We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
C$410
Fully refundable before Fri, May 31
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Cellene P

So thankful!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 27, 2024
After my Airbnb flooded, I scrambled to find a place to stay. I was so happy with my experience at the LaFayette. The staff truly went above and beyond (especially CJ!!!!!) to make me feel welcome and cared for.
In the middle of the night, I wandered downstairs for donut. They were sold out, but CJ offered to leave one at my door when they received their delivery. I woke up to a donut the next morning.
Those little touches meant a lot after a long day and rough travel experience (flight cancelation, rental car issue, Airbnb flood, etc.). I am so thankful for my great experience here and can't wait to return!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Feb 5, 2024
What a wonderful story, I am so thankful for sharing this wonderful story about CJ. We look forward to the return visit, hopefully under better circumstances.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
C$698
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$698
5.9 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
C$524
C$336
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$336
10.1 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$351
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    C$352
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    C$351
7.1 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
C$355
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    C$354
9.6 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$177
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$136
  • Official Hotel Site
10.2 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
The Grand Lobby at The Legacy
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$267
  • Expedia.com
    C$314
2.8 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hyatt.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$592
  • Hotels.com
    C$627
5.6 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
    C$229
  • Expedia.com
    C$245
3.1 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$97
  • Priceline
    C$149
9.4 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    C$261
  • travelup.com
16.3 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
67
5
2
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
67
5
2
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 81 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2024

What an experience! My wife and I have been to the hotel on multiple occasions. We have had dinner at Quixote which has such an authentic Oaxacan food and drinks at Gutters where they have pool tables and two bowling lanes. Their diner Beginners has great food. Had their chicken fried steak for breakfast. Tasted great and good size portions. Recently we stayed the night in their poolside queen room and the bed was extremely comfortable and had a sitting area and a full bar! We attended a jazz concert at Lou Lou’s what a beautiful setting and the sound was great. Will definitely return!

Room tip: Parking is difficult to find but they have valet.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2024

Thank you for the kind words, Staycations are our speciality. PLease come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2024

Must see hotel in San Diego, The Lafayette, recently renovated with custom everything. Astonishing and amazing décor, upscale rooms, lovely and lively pool area, several bars, valet parking, superb staff and excellent dining. A true landmark in San Diego with the most unique rooms we have ever seen. Front steps take you into the main bar which leads you back to the pool area and the 24 hour diner (reminded us of “Twin Peaks”). Seating is available around the pool for drinks and dining. Our Room 255 included a balcony overlooking the pool and is recommended. We highly recommend a stay overnight, or just visiting to get a drink, and/or to eat in the 'Beginners Diner' for a delicious breakfast with remarkable one-of-a-kind dishes. You will be delighted and feel very welcomed by the staff. Don't miss it.

Room tip: Ask for a pool balcony room and eat at the diner.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SDwalkerSOCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2024

Honored to receive such a kind review! We are happy to hear you thoroughly you enjoyed it. Twin Peaks definitely hits close to home, glad the Diner sparked that connection. Please come back and visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2024

Everything was just perfect!! The room was so inviting and comfortable. There was a birthday card and champagne for my partner waiting for us. It was such a wonderful surprise! It was so nice of them to provide a sparkling cider too since my partner doesn't drink alcohol. The bed was luxurious. We slept so much better than at home which is so unusual for me! Dinner at Quixote and brunch at Beginner's Diner made our stay even nicer. Having everything under one roof is so convenient and pleasant. Front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating and the valets were speedy and anticipated our departure by knowing my name before I even said anything. We will definitely be back for another delightful staycation or afternoon/evening visit 🥰 Thank you to the Lafayette Hotel staff for such a memorable experience!!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank historicvisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2024

We are honored you chose to celebrate your birthday with us. We love the opportunity to make special occasions, just a little extra special. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2024

We stayed just for the night and had a great time. Both of the restaurants in the hotel were very good but I think the diner was my favorite of the two. The room itself was very nice and all of the staff were very friendly. I plan on staying there again the next time I need a hotel in the area.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2024

Thanks for the review, and kind words. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2024

It's a uniquely crafted, classic concept, of a place you can stay and play! It's a swirl of both Old Timey and New day appeal. Worth checking out and getting lost in its wonder, if you're up for a stay-cation or out of town adventure!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Traci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2024

We are honored to to hear you share such kind words. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews