We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an excellent value (and nice people, too).”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Inn
Ranked #13 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What an excellent value (and nice people, too).”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I have been staying at the Old Town Inn for at least 6 years. They have always provided me with a fresh, clean, well-maintained room, comfortable bed, ample breakfast, and a wonderful staff! Their pool is in a quiet, sheltered area that allows you to relax. The Inn is a short walk to the San Diego Trolley system, and near the Airport. Old Town is also a short walk for food, drink, and entertainment.

Many of the staff members are long-timers and actually make you feel like they care about you being back for another visit. Beatriz and Anna are two of the managers whom I have met and they are very proud of their establishment and its employees.

I highly recommend the Old Town Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radio1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear valued guest - It’s always a pleasure to have you back as our returning guest and we are delighted to know that you always enjoy the cleanliness and the amenities we offer. We always do the best possible to meet the comfort and convenience of your stay at the Old Town Inn. Thank you very much for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to seeing you in the lobby of the Old Town Inn in San Diego soon.

Mike M - Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    628
    134
    31
    21
See reviews for
647
630
87
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We love this place. My family goes to San Diego a few times a year and we love Old Town Inn. It's a clean, cute Inn with a terrific continental breakfast. The location and price can't be beat. They don't charge for parking like other large hotels and the staff is super friendly.

Room Tip: The cottages near the pool are the best value, but the rooms further from the pool are more modern a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Nice place, good helpful staff, clean, a little out of the way, but close to public transportation, the airport & Old Town. I'm not sure I'd walk in the area at night, but we had no problems.
I'd stay here again if I get back this way, probably would be better for someone with vehicle, we walked and rode bikes. My only complaints, the bed was too soft for me...and no fault of the hotel, but someone let their dog keep barking while they walked it.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of the Old Town Inn. We are delighted to have had you as our guest, and even happier that we were able to meet your expectations and hopefully go above and beyond them. Thank you for giving our AAA 2-star hotel a chance to provide you with the service that we pride ourselves in. Here at the Old Town Inn, our company culture is to provide quality, affordability, and great customer service to our guests.

I was saddened to read that you found our beds too soft. We tested a lot of beds and the owner personally tested the Beautyrest at home before deciding to replace all of our mattresses with their top of the line Simmons Beautyrest Pillowtop Mattresses. Their pocketed coil springs are small, individually wrapped, strong and durable. These mattresses also have layers and layers of cushioning foam. Most of our guests love them but as you can imagine, it’s very hard to get the beds just right in a hotel because everyone has their own preference.

All of us at the Old Town Inn would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words, and we hope that you will visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

The Old Town Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bellmore, New York
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed two nights and was just right for the < $100 pricetag. A little out of the way for non Old Town destinations, but within a convenient 10 minute drive. The room was clean and we felt safe despite the industrial nature of the area. Close to the airport without being next door, which was helpful for a 7 am flight.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbergma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we greatly appreciate your feedback. It gives us a chance to improve where we need to, and also lets us know when we have done a good job. The Old Town Inn staff strives to provide our guests with quality, affordability, and of course great customer service. Our hotel is centrally located, just minutes from Old Town, the airport, Sea World, and downtown. We are happy to know that you found our location to be convenient and safe despite the fact that we are located in an industrial pocket.

As I’ve mentioned in previous reviews, The Old Town Inn had its origin in 1945 when the owner’s grandfather retired as a Brigadier General in the Marine Corps. He came to San Diego to remedy a problem he’d experienced in the military: a lack of quality, affordable lodging for servicemen and their families. At the time, Pacific Highway was the only road for weary travelers coming from Los Angeles and Orange County. Our hotel was the first in a line of hotels that stretched to the downtown area. Though there have been many changes and renovations, our hotel is still committed to its original philosophy: to provide quality, affordability, and great customer service to our guests.

We look forward to seeing you next time you visit San Diego.

Sincerely,

The Old Town Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Right away, its easy to see that this hotel is not like the rest. From the time you pull into the parking lot, check-in at the lobby, enter your room and attend breakfast when you wake, the atmosphere is warm and welcoming with charming surroundings and friendly faces. Coming from someone who spends 30-50 nights at various chains and independently owned hotels/motels throughout the year, it's an experience that stands out as unique and a much- appreciated step outside the normal rigid hotel policies and cookie-cutter accommodations provided at other locations nearby. Its not brand-new or even high-tech, but it does cover many business-travelers needs with WI-Fi, printers and fax machines. The lived-in feel has just as much appeal as a brand new remodeled room, if you take into account in room DVD players with a library of movies in the lobby to choose from at no additional cost, flat screen TVs, and in room internet access. There is also around the clock coffee, tea and fresh fruit in the lobby that is actually yummy enough to take advantage of! The pool area offers a serene escape worth indulging in, even if you just sit in a lounge chair with a book and enjoy your reflection. I really cant say enough positive things about this property and would recommend it, without hesitation, to anyone looking for a place to stay that can appreciate nostalgic charm and hospitable surroundings.

Room Tip: There are plenty of different types of rooms with many different arrangements available. The staff i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Old Town Inn and that you had so many nice compliments about our hotel staff and our property.

The Old Town Inn had its origin in 1945 when the owner’s grandfather retired as a Brigadier General in the Marine Corps. He came to San Diego to remedy a problem he’d experienced in the military: a lack of quality, affordable lodging for servicemen and their families. Though there have been many changes and renovations to our hotel, we are still committed to our original philosophy: to provide quality, affordability, and great customer service to our guests.

Thank you again for your wonderful review.

Mike - Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed a total of 6 nights at the Old Town Inn in San Diego. It's across the street from the Old Town Historic Park, so we walked there a few nights to visit the museums, shops and great Mexican food. We also were able to attend a play at the theatre there.

The price was right - $71 with a AAA discount.

It's very convenient to the airport - about 15 minutes down the road. Despite being on Pacific Highway, the room was very quiet.

The room itself was on the small side, but very comfortable and clean. The towels were thin, but plentiful. I liked their green iniative - the ability to reuse towels, and they had a recycling bin in each room so you could recycle paper, plastic, glass, etc.

The continental breakfast was great - very fresh. Oatmeal, cereal, bagels, danish, muffins, make your own waffles, fruit, coffee/tea/juice.

There was a heated pool, which looked very clean. Unfortunately, the weather was on the cool side, so we didn't partake of it.

I would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Hello Pam, Thank you so much for your review here on TripAdvisor. We are always so thankful when a guest takes the time out of their day to write a review, and yours is so kind! I love how easy it is to get to Old Town and there is so much to do there; I hope you enjoyed the play. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast; we do our best to keep a well stocked and diversified breakfast. We hope you come back soon, as we are getting perfect weather for the pool!!

Regards,

Rebecka - Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Selected this motel based on other reviews and to be fair, was told that the regular rooms were sold out and only an economy room was available. The room was in what seemed to be the original part of the motel, most likely built in the 1940's. The room was very small, with cheap furniture and an uncomfortable bed - you turn the closet light on by pulling a string! But it was very clean,the tiny bathroom had been updated, we were able to bring our dog and it was very inexpensive.

The breakfast room and breakfast itself was very good and the lobby and pool area were nice enough. Maybe I would have been happier with one of the newer rooms? I was disappointed in that you really could not walk to Old Town - this motel is located in an industrial area across from the transportation center and I would not have felt safe walking to Old Town from there.

We just drove down to SD for my boyfriend's, daughter's birthday dinner and just spent one night, so it was o.k. If you want an inexpensive and very basic room where you can bring your dog and have a decent breakfast - this place is for you. If you are on holiday and want to stay somewhere nice and updated, or within walking distance to Old town, I would pay a little more and choose someplace else.

Room Tip: dont go for the economy rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacarandaSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback, it tells us where we need to improve, and lets us know when we have done a good job. I was very sorry to hear that your economy room did not meet your highest expectations, and I apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced. Our economy rooms are certainly not fancy, but they are always immaculately clean, comfortable, and they work out for our guests who simply need an affordable “base of operations” for their business trip or vacation.

We put a lot of work into making all of our rooms comfortable for our guests. In every room, including the economy units, we have put in Simmons Beautyrest Pillowtop mattresses, and we are very surprised and disappointed to learn that the bed was not comfortable for you. I hope that you slept well and experienced no more than a slight discomfort.

The Old Town Inn is in a unique area for a hotel, for that reason we do our best to familiarize future guests with information on our website, including a lovely map that shows our location relative to Old Town State Park. The owner likes to joke that “we are nowhere but only minutes to everywhere!” The great benefit of our location is that you can easily and quickly get to many famous San Diego attractions, we’re less than 3 miles to Sea World, about 3 miles to the airport and less than 10 minutes driving time to Balboa Park and the Zoo. Also, you can walk to the San Diego bus and trolley station, making it easy to get around town if you don’t have a car.

I am very sorry that you felt that walking to the park was unsafe. That being said, the vast majority of our guests feel comfortable coming and going from the hotel on foot or by car. But if any guest feels uncomfortable we would be the first to suggest they use their car or a taxi for transport.

As you correctly mentioned, the Old Town Inn had its origin in 1945 when the owner’s grandfather retired as a Brigadier General in the Marine Corps. He came to San Diego to remedy a problem he’d experienced in the military: a lack of quality, affordable lodging for servicemen and their families. At the time, Pacific Highway was the only road for weary travelers coming from Los Angeles and Orange County. Our hotel was the first in a line of hotels that stretched to the downtown area. Though there have been many changes and renovations, our hotel is still committed to its original philosophy: to provide quality, affordability, and great customer service to our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us, we take your comments seriously and they are very much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely - The Old Town Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#31 of 278 in San Diego
2,174 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing