We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Marriott
C$344
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
Vio.com
Priceline
C$344
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 25
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
287
136
50
20
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
287
136
50
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balboa park gaslamp district timeshare presentation time share bar lounge small kitchenette living area self park the gas lamp district homeless people nearby restaurants location is excellent hotel restaurant mini fridge fitness center dishwasher valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 514 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2024

We stayed here for three nights recently. With valet parking, daily rate was around $260/night - for that price would expect all the Marriott amenities, concierage lounge with breakfast/evening snacks, etc. There's none of that, but the place does have a bar with extremely loud music which appeared to be sparsely populated with guests most of time (hard to tell for sure as it was pretty dark in there). Have no idea if there is a restaurant (didn't see one and no staffer mentioned it to us when we checked in).

The layout of the hotel itself is rather odd - the lobby is on the 12th floor with several floors below it being a parking garage and who knows what else. The hotel rooms start on 12 and go up to around 20. Oddly, there are only three elevators (actually two sets of three - to get to your room, you have to go up to 12, walk across the lobby to a second bank of elevators and continue your journey to your floor, so you get to wait twice for an elevator. In our opinion, they could use some additional elevators as we spent quite a while waiting for one to come every time we wanted to go somewhere and then it would make several stops picking up and/or dropping off passengers.

The rooms are kind of like a Residence Inn with a small kitchen - more like a kitchenette as it has a mini-fridge, etc. instead of full-size appliances in the "sitting" room and then a separate bedroom. The bathroom as two doors one to the bedroom and another into the kitchenette area. The furnishings were okay, but starting to look worn with frays on the fabric coverings in places and assorted dents and dings. About the best thing we saw was the mini-fridge which had a separate freezer compartment so you could store ice cream (since there was no lounge, we went to an Albertson's which is about 5 min away by car and stocked up yogurt, fruit, and yes some ice cream).

As is our normal post-covid practice, we didn't ask for any housekeeping while we were there so can't comment on whether it was good or bad - frankly we rarely saw anyone from housekeeping on floor so either occupancy was really low, they don't provide service very often, or more people are now like us and just pass on the service.

We didn't interact with the front desk very often - check-in went well enough but being in the middle of the week it wasn't very crowded. On our last day, we did ask for a modest late check-out, 1 pm, but were told they don't offer late checkout. Now, as a lifetime titanium member, we are used to being able to request late checkouts as late as 4 pm without any debate, but apparently this "brand" doesn't participate in this - indeed, no one on the staff even asked or thanked us for being such a loyal Marriott customer (the company policy is for them to least acknowledge Bonvoy or whatever they now call their loyalty program and offer high level members with welcome snack and bottle of water - not here).

The valet service, at $50/night, was less than spectacular. Every time we asked for our vehicle it took quite a while for someone to go get it. On checkout, we weren't even finished with putting our bag in the trunk before two cars pulled up and double parked besides our car and started unloading baggage and passengers, thus blocking us from leaving for several minutes. A savvy valet would have told these people that double parking, especially blocking other guests who are trying to leave.

On other odd experience with employees here happened on our last morning here while we were rushed for time trying to pack up to get out of the room. The hotel concierage desk, who we'd never heard from at any other time, called us to offer us a "gift" of some sort and a deal for a low rate future stay. We understand this particular Marriott "brand" is in the business of selling timeshares. Not sure we'll ever want to come back to this property (the last time we were even in San Diego was like eight years ago), let alone buy into a timeshare in a sub-par facility that doesn't offer us anything special and does so at a premium price.

After we left, it also took several days to get a bill sent to us, actually arrived days after the charges posted on our credit card and even the points were posted in our Marriott Bonvoy account. Would think it would be the other way around...typically we get the bill in our email on the day or day after we check out.

Overall, we didn't see where the value was here, certainly not for regular Marriott customers who are used to much better amenities and service in recognition of their brand loyalty.

Room tip: check out what amenities they offer and compare to other properties and brankds
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank interceptpubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. We regret to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your detailed insights, which will be shared with our team for further review and improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2024

i was expecting big and was dissapointed big, beds were okish, staff friendly but they send you to the concierge who wants to give you a gift if you attend a time share meeting... 200$ for 90 minutes, why not, oh...my...god... the worst 90 minutes of my life, Virgil the sales guy was horrendous, judgemental and really really bad at selling, he told us that since we weren't intersted in becoming members, that we just didn't want to make memories with our kids, that we were wasting opportunities to build memories... what a lame person.

the food at the lounge was great, the staff was exceptional, loved our bartender who mastered the art of the Margaritas :D loved her quite a bit.

the hotel itself was ok, clean, comfy enough,

Room tip: pool awesome, laundry room meh, wouldn't dry location weird food recommendation from concierge to avoid
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2024

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we appreciate your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the hotel facilities, especially the lounge and the friendly staff. We apologize for any inconvenience caused during the time share presentation. Your insights are valuable to us, and we'll use them to improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2023 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic stay. We were sad we couldn’t attend the events they provided on a daily basis!!! The staff was fantastic except for a grumpy bar tender who told my daughter and I to get off the piano in a hostile manner. A simple shake of the head with a sad face or her just coming over to us would have sufficed. I wouldn’t even behave that way with a pet.

Despite the rude behavior we all enjoyed our stay! The housekeeping staff was fantastic greeting us every morning in a kind manner, the hotel staff posted at the entrance always bid us good day, the pool/hottub was always in good condition and clean.

Our hotel is surrounded by construction and it’s basically in a city setting so they provide ear plugs and sleep masks. I thought this was very clever and attentive. Despite being in the middle of things and lots of homeless people in pretty bad shape we would stay here again.. it was close to a friends house and we love the food around here!!! Very close proximity to beautiful beaches and more asthetically pleasing sights…

Room tip: Thanksgiving week was fantastic- it appeared to be off season!!!!
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 80reginen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2023

Hi, we are thrilled to read your fantastic review and glad you had a great time with us, and the location met your needs. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2023 via mobile

Just had a great week at Pulse in San Diego. We did not rent a car. We transferred from/to airport by taxi ($15-$20 each way but will vary by time of day - Uber didn’t seem to be any less and having hotel reserve our return to airport didn’t cost double the way scheduling Uber would have.) We walked everywhere (best way to experience a city). This includes Gaslamp, Embarcadero, Seaport Village, Little Italy, Balboa Park, San Diego Zoo, and Coronado (via ferry from Broadway Pier and back to Convention Center). We averaged 15,000 steps (about 7.5 miles) daily with the zoo being highest at about 18,000 steps. Nothing was more than a 35 minute leisurely stroll to get to. There were gentle inclines (Cortez Hill was easily avoided). We took the stairs over the convention center, but you can go around. We didn’t experience any of the ravines between neighborhoods that others had warned us about. Only thing we did not do is go to Old Town. That would have required transportation and we chose going back to Balboa after the day spent at the zoo instead.

A shout out to concierge Tommy who recommended Greystone for happy hour. Also, tho we declined, they would have set up a virtual sales pitch (I mean owner update) upon return home. That was a nice option.

If you go, be sure to check out both Donut Bar and Swami’s just a block from the Pulse entrance thru Symphony Tower (B Street). Also Lil Piggy BBQ on Coranado at the ferry landing can’t be beat for happy hour!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank my627
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2023

Hi, we are thrilled to read your fantastic review and glad you had a great time experiencing the city. Thank you for your loyalty as owners and we hope to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2023

Upon arrival the valet was great as helping us out and directing us to the elevators to go to the main lobby to check in. In fact, the valets were the best employees we encountered while staying here! They were always helpful, very polite, and engaging.

Upon check-in, the lady checking us in smiled, but that was about as friendly as she got. Se mentioned that we used a third party to book our stay, to which I advised her I’ve given up on Bonvoy and have been using American Airlines to book hotels (and have been staying in Hiltons and other properties), as the benefits are MUCH greater to my American Airlines loyalty program than the little benefits I get from Bonvoy. So, I asked her what benefits I get as a Titanium member, which is what I am and she said none, since I didn’t book directly through Marriott. So, I asked if they had a concierge lounge and offered breakfast and she said no to both, so even if I had booked through Marriott, I wouldn’t have benefited from being a Titanium member.

The room as decent… definitely beautifully decorated and comfortable! The shower took forever to get warm water and it never got hot, only warm. The worse part was the HVAC system, which was EXTREMELY LOUD. The TVs worked great and they had lots of great channels to choose from.

The location isn’t too bad, it’s walkable to get to many downtown restaurants and attractions.

Overall, it was just an “ok” visit.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank je1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2023

We appreciate your review and thank you for staying the Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego. We hope you enjoyed your visit to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews