We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time is a Charm!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Ranked #133 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 1 December 2017

This is the 3rd time we have been to San Diego and all three times my wife and I have stayed at this hotel. We are Hilton Honors members and I guess that gets you a little extra help when booking a Hilton hotel. We have been able to get the same room each time! That is very important because it is on the higher Hilton Honors floors and faces downtown so there is no freeway or flight noise! The bedding is plush and extremely comfortable. The blackout curtains will help you sleep as long as you want. I almost forgot the delicious chocolate chip cookies! If what they give you is not enough...just ask for a few more! The balcony overlooks the Street Market Fair on Saturday which is something everyone should enjoy! You can taste free samples of all kinds of foods and also buy just about anything from the freshest Uni (sea urchin) to farmer grown foods and loads of handmade specialty items provided by the locals of San Diego. Plus It's Free!! The hotel offers a very good buffet breakfast each morning and the staff is eager to serve you and make sure you have a happy face after eating fresh fruits and bagels with made to order omelettes and waffles and all of the fixings like bacon, sausage and hash browns as well as hot coffee, juices and milk and even cereal for the kiddos. Plus you can always order off the menu. The entire staff is eager to please. Make sure you leave a little $ on the end table for the room cleaning because they do an excellent job! Kudos! It's Great to walk into your room after a long day and/or night to find an extra clean room that smells fresh and makes you just want to relax. Since the remodel the Double Tree is one really good places to stay and you can't beat the price for what the hotel offers! The location is great, the staff is very accommodating and the rooms are very nice. If it's attractions that you want then this city is a great place! Yes they have all the stuff you read about in the brochures like the Zoo and Little Italy. We had a great time at Balboa Park that has lots to offer but do some homework so you can find where the locals go! The food, the food, oh and the food! Here we go.....Bencotto Italian Kitchen is one of the finest Italian restaurants I have ever enjoyed. The lamb shank with its deep dark brown sauce is so delicious I wanted to order another course of it! But no, I had to save room for the hands down absolutely best Tiramisu I have ever eaten as well as the top cannolis on the planet! The fried stuffed olives with marinara sauce were yummy to the tummy a well!

Room Tip: Best rooms and views are on the City side. The higher floors have the best views and are quitter an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wnwmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2017

We stayed in a suite at this hotel, and although it was very spacious and comfortable, it had some inconvenient features. For example, the bathroom had the smallest sink I've ever seen in a hotel. When brushing my teeth, I had to be careful not to miss the sink. Although the vanity counter was about 6 feet wide, it had a sink the size of a small bar sink. The tub was enormous, but there was no separate shower. Instead there was a rain shower head directly over the center of the huge tub. You had to climb in over the tub deck to get under the shower, and there was no way to take a shower without getting your hair wet, because it came straight down on your head. There was also a small kitchenette area in the living room, with a small fridge, but there was no sink in that area. It was very inconvenient to walk all the way to the back of the bedroom to access the tiny sink in the bathroom.
The staff at this hotel, however, were absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JAB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Plenty to do and see only a quick skip from the local airport, it's an mostly balcony room hotel, make sure you get an view for the side not facing the local highway/ airport and you won't feel like your on an extended layover! Bartenders and the F&B guest service employees were really racing around at hectic times with that smile on everyone's face, they were also able to have an ongoing high energy conversation, much appreciated! Do the research to know the spots to hit, they won't be running up to you most of the best things to do are must hit attractions on the low key, I recommend the city centre sports memorabilia shop big time, may look like a bomb went off but through the rubble you will find whatever gift or treasure on many different levels from hobbyist to sports memorabilia extremist! Book your days early and get whatever you need to do done typically earlier than average! Good variety of food within blocks in the middle of little Italy, asti is one hot spot I'd recommend only a few blocks in! Do your research come prepared with an itinerary! The homeless population is a little out of control but to know they are also homeless in a city that remains nice year round they deserve some credit on that front and they won't hit you with too many down on there luck sob stories! Just keep it moving and all is well! Not really a "beach" town so expect to travel 10-15 minutes for the ideal beach experience!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Waited at the airport from 10:30 pm until midnight with 4 calls to the hotel every time telling he was right around the corner. They never picked us up. We had to Uber with an additional cost. The manager and the driver on the day shift were excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank anthonymJ2706XQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Your parking structure is a joke. I did an estimated $5,000 worth of damage to our standard F150 because the walls are so narrow. I’ve never been this upset over a Hilton property before. When exiting the structure, I straightened my truck the best I could to get through the narrow passageway but still managed to damage the left front panel and the right rear panel, leading me to believe that, regardless of how straight I would have went through the passageway, there was no way to avoid damaging my vehicle. I’m pissed!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

We were going a cruise and booked hotel closet the cruise terminal. What a mistake!! This hotel woulda been a bad $100 a night hotel but for $450 it was diguisting!!
The room was old the carpet was so nasty I wore my shoes everywhere but in the bed! Even the picture one the wall in the bathroom had mold and mildew growing on it inside the frame!
Then we walked to the drugstore and I couldn't stand walking thru the neighborhood. Every where we went stunk of urine and there were people sleeping on the sidewalk covered with urine and crap!!
Usually Doubletree hotels are ok but there is no reason to ever stay at a hotel downtown in a major city that is in as bad condition as this one!!

Room Tip: best room is in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Captmark20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Over priced and no amenitities at this hotel. On top they over price on parking, drinks or dinner at this hotel. I heard several other occupants complain about the over priced drinks, meals and the location to local restuarants in the area of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Z826CGjohnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel in Little Italy
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#56 of 286 in San Diego
743 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Address: 1646 Front St, San Diego, CA 92101-2920 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: $150 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing