We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Mary-Frances W

Attention to detail is beyond

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 15, 2024
From check in to check out and every point in between this hotel is perfectly on point. Fresh fruit on the bar in my room. My name on the stationary. And the lobby you want to vibe in for days. This is a luxurious experience for all the senses. See you again soon!
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Feb 27, 2024
Thank you! So happy you noticed...we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
C$525
C$336
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
10.1 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
C$245
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    C$245
3.1 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
Tripadvisor
C$139
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
9.4 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$303
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$260
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
16.3 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
C$698
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$698
5.9 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
The Grand Lobby at The Legacy
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$264
  • Booking.com
2.8 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$138
  • Hotels.com
10.2 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$290
  • Priceline
9.6 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$592
  • Hyatt.com
5.6 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$628
  • Expedia.com
    C$656
11.2 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
67
5
2
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
67
5
2
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 81 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2024 via mobile

Had lunch at the Beginner’s Diner restaurant within the hotel.

First time there. The setting and decor is a replica of 50s and 60s diners. The food good, especially the onion rings and the prices reasonable.

For those who enjoy adult beverages there is a full bar and some boozy milkshakes on the menu.

Reservations are not accepted. First come first served. We arrive about 1 pm and it was full.

The staff was friendly, fun and efficient.

There is street parking however not often available. Parking is best with the valet service. The car attendants were courteous and efficient.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank faycassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2024

Thank you for the kind words, glad you find the Diner as special as we do. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2024 via mobile

What an amazing spot. Staying is a vacation on its own. Visually gorgeous and stimulating throughout. Beautiful pool. Gracious non-pretentious staff. Good food. 24 hour diner! No detail isn't custom and pretty. Comfortable bed with lovely linen. Sferra pool towels.

Room tip: Street parking is very difficult. Pool patio room was 😍
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Mayadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2024

Thanks for the kind words, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2024

After my Airbnb flooded, I scrambled to find a place to stay. I was so happy with my experience at the LaFayette. The staff truly went above and beyond (especially CJ!!!!!) to make me feel welcome and cared for.
In the middle of the night, I wandered downstairs for donut. They were sold out, but CJ offered to leave one at my door when they received their delivery. I woke up to a donut the next morning.
Those little touches meant a lot after a long day and rough travel experience (flight cancelation, rental car issue, Airbnb flood, etc.). I am so thankful for my great experience here and can't wait to return!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Cellene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2024

What a wonderful story, I am so thankful for sharing this wonderful story about CJ. We look forward to the return visit, hopefully under better circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2024

What an experience! My wife and I have been to the hotel on multiple occasions. We have had dinner at Quixote which has such an authentic Oaxacan food and drinks at Gutters where they have pool tables and two bowling lanes. Their diner Beginners has great food. Had their chicken fried steak for breakfast. Tasted great and good size portions. Recently we stayed the night in their poolside queen room and the bed was extremely comfortable and had a sitting area and a full bar! We attended a jazz concert at Lou Lou’s what a beautiful setting and the sound was great. Will definitely return!

Room tip: Parking is difficult to find but they have valet.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2024

Thank you for the kind words, Staycations are our speciality. PLease come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2024

Must see hotel in San Diego, The Lafayette, recently renovated with custom everything. Astonishing and amazing décor, upscale rooms, lovely and lively pool area, several bars, valet parking, superb staff and excellent dining. A true landmark in San Diego with the most unique rooms we have ever seen. Front steps take you into the main bar which leads you back to the pool area and the 24 hour diner (reminded us of “Twin Peaks”). Seating is available around the pool for drinks and dining. Our Room 255 included a balcony overlooking the pool and is recommended. We highly recommend a stay overnight, or just visiting to get a drink, and/or to eat in the 'Beginners Diner' for a delicious breakfast with remarkable one-of-a-kind dishes. You will be delighted and feel very welcomed by the staff. Don't miss it.

Room tip: Ask for a pool balcony room and eat at the diner.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SDwalkerSOCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2024

Honored to receive such a kind review! We are happy to hear you thoroughly you enjoyed it. Twin Peaks definitely hits close to home, glad the Diner sparked that connection. Please come back and visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews