We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Marriott
C$533
Fully refundable before Thu, May 30
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
Booking.com
C$545
Fully refundable before Thu, May 30
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Regine N
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania

convenient location and near perfect accommodations

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 27, 2023via mobile
Absolutely fantastic stay. We were sad we couldn’t attend the events they provided on a daily basis!!! The staff was fantastic except for a grumpy bar tender who told my daughter and I to get off the piano in a hostile manner. A simple shake of the head with a sad face or her just coming over to us would have sufficed. I wouldn’t even behave that way with a pet.

Despite the rude behavior we all enjoyed our stay! The housekeeping staff was fantastic greeting us every morning in a kind manner, the hotel staff posted at the entrance always bid us good day, the pool/hottub was always in good condition and clean.

Our hotel is surrounded by construction and it’s basically in a city setting so they provide ear plugs and sleep masks. I thought this was very clever and attentive. Despite being in the middle of things and lots of homeless people in pretty bad shape we would stay here again.. it was close to a friends house and we love the food around here!!! Very close proximity to beautiful beaches and more asthetically pleasing sights…
Date of stay: November 2023
Room Tip: Thanksgiving week was fantastic- it appeared to be off season!!!!
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego, responded to this review
Responded Nov 28, 2023
Hi, we are thrilled to read your fantastic review and glad you had a great time with us, and the location met your needs. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
C$177
  • Expedia.com
    C$159
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$136
  • Hotels.com
    C$159
9.4 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$351
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$351
  • Algotels
    C$300
  • Expedia.com
    C$351
8.4 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Beachfront
The Grand Lobby at The Legacy
Booking.com
C$313
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$313
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$264
  • Hotels.com
    C$313
4.5 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$354
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$354
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$290
  • Hotels.com
    C$354
9.9 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$627
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    C$629
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$592
  • Expedia.com
    C$629
1.4 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
Booking.com
C$258
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$245
  • Agoda.com
    C$193
  • Expedia.com
    C$245
4.9 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$303
  • Priceline
    C$327
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$260
  • Vio.com
    C$261
18.1 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$697
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$696
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$682
  • Expedia.com
    C$698
1.6 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$336
  • travelup.com
    C$368
  • Priceline
    C$336
10.2 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$111
  • Agoda.com
    C$94
  • Priceline
    C$149
12.9 km from Marriott Vacation Club®, San Diego
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
287
136
50
20
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
287
136
50
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balboa park gaslamp district timeshare presentation time share bar lounge small kitchenette living area self park the gas lamp district homeless people nearby restaurants location is excellent hotel restaurant mini fridge fitness center dishwasher valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 514 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2023 via mobile

Just had a great week at Pulse in San Diego. We did not rent a car. We transferred from/to airport by taxi ($15-$20 each way but will vary by time of day - Uber didn’t seem to be any less and having hotel reserve our return to airport didn’t cost double the way scheduling Uber would have.) We walked everywhere (best way to experience a city). This includes Gaslamp, Embarcadero, Seaport Village, Little Italy, Balboa Park, San Diego Zoo, and Coronado (via ferry from Broadway Pier and back to Convention Center). We averaged 15,000 steps (about 7.5 miles) daily with the zoo being highest at about 18,000 steps. Nothing was more than a 35 minute leisurely stroll to get to. There were gentle inclines (Cortez Hill was easily avoided). We took the stairs over the convention center, but you can go around. We didn’t experience any of the ravines between neighborhoods that others had warned us about. Only thing we did not do is go to Old Town. That would have required transportation and we chose going back to Balboa after the day spent at the zoo instead.

A shout out to concierge Tommy who recommended Greystone for happy hour. Also, tho we declined, they would have set up a virtual sales pitch (I mean owner update) upon return home. That was a nice option.

If you go, be sure to check out both Donut Bar and Swami’s just a block from the Pulse entrance thru Symphony Tower (B Street). Also Lil Piggy BBQ on Coranado at the ferry landing can’t be beat for happy hour!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank my627
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation ClubR, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2023

Hi, we are thrilled to read your fantastic review and glad you had a great time experiencing the city. Thank you for your loyalty as owners and we hope to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2023

Upon arrival the valet was great as helping us out and directing us to the elevators to go to the main lobby to check in. In fact, the valets were the best employees we encountered while staying here! They were always helpful, very polite, and engaging.

Upon check-in, the lady checking us in smiled, but that was about as friendly as she got. Se mentioned that we used a third party to book our stay, to which I advised her I’ve given up on Bonvoy and have been using American Airlines to book hotels (and have been staying in Hiltons and other properties), as the benefits are MUCH greater to my American Airlines loyalty program than the little benefits I get from Bonvoy. So, I asked her what benefits I get as a Titanium member, which is what I am and she said none, since I didn’t book directly through Marriott. So, I asked if they had a concierge lounge and offered breakfast and she said no to both, so even if I had booked through Marriott, I wouldn’t have benefited from being a Titanium member.

The room as decent… definitely beautifully decorated and comfortable! The shower took forever to get warm water and it never got hot, only warm. The worse part was the HVAC system, which was EXTREMELY LOUD. The TVs worked great and they had lots of great channels to choose from.

The location isn’t too bad, it’s walkable to get to many downtown restaurants and attractions.

Overall, it was just an “ok” visit.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank je1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation ClubR, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2023

We appreciate your review and thank you for staying the Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego. We hope you enjoyed your visit to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2023

We had a family reunion and had several rooms. The staff were terrific. Shane, at the Front Desk, was very helpful and friendly. Jose Arturo bailed us out with an administrative issue. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Good location with access to all. the highlights of downtown. Rooms were spacious and housekeeping was consistently attentive (make sure you leave a tip!!). Crystal at the MVCI desk was VERY helpful explaining corporate updates. We actually enjoyed our sit down!! Thanks for the great experience.

Room tip: No need to rent a car. Use Lyft or Uber. Much easier to get around and profoundly cheaper.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AlC161
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation ClubR, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2023

Thank you for your wonderful review. It's fantastic to hear that our associates provided great service during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2023

This hotel is probably one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at that's also family friendly. We stayed in a suite, and although it wasn't huge, everything was thoughtfully designed to maximize space. If we're ever in the San Diego area again, we will definitely be staying here

Pros:
- Clean and new. Our room was in pristine condition, even the hotel carpet felt clean. We don’t wear shoes in our home but at hotels, I always bring a pair of slippers. I didn’t even need slippers this time since the floors and carpet felt so clean.
- High quality room. Lots of brand names items in the room, including a scrub mommy sponge (IYKYK) with the kitchen supplies. They even included an eye mask and ear plugs in the bedroom. The pull out couch was also the nicest couch I’ve seen in a hotel. It looked brand new and the mattress was thick and similar to memory foam.
- Breakfast at SHAKE is delicious. Yes, it’s a bit expensive but the food is great and even better the service is wonderful. The food also comes out quickly
- The location is central to so many restaurants and activities

Cons:
- Parking through the hotel is $39/day but parking through the garage is $33/day. If you enter during certain hours on the weekend, it’s even less. I believe $10 flat.
- They state the pool is heated but it’s absolutely freezing. The hot tub right next to it makes up for it though. The pool is also small, but for my 4 year old, it was perfectly fine. Just don’t expect a ginormous pool.
- If you’re sensitive to noise, bring a white noise machine and utilize the ear plugs for outside noise. It’s not inside the hotel that’s noisy, it’s the outside sirens. We were also on the 14th floor so maybe ask for a room higher up

Neither pro or con:
- The parking garage is just….strange. You just have to experience it. The turns are extremely tight and you get a bit dizzy going up and down the garage because of how it’s set up.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LindaHashemi618
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation ClubR, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2023

Hi, we are thrilled to read your excellent review and glad you had a great time with us and enjoyed the accommodations and amenities. Thank you for patronage and we hope to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2023

We are longtime Vacation Club owners. For this trip we decided to stay at the Pulse concept and took Amtrak from our home in Los Angeles. Marriott has a zillion properties in San Diego. The Pulse concept is a nice change of pace as it is geared towards those who like an urban (downtown) environment. Up to this visit we were disappointed at the Pulse properties in District of Columbia and San Francisco. The vacation club offers a simple premise; home away from home and while DC and San Francisco are nice properties, they lack in amenities needed to accomplish the home away from home accommodations.

We found the San Diego Pulse exceptional. It is located as part of the San Diego Symphony venue and occupies floors 12 - 27. I was told the property opened in 2017. Staff was very professional and accommodating. Check-in was a breeze and the 12th floor offers many of the amenities vacation club properties offer - restaurant, maketplace, business center, fitness, pool, etc. Their happy hours or owner events are well managed and offers different treats during the week (cookies, donuts, wine & cheese, etc.)

We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it was perfect. Kitchen equipment so you can dine in your room, etc.

There are plenty of restaurants and shops within a couple of blocks. The public trolley is just blocks away and this added to us being able to zip in and out while journeying through the city.

For us, it was a great experience and we will be returning.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fredyt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation ClubR, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2023

Hi, we are thrilled to read your fantastic review and glad you had a great time with us. Thank you for loyalty as owners and we hope to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews