We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Marriott
C$533
Fully refundable before Thu, May 30
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
Booking.com
C$545
Fully refundable before Thu, May 30
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Al C
Kihei, Hawaii

Great Stay at The SD Pulse

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 8, 2023
We had a family reunion and had several rooms. The staff were terrific. Shane, at the Front Desk, was very helpful and friendly. Jose Arturo bailed us out with an administrative issue. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Good location with access to all. the highlights of downtown. Rooms were spacious and housekeeping was consistently attentive (make sure you leave a tip!!). Crystal at the MVCI desk was VERY helpful explaining corporate updates. We actually enjoyed our sit down!! Thanks for the great experience.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: No need to rent a car. Use Lyft or Uber. Much easier to get around and profoundly cheaper.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego, responded to this review
Responded Oct 11, 2023
Thank you for your wonderful review. It's fantastic to hear that our associates provided great service during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
C$524
C$336
  • Tripadvisor
    C$336
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    C$336
10.2 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$177
  • Expedia.com
    C$159
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$136
  • Hotels.com
    C$159
9.4 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$351
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$351
  • Tripadvisor
    C$351
  • Priceline
8.4 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Beachfront
The Grand Lobby at The Legacy
Booking.com
C$313
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$313
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$262
  • Expedia.com
    C$313
4.5 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$354
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Prestigia.com
    C$302
  • Hotels.com
    C$354
9.9 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$627
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    C$629
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$592
  • Hotels.com
    C$627
1.4 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
Booking.com
C$258
Fully refundable
  • Official Hotel
    C$245
  • Agoda.com
    C$194
  • Expedia.com
    C$245
4.9 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
Booking.com
C$111
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$95
  • Hotels.com
    C$139
12.9 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$697
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$696
  • travelup.com
    C$663
  • Expedia.com
    C$698
1.6 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$327
  • travelup.com
18.1 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
287
136
50
20
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
287
136
50
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balboa park gaslamp district timeshare presentation time share bar lounge small kitchenette living area self park the gas lamp district homeless people nearby restaurants location is excellent hotel restaurant mini fridge fitness center dishwasher valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 514 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2023

This hotel is probably one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at that's also family friendly. We stayed in a suite, and although it wasn't huge, everything was thoughtfully designed to maximize space. If we're ever in the San Diego area again, we will definitely be staying here

Pros:
- Clean and new. Our room was in pristine condition, even the hotel carpet felt clean. We don’t wear shoes in our home but at hotels, I always bring a pair of slippers. I didn’t even need slippers this time since the floors and carpet felt so clean.
- High quality room. Lots of brand names items in the room, including a scrub mommy sponge (IYKYK) with the kitchen supplies. They even included an eye mask and ear plugs in the bedroom. The pull out couch was also the nicest couch I’ve seen in a hotel. It looked brand new and the mattress was thick and similar to memory foam.
- Breakfast at SHAKE is delicious. Yes, it’s a bit expensive but the food is great and even better the service is wonderful. The food also comes out quickly
- The location is central to so many restaurants and activities

Cons:
- Parking through the hotel is $39/day but parking through the garage is $33/day. If you enter during certain hours on the weekend, it’s even less. I believe $10 flat.
- They state the pool is heated but it’s absolutely freezing. The hot tub right next to it makes up for it though. The pool is also small, but for my 4 year old, it was perfectly fine. Just don’t expect a ginormous pool.
- If you’re sensitive to noise, bring a white noise machine and utilize the ear plugs for outside noise. It’s not inside the hotel that’s noisy, it’s the outside sirens. We were also on the 14th floor so maybe ask for a room higher up

Neither pro or con:
- The parking garage is just….strange. You just have to experience it. The turns are extremely tight and you get a bit dizzy going up and down the garage because of how it’s set up.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LindaHashemi618
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation ClubR, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2023

Hi, we are thrilled to read your excellent review and glad you had a great time with us and enjoyed the accommodations and amenities. Thank you for patronage and we hope to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2023

We are longtime Vacation Club owners. For this trip we decided to stay at the Pulse concept and took Amtrak from our home in Los Angeles. Marriott has a zillion properties in San Diego. The Pulse concept is a nice change of pace as it is geared towards those who like an urban (downtown) environment. Up to this visit we were disappointed at the Pulse properties in District of Columbia and San Francisco. The vacation club offers a simple premise; home away from home and while DC and San Francisco are nice properties, they lack in amenities needed to accomplish the home away from home accommodations.

We found the San Diego Pulse exceptional. It is located as part of the San Diego Symphony venue and occupies floors 12 - 27. I was told the property opened in 2017. Staff was very professional and accommodating. Check-in was a breeze and the 12th floor offers many of the amenities vacation club properties offer - restaurant, maketplace, business center, fitness, pool, etc. Their happy hours or owner events are well managed and offers different treats during the week (cookies, donuts, wine & cheese, etc.)

We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it was perfect. Kitchen equipment so you can dine in your room, etc.

There are plenty of restaurants and shops within a couple of blocks. The public trolley is just blocks away and this added to us being able to zip in and out while journeying through the city.

For us, it was a great experience and we will be returning.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fredyt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation ClubR, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2023

Hi, we are thrilled to read your fantastic review and glad you had a great time with us. Thank you for loyalty as owners and we hope to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2023

We have stayed at this hotel 3 different times now. Overall, we have liked it, which is why we continued to return. However, we were extremely disappointed by the staff during our last stay. We left our room in the morning to go out for the day, and upon returning, our daughter's stuffed animal (which she is very attached to), was missing. Housekeeping had been there while we were gone. We immediately went to the front desk, and were told they would check with housekeeping. Nothing. We were the ones that had to suggest they check with the laundry service, in case it got gathered up with bedding. Still nothing. They have been very unapologetic, and have treated this like WE lost an item, when in reality their staff TOOK an item from our room when we were not there. We have called the hotel back since checking out, as well as reached out to Marriott, and nothing has been found.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation ClubR, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2023

Thank you for sharing your review and we apologize your daughter's stuffed animal could not be located.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2023

The room was really big and had just the right amount of amenities. Everyone on staff was really great. The location was very central to many of the things i had planned to do. Would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jewelwhite71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation ClubR, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2023

Hi, we are thrilled to read your excellent review and glad you had a great time with us, and the location met your needs. Thank you for patronage and we hope to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2023

I was there last year and everything was great. The staff for the hotel were great and if you needed anything something came right away. However, I was there for time share presentation, my husband got sick at the hotel and I went downstairs early to do the presentation and they said we had to do it together. They told me they would call me back They called back and left me on hold for 8 minutes to tell me I couldn't reschedule it for the next day. Either my husband who was sick would need to join from our room and we would do the presentation from our room or we would have to pay close to 450.00. I said no if you called in sick would you still log in for work. They could care less. They said well can he do it later in the day. I said no again he's sick. They choose to ignore me.
Said they would be bringing a iPad up to the room to do the presentation. It was really pushy and not acceptable the way they treated us. I told them we would just leave the hotel since they were wanting to charge us 450.00 The manager Ramon had the nerve to say ok you will pay less. I also told him my daughter had stepped on glass in the room. Again could care less. I brought this up because why not try to work with me since I didn't make a big deal but now you are treating me with no respect when my husband was so sick in bed.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 50kristil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation ClubR, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2023

Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize the sales team could not reschedule your sales presentation. Please contact the Customer Advocacy office at 800-860-9384 so that your concern can be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews