We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Ranked #133 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 15 November 2017

The hotel is in need of a huge overhaul and thankfully I only stayed one night! In my opinion find another hotel. The hotel is dated. The carpet looks like cheap outdoor carpet that they decided to put in the guest rooms.
Do not stay in even numbered rooms 1710, 1608, etc... When you walk into your room, it sounds like you are on the freeway. I walked into my room on the 20th floor, heard the sounds of the freeway. Walked towards the window to close it and realized the window was closed. I immediately called the front desk and asked to be moved. They stated that the hotel was sold out and I insisted that I be moved to the other side of the hotel. Reluctantly they did change my room and I was able to sleep. In the morning, I took a shower and the water did not drain. Disgusting!!!
Two nice attributes of the hotel, coffee is available in the lobby in the morning and the shuttle ride to the airport.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms with odd numbers 1705, 1015, 913
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2017

We've stayed here a few times in the past and it is still one the best hotels in San Diego. The beds are soooo comfortable and there is an excellent view it virtually any room. The staff is extremely friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. We will definetly be back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank eric172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

I️ absolutely hate this hotel. The front desk staff are ridiculously rude. They consistently lie about the hotel shuttle. When we called to find it where I️t was after being LIED to, the front desk person (name to come) hung up on me. My company books this hotel, otherwise I️ would never ever ever come here. Their treatment makes me dislike the entire city. Stay somewhere nicer.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Denvertraveler1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Very nice place on outer edge of downtown. Six blocks to trolly close to Little Italy. Good rooms great breakfast and good location in a great city for a nice vacation with family and friends. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank G8336CHrobertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We loved being a couple of blocks from Little Italy and the bay. We were able to walk to all the attractions during our stay. The people at the front desk, restaurant, and bar were all friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to staying at this Double Tree again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Richard John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

The room was clean and well appointed. The check in was super fast and friendly and they recognized us a Hilton honors member and thanked us. The meeting rooms were well lit, the temperature control was easy and actually worked. I hope to be back in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank patricia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Went for Class Reunion. We had a great time of course. The location was excellent to other things to do. I personally had a problem with room service. It took an hour and 15 min to receive food and it was cold and uneatable. My remote to TV didn’t work but maintenance brought me another. It didn’t work either. I gave up and went to bed.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel in Little Italy
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#56 of 286 in San Diego
743 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Address: 1646 Front St, San Diego, CA 92101-2920 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $150 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing