163 of 279 in San Diego
193 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#135 of 279 in San Diego
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Valley Resort

Address: 875 Hotel Cir S, San Diego, CA 92108-3406
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $70 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mission Valley Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mission Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Mission Valley San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing