We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Town and Country San Diego
Ranked #184 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
El Cajon
1 review
“Anniversary”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Had a very wonderful evening. We enjoyed the pool view. Quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annet239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoHotel, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Happy belated anniversary! We are so pleased you were able to enjoy it with us here at the Town and Country and that your evening was wonderful. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    903
    749
    498
    484
See reviews for
720
426
186
1,757
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland, or
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The maintenance of this facility is amazing. Everything was in exceptional condition. The room was spacious, the bathroom even more so. Storage was excellent. The grounds are gorgeous and maintained extremely well. The staff is very helpful and exceedingly pleasant. It's a couple minute stroll to the tram that will take you to old town or, with a coordinated transfer, to the gaslamp district of downtown. There are decent eateries a 15-20 minute walk away. It is a little dated, but all the offsetting factors and the value make this an easy choice. You do feel a little nickle and dimed as they charge for wireless (which isn't the greatest as it ebbs and flows significantly) and the food was expensive for what you got (we quickly learned there were much better choices within an easy walk--Boudins--or trolley ride--gaslamp district with a myriad of eateries.

Room Tip: The rooms around the (rose) garden courtyard are exceptionally appealling (ours was 3536). There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portlandorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoHotel, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at the Town and Country. It sounds as though you had a good time in San Diego and here at the hotel, and for that we are very pleased. We look forward to having you visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and i had our wedding here in 2006 and came back for a "staycation" during and even we attended. the property is so lovely and the staff is always very helpful and kind. the spa is WONDERFUL. the rooms are always clean, neat, and most have a beautiful balcony.
we recomend this resort for everyone from families to couples.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiegokatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoHotel, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Happy belated 6th wedding anniversary! We’re so pleased you were able to come back to stay at the Town and Country for your special day. We look forward to having you with us again, possibly next year, but please come visit the spa any time since it looks as though you are from San Diego. I recommend signing up on their email list so you can get updated on their monthly newsletters. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The line to check-in was long. The front desk help, however, was the highlight of the hospitality at this hotel. The room service was a joke. I ordered a salad with my meal and they forgot my dressing and my glass of ice water. By the time they brought them up, an hour had gone by. Needless to say I was tired and no longer in the mood for salad. The decor is very dated in both the rooms and the restaurants. The food was "OK" so I wouldn't say it was terrible. My main complaint was the service (both room service and restaurants) and the decor.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alocke78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoHotel, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know the circumstances of your stay with us. There is no excuse for the problem you encountered with room service and I wanted to let you know this is being addressed, as are all your issues. We appreciate your taking the time to bring all matters to our attention. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I recently stayed here for a conference. The grounds are very nice. Brick Walkways, heavily planted and mature trees are all over. Very nice.

The rooms however, are very dated. Same with the Conference areas, additionally, missing or dirty ceiling tiles. One other small complaint, is there is a $5.00 charge (per use)to use the work out area. All machines had headphone jacks, but they didn't have any to loan out. Odd. Never had a hotel charge me to use a treadmill before.

On a really positve note, Kelly's Steak House was excellent. Melody was our server, and she was very attentive and had a great personality!!!

Room Tip: Don't expect alot from the rooms, but they are clean. just very dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoHotel, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
We appreciate your taking the time to submit your online review and are pleased that you enjoyed the trolley, mall, spa, Kelly's Steakhouse and our proximity to downtown and the local beaches. We've definitely been having beautiful weather to enjoy the beach and outdoors! The hotel is currently undergoing some renovations so hopefully you will enjoy your next stay with us even more. Again, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Nice hotel that could use some renovations but overall it's a very nice hotel. It's very close to the trolly station and mission valley mall. They have a very nice spa and an even better restaurant named Kellys that has wonderful steak! This hotel is about 5min from old town 20min from downtown and 15min from the beaches.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhudson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoHotel, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
We appreciate your taking the time to write your online review and let us know how much you enjoyed the trolley, mall, spa, Kelly's Steakhouse and our proximity to downtown and the beaches. The weather has been beautiful here lately, so hopefully you were able to enjoy the beach and great outdoors! We are in the process of renovating so when you return again we are sure your stay will be even better. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Clean but old rooms like my grandmother's house! I stayed at Town in Country in q1'12 for a conference. The grounds are particularly clean but everything looks (and smells) old. I suspect it was built in the 60's. All the rooms decorated with blue carpet and blue bedspreads with flowers. I didn't have a desk in my room but part of a cheap wooden dining room table to work off of. Very strange. Staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houstonisraeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoHotel, Manager at Town and Country San Diego, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
The rooms in the hotel are not decorated all the same, they vary throughout the hotel and we are constantly refreshing them due to the size of the property. I regret that you were not happy with the room you were provided and did want to let you know there are other options. Thank you, however, for your comments how how nice and helpful the staff were.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#144 of 278 in San Diego
1,530 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#129 of 278 in San Diego
1,222 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#165 of 278 in San Diego
184 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town and Country San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town and Country San Diego

Property: Town and Country San Diego
Address: 500 Hotel Cir N, San Diego, CA 92108-3005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
#77 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Town and Country San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mission Valley and the heart of San Diego. Convenient, central location provides easy access to all of the city's sites & attractions. 6 miles from Lindbergh Field and ten minutes from Old Town, Zoo, Balboa Park, SeaWorld, the bays & beaches. On property you will find expansive grounds in addition to a fitness center, 3 pools, and 3 restaurants. Adjacent to a trolley stop, Fashion Valley Shopping & golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Town and Country San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Hotel San Diego
Hotel Town And Country
Town Country Resort San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing