We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location, great service, great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Ranked #114 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed at this location for Mother's Day week-end. What a great location! Just steps away from the beach, great pool area and lots of amenities. Only downside was the price at the restaurant. $21 for a simple breakfast, no wonder the Starbucks was so busy. The hotel offered a $5 rebate if you went "green" and didn't have your room cleaned daily...great idea!
Mark (front desk) was very personable and knowledgable. Only thing that was a problemwas the parking. I have disabled plates and unless we wanted to valet at $30 a day, we would have to self park ($22 per day) and walk a long distance to the hotel. Except for the parking - All in all a super place to stay.

Room Tip: Marina Towers was a great location.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3562543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    1,242
    673
    359
    211
See reviews for
776
847
181
1,233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I recently stayed at the Sheraton because I had a flight back to China the next day. I was down on my luck and had no where to stay. I was expecting to stay at Denny's. When I arrived at the Sheraton Hotel, Mark and Jamie the two front desk agents took very good care of me. They made sure I was comfortable and made sure I was taken care of at Quinn's Sports Bar. Thank you Sheraton this will definitely not be my last stay with you guys. You made a terrific first impression on me. Lastly the view of the Marina is remarkable and the bed was unbelievable. I cannot wait to come back to San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here. The location and my room view was amazing. But, the best thing is the customer service.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaDelgado, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear BigEngineer,
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and friendly service from our team. We hope you will be back for more stays.
Warm Regards,
Daniela Delgado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Sheraton Marina - I especially loved the private balconies overlooking the Marina.

One negative - housekeeping needs to have attention to detail. Found several "hairs" in the bathroom. Also noticed that the chaise and foot stool definetely needed a good cleaning.

My rating is strictly based on location - housekeeping is average.

Room Tip: There are 2 towers - we stayed in both on seperate trips. I prefer the main Marina Tower - due to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Getpacked77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaDelgado, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Getpacked77,
Thank you for posting your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and marina views. Thank you for bringing to our attention the housekeeping challenges that you encountered. We will certainly share this with our team as a training opportunity and would love the opportunity to connect with you personally for details of that room. Thank you again and we hope you will be back for another stay.
Warm Regards,
Daniela Delgado
Daniela.Delgado@Sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

This was a very nice hotel. The rooms are nicely decorated, the views from the balcony are nice, the staff is friendly, and the service was good. There are a couple places to eat on property and they had great food.

It is a little distance from downtown if you are there for fun, but I was there for a conference and everything I needed was there for me.

Parking is really expensive, especially if you do valet.

The pool is nice too, and the kids could play there for hours!

I would stay here again if a conference was being held here. But if it was just for leisure, then I would choose to stay somewhere closer to downtown where all the stuff is.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jsaxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaDelgado, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Jsaxm,
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here including our nautical décor and balconies in every room. You will be pleased to learn that starting May 28th through the end of summer, there will be a shuttle service transporting guests to the Broadway Pier, Seaport Village, and just steps away from the Gaslamp Quarter. We hope you find this information helpful and that you will be back for another stay.
Warm Regards,
Daniela Delgado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento,CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We had a wonderful view from our large balcony of sailboats and even an aircraft carrier. The room is nice and the bathroom is updated. However there is little space to put toiletries and the provided hairdryer is stored on the handicap rail above the toilet where it could very well fall in! I used the dryer and placed it precariously on the small sink space and unplugged it after use. I suggest that the hotel provides a bag that can hang from the back of the door or a basket under the sink. A little strange detail but one that can be easily fixed. We arrived late at night with two small children and the desk gave us the wrong directions and then gave us a room with one bed. We had to go back to the desk and start all over again. Otherwise, the rest of the staff was wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggsnowwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amd
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

I stayed at the sheraton marina for 3 nights in march 2012. This was my second stay at the hotel. This time I was given a standard room at the marina tower which is part of the main building.

The hotel is a typical starwood 4 star property. It has a nice view of the marina and a starbucks located in the hotel. Check in and check out was quite smooth.

One thing I particularly did not like was that the hotel charges a parking fee for guests. Although this is quite standard in california, it would make sense to waive this considering the hotel location.

The breakfast is not the best in town but ok for a business hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ankur_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielaDelgado, Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear ankur_79,
Thank you for posting your review. We’re delighted you visited us again and hope you enjoyed your stay. You will be pleased to learn that starting May 28th through the end of summer, there will be a shuttle service transporting guests to the Broadway Pier, Seaport Village, and just steps away from the Gaslamp Quarter, as an alternative to parking a vehicle with us. We hope you find this information helpful and that you will be back for more stays.
Warm Regards,
Daniela Delgado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#50 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#70 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Property: The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-1007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#77 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing