We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great view, lots of little annoyances” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #118 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great view, lots of little annoyances”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Based on previous reviews, I booked a room in the Bay Tower. The view was awesome...but there were other minor things that detracted from my stay. (1) The water for my shower was only lukewarm 2 out of 3 mornings.

(2) The walls are paper thin. I could hear people talking next door & in the hall, also heard every time people in the room above flushed the toilet (they are VERY loud), walked, & took a shower, etc.

(3) The website doesn't state that it's about 1/4 to 1/3 mile walk from the Bay Tower to the Marina Tower where the main hotel and larger conference venue are located. I love to walk...but not in business shoes.

(4) Food prices at the hotel restaurants are about the most outrageous I've ever seen, even for a higher-end hotel in a major city. $9 for a bowl of oatmeal?! $15 for a hamburger?! Thankfully the deli/diner half-way between the 2 buildings had great, inexpensive food for breakfast & lunch.

If you are going for a conference, I'd recommend staying at the Marina for convenience sake, unless the view is all that matters.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank runwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,097
    1,270
    689
    367
    219
See reviews for
785
859
183
1,279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cockney in Wrexham, North Wales
Level Contributor
180 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We got to the Hotel to be told we were staying in the Bay Tower. Didn't realise the hotel was split into two towers 5 minutes walk away from each other. Check in was painless and the room was clean. It looked over the marina and airport. Wasn't too noisy. We took a look at the Marina tower and the Bay tower is definitely the very poor relation. The Marina Tower had everything from a bar to 2 restaurants, a Starbucks, to a patio where you could enjoy a coffee looking at the marina. The Bay Tower had no bar open during the day where you could sit and enjoy coffee and enjoy the view. We were gutted especially as we were staying for 5 days. You will need a car to get anywhere from here. There are no shuttles into town. You can only book excursions from the Marina Tower conceirge.
We didn't pay for the Internet but took advantage of the free wifi in reception, which was good enough for a Skype call.
$22 for parking each day was a bit expensive but not as much as other hotels in the area.
In summary. Stay in the Marina Tower. If you stay at the Bay Tower do not visit the Marina Tower. You will just get upset.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GavinBridger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sewell
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel was wonderful. A beautiful water view. It is close to Symphony Hall and the location of the San Diego Opera. It is about 2 miles from center city where there are lots of things to see. You must go to the San Diego Zoo if you have children. Our children live in San Diego and this hotel is a good place to stay and get around the city with a car.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timpanimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We got a great deal on this hotel for last-minute travel to San Diego. We were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful harbor views and the crisp, clean, nautical themed rooms. Although our room faced the parking lot, the balcony was nice in the mornings to get some sunshine and fresh air. One night we returned from dinner to our room smelling of cigarette smoke. When my husband opened the sliding door to see if it was someone outside, the smell came rushing in. Since it's a non-smoking property, I called the front desk and they immediately sent up security. The gentleman was there in 2 minutes and agreed that the room was not suitable. Within 5 minutes of my initial call they promptly moved us to another room on the opposite side of the building. Excellent customer service from a rather irritating situation!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatRinPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The rooms were nice, the views even better. We had a room that had a view of the marina and the San Diego bay cityline. The nighttime view of the city lights was great.

Rooms were well appointed, comfortable bed, clean updated room and bathrooms, even have Peter Thomas Roth bath amenities (as a woman, I appreciated this very much! ^_^) It was a short trip to get downtown, SD Zoo and Seaworld and not too bad to Coronado as well, where we had dinner plans one evening. There is also a hotel restaurant for convenience. Across the hotel is a walking path by the water which was also nice. The area has restaurants and bars within walking distance and is also by the airport (which is good for plane watching or aviation photography -my fiance enjoyed it)

Overall it was a great place to stay. Nice, clean convenient and parking was not far nor crowded and it was fairly cheaper than downtown hotel parking. I would give it 5 stars except the room we had was a bit small. King bed and furniture with one large suitcase had us walking over our stuff to get to the bathroom. But traveling as a couple, I wasn't bothered much by it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaMaiNium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

A very busy hotel with lots of features including a massive lagoon pool and new fitness equipment. The pub-style restaurant bar is nice and the waitstaff are excellent. Just very over-priced for a pub however the food was very good. The main restaurant has a great buffet breakfast and the service was wonderful. Rooms were very clean and the hotel has stunning views if you're lucky enough to get into the marina building. Really nice hot tub that is quite large and actually HOT. Too bad the pool was so cold. Great hotel and the staff are excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for Marina building on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunblader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaDelgado, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Sunblader,
Thank you for posting your 5 Star review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, all our amenities, and convenient location near the San Diego airport. Since 1972, we are San Diego’s most accommodating hotel, and we are glad to have fulfilled this in your eyes. We hope you will visit again in the future.
Warm Regards,
Daniela Delgado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

From the time we arrived till the time we left, great all the way around. The bar drinks are great! As was the service provided by Scott... This dude was a pro!!! After breakfast, I ran into one of the employees (forgot name) tall good looking lad. We began to chat about the Foo Fighters after he had recognized I was sporting their t-shirt. He was very personabel and professional. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaDelgado, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Dave F,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and friendly service while visiting San Diego. Thank you for mentioning Scott our resident “Mixologist”, and we are sure he will appreciate your kind comments. Thank you again for your 5 Star recommendation and we hope to welcome you back for a future stay.
Warm Regards,
Daniela Delgado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#57 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#120 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Property: The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#37 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#59 Business Hotel in San Diego
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing