We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for fishing out of Point Loma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
Ranked #128 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This hotel is perfect for those taking a fishing charter for a day or a week. The rooms are decent and comfprtable and there is very little noise on a Saturday night. Beds are decent bt the decor, TV, etc., are dated. A very average room but perfect for the money. The best thing is proximity to charter boats and the continental breakfast. Best Tip: the parking lot is small, but you can pay to park overnight if fishing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wduckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

Rooms were average, kind of on the small side. Lobby was tiny and this is where they served continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

This hotel is a nice place to come and relax. The room is very spacious and beds are comfortable. The rooms have a couch, mini- kitchen with a stove for you to cook breakfast. It is less than 10 min from Sea World and Old Town San Diego. I was very pleased with our room. I will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonnyb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

One of the constant problems with reviews on TripAdvisor is that some reviewers seem to forget that they are paying for pot roast while expecting prime rib. The Vagabond Inn at Point Loma falls into the "pot roast" category - which can be great as long as you are expecting it. We stayed there for a couple of nights in early September and we found it entirely adequate, which is what we were paying for. here's what we got: 1) a clean, renovated bathroom - a bit small, but we didn't have any bathroom parties planned, so it wasn't a disappointment; 2) a smallish room with a view of a parking lot (but the bed was big and comfortable, and there was room to sort out our stuff - again, we didn't expect to be playing touch football in there); 3) a hard-working but functional refrigerator; 4) a television that probably worked but it didn't matter since we never turned it on; 5) a decent location close to the things that we wanted to see and do, with plenty of coffee shops, convenience stores and restauraunts within easy walking distance; 6) a pleasant desk attendant; 7) the "free" breakfast that you would expect - fruit, pastries, coffee and juice; 8) free parking; 9) a pool that we didn't use but which seemed clean and would have come in handy if it the weather had been hotter (we missed the heat wave by a week).

Are there downsides? You bet. The room smelled damp and clammy when we arrived, but it improved when we turned on the A/C to get some circulation. The decor is somewhat dated and might come across as shabby, but it was clean and neat. The room WAS smallish, as I said - and with two big suitcases plus peripheral stuff we had to be judicious in how we spread ourselves around. That said, it was as big as most European hotel rooms that I have ever been in. The hotel is wedged between a busy fish market and the street, and the pool is street-side. But people were using and enjoying the pool, and the high fence between the pool deck and the street offers security if not privacy. Even though it seems like it would be a noisy place, it wasn't - at least, not when we stayed there.

Don't go to the Vagabond Inn if you are looking for a high-end hotel experience. You won't get that. But if you are looking for a place that offers basic accommodation at a reasonable price, the Vagabond fits the bill.

I'll have the pot roast, please.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WJP89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

It's an old hotel despite its renovation of the bathrooms (cheap job). Unfriendly staff. Dirty room. The armchair had animal hair on the cushion. We pulled it out so the cleaner could see it and at least vacuum it. Nope. Breakfast is a joke - danish and cheap muffins. The pool is very small and not attractive. Not worth the lower SD price. The neighborhood is not attractive ans eerily deserted at night. Check out Cabrillo National Monument about 3 miles away. Nice views from the rocks down at the base of Point Loma. Watch out for the waves. It would be impossible to get out if you get swept in.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranchito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

The room was clean and comfortable. We got free Wi-fi. I like the fact that the pool is heated. The service was good. The free parking was nice. The location is 10 min away from main visit points in san diego. In general, i enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squirrel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Our ten night stay at the Vagabond Inn on Point Loma was great. Rooms are comfortably furnished with newly remodeled bathrooms. This location gets you away from the noise and traffic of the city although you're only five minutes from the airport.Parking is free--a bonus in this city. The pool was warm and included both shallow and deep areas--good for adult swimming and kid playing. The desk staff is very accommodating and the cleaning staff did a fine job of cleaning up the beach sand we managed to track in. A great bargain in our favorite expensive city.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KansasTraveler601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.3 km away
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
Cabrillo Inn & Suites Airport
#183 of 278 in San Diego
145 reviews
0.2 km away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#146 of 278 in San Diego
1,429 reviews
0.3 km away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Aqua Mar
Hotel Aqua Mar
#163 of 278 in San Diego
157 reviews
9 km away
Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
15.1 km away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina

Address: 1325 Scott St, San Diego, CA 92106-2726 (Formerly Vagabond Inn San Diego (Point Loma))
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#45 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $93 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vagabond Inn is steps away from Harbor Drive and Shelter Island, bayside near the landings and marina boardwalk, and a few minutes from San Diego Int'l Airport. Complete with heated pool, full continental breakfast, complimentary wifi, cable with HBO, and a 24 hour service desk, this Vagabond Inn is an excellent choice. All guestrooms are non-smoking with a fridge and microwave. Pet Friendly rooms and view rooms available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Diego (Point Loma) Hotel San Diego
Vagabond Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing