We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Town Inn
Ranked #21 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

If you can get over the location (sort of industrial area), you will be very surprised. The hotel is clean and neat, and the bathroom is huge. We got a 2 queen bed room, and the bathroom area has 2 sinks (one in the toilet/shower area, one outside, in the dressing area). Very handy when traveling with a family and everyone's always needing to use the sink! Also, the dressing area is useful for getting dressed when others are still asleep (it's sort of around a corner, so the light doesn't glare into sleeping people's eyes. Nice breakfast too.

Very convenient to Old Town, the malls and Mission Bay.

Suggestion for the management - can you put in taller showerheads/curvy shower head extenders? Would make a big different to taller folks!

A/C unit was quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qaxalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and the other travelers on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your family during your stay at the Old Town Inn San Diego. The staff greatly appreciates you pointing out the layout of the room and all the amenities in it, and as well as a few points of interest and conveniences in the area. All the details that you covered will be helpful insights for future guests and are truly appreciated.

Thank you for your mentioning the showerheads, I am happy to say that this change is marked for our next phase of upgrades. We hope by the next time you visit us you will see the difference. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you and your family back to the Old Town Inn soon.

Mike M. | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    574
    129
    28
    20
See reviews for
581
576
79
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and eager to help. The individual who checked us in, I can't recall her name, was "in training" according to her badge. She was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. We arrived a little bit early and she immediately radioed housekeeping to see if our room was ready, pointed out coffee,tea and water in the lobby and movies we would be able to borrow at no cost. She also pointed out the fact that we could purchase discount tickets to the San Diego Zoo from the Inn and provided us with a map of the area. We never would have known she was "in training" except that it was on her badge - she is clearly beyond this. The room was very clean, the grounds well taken care of. The bathroom was nicely partitioned off from the rest of the room. The sink area was seperate form the toilet and shower area, which also had another sink in there as well. The pool, although small would be ample enough to cool off and for kids to have some fun. We didn't get to enjoy it because the weather was cool. The breakfast each morning was adequate. Nothing fancy but a good start to the day. The individual in charge of replenishing everything was a hard worker and really hustled - all with a smile on her face. The only drawbacks, the reasons for a four rating and not a five, were traffic noise, location and a strangely low shower head. The traffic noise was easily fixed by turning on the fan in our room - the white noise silenced the traffic. Not a big deal but if white noise doesn't work for you... The location was kind of strange but not bad. If you are planning on driving to see things not a big deal. We actually preferred this to staying in busy downtown. The shower head was placed extremely low. I am 5'4" and it was tough for me. Again, not really a deal breaker but if you are really tall.... Where else can you stay in the San Diego area for this price that includes breakfast, parking, DVD's and a friendly, helpful staff? We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahbbyluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I have stayed here on a few occasions and have been consistently impressed with the overall setting and friendly staff. This motel offers a clean and fresh atmosphere and great value it is easily accesses by both car and rail I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMRB210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I took a 2 year hiatus from SD and was extremely pleased that instead of going down hill, the Old Town Inn remained the same great place. The breakfast area has moved, but other than that, visitors will notice nothing different.
Old Town Inn has gorgeous flowers around the entire property. It is on Pacific Highway, but the traffic noise is minimal. The breakfast is awesome! They have waffles, eggs, cereal, fruit, bagels, coffee...very expansive.
The only negative was that the bungalows had thin walls. I think if your neighbor was a night owl and you weren't it could be bad, but other than that, this place is great!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poseur247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review here on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your taking the time to let us know what we have to please you. It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us this year as much as you have in the years previous. Our company culture is to provide quality, affordability and great customer service to our guests. We do hope to continue serving you in the future!

Regards,

Rebecka | Front Desk Agent | Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I was very impressed with the hotels attention to detail and organization. Halls and rooms were very clean. The breakfast room was big for families and business travelers, and very clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast itself was fun and there was a variety - waffles, fruit, bagels, cereal, oatmeal, etc. The hotel was completely full and still there was plenty of room in the breakfast room.
The one detail that I especially enjoyed in the room was the 5' long kitchenette. It was convient and spacious. The room charge was very reasonable for everything I received. I'm going back here when I need a place to stay again in San Diego.

Room Tip: I liked the ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind comments about the Old Town Inn. We greatly appreciate that you pointed out all the amenities, the cleanliness of our rooms, and all the items we offer in our deluxe continental breakfast, which we are delighted that you enjoyed! Thank you again for the positive feedback of the Old Town Inn. Your comments are truly appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mike M ~ Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

First of all I have loved san Diego since I was a kid, I live in las Vegas and now my fiancee and I go there often(especially with him being in navy) anyway in Dec. 2011 we went to san Diego for a football game and ended up going to old town 3
Days later, they have a little something for everyone, museums, great Resturants(with great service, shopping, and one of the most historical haunted houses(whaley house). We walked around for hours and we are thinking about going back this year.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbarbie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Manager at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear cbarbie76 - Thank you for writing the wonderful review of our property. It is always wonderful and helpful to see what pleases our guests so we may continue providing the service our guests expect. During football season we do tend to get busy but what’s great about staying with us around this time is that we are walking distance to public transportation; the Trolley-Green line will take you directly to Qualcomm-Stadium. We are centrally located, just a short walking distance to Old Town Historic Park. Hopefully during your next visit you will take advantage of our free and thoughtfully selected movie library found in our lobby. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward making your next stay a memorable one.

Sincerely,

Anna Flores
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

A great small hotel,very friendly and excellent value. All staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Good location as we did not have a car,near to trolly bus and Old Town and reception staff were happy to give us directions or order us a taxi. Good selection for breakfast and enjoyed having coffee and tea on tap in the reception area. Our room was very large and clean with comfortable beds. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank efqm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Were you my late night tea-goers that were here a few weeks back that came in for tea every night around 11pm? A lot of our guests that are traveling internationally find our proximity to the Old Town Transit Station to be very convenient. I think that for some of the more popular attractions like Sea World and the Gaslamp District, it is actually more convenient to take public transit than it is to drive. For people traveling here from other countries that are used to driving on the opposite side of the road, and unfamiliar with San Diego, I can imagine it might actually be a relief not to have to try and navigate our roads and highways. As you mentioned, we’re happy to call a taxi for any of our guests, or assist you in finding the best route via public transit to whatever your destination happens to be. Thank you again for your kind review!

Cecily ~ Front Desk Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Sommerset Suites Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Property: Old Town Inn
Address: 4444 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92110-3107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#22 Family Hotel in San Diego
#47 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing