We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
C$409
Fully refundable before Fri, May 31
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
C$410
Fully refundable before Fri, May 31
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Skyscanner.com
C$409
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
tairyn
San Diego, California

Another magical stay at The Lafayette

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 25, 2024
Just stayed here for the second time and the place/experience was just as wonderful as the first time. The attention to detail is unlike anything I have ever seen. Every room is its own mini escape. The hotel staff are personable and informative. To end our stay, we decided to have brunch on the terrace and our waitress, Alicia, was so darling and helpful. The magic is still very much alive at The LaFayette. Can’t wait to go back!
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Feb 27, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to share, we look forward to helping create the magic once more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
C$402
C$336
  • Expedia.com
    C$336
  • Priceline
    C$336
  • travelup.com
    C$368
10.1 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$351
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$352
  • travelup.com
    C$333
  • Hotels.com
    C$351
7.1 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
C$177
  • Expedia.com
    C$171
  • Vio.com
    C$136
  • Hotels.com
    C$171
10.2 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool
Booking.com
C$258
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$245
  • Agoda.com
    C$197
  • Hotels.com
    C$245
3.1 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
Booking.com
C$111
  • Priceline
    C$149
  • Agoda.com
    C$93
  • Hotels.com
    C$139
9.4 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$303
  • Priceline
    C$327
  • Trip.com
    C$260
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$260
16.3 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
C$696
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$697
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$682
  • Expedia.com
    C$698
5.9 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$627
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    C$629
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$595
  • Hotels.com
    C$627
5.6 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$354
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$289
  • Priceline
    C$354
9.6 km from The LaFayette Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
67
5
2
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
67
5
2
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 81 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2024

From check in to check out and every point in between this hotel is perfectly on point. Fresh fruit on the bar in my room. My name on the stationary. And the lobby you want to vibe in for days. This is a luxurious experience for all the senses. See you again soon!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mary-Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2024

Thank you! So happy you noticed...we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2024 via mobile

Had lunch at the Beginner’s Diner restaurant within the hotel.

First time there. The setting and decor is a replica of 50s and 60s diners. The food good, especially the onion rings and the prices reasonable.

For those who enjoy adult beverages there is a full bar and some boozy milkshakes on the menu.

Reservations are not accepted. First come first served. We arrive about 1 pm and it was full.

The staff was friendly, fun and efficient.

There is street parking however not often available. Parking is best with the valet service. The car attendants were courteous and efficient.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank faycassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2024

Thank you for the kind words, glad you find the Diner as special as we do. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2024 via mobile

What an amazing spot. Staying is a vacation on its own. Visually gorgeous and stimulating throughout. Beautiful pool. Gracious non-pretentious staff. Good food. 24 hour diner! No detail isn't custom and pretty. Comfortable bed with lovely linen. Sferra pool towels.

Room tip: Street parking is very difficult. Pool patio room was 😍
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Mayadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2024

Thanks for the kind words, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2024

After my Airbnb flooded, I scrambled to find a place to stay. I was so happy with my experience at the LaFayette. The staff truly went above and beyond (especially CJ!!!!!) to make me feel welcome and cared for.
In the middle of the night, I wandered downstairs for donut. They were sold out, but CJ offered to leave one at my door when they received their delivery. I woke up to a donut the next morning.
Those little touches meant a lot after a long day and rough travel experience (flight cancelation, rental car issue, Airbnb flood, etc.). I am so thankful for my great experience here and can't wait to return!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Cellene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2024

What a wonderful story, I am so thankful for sharing this wonderful story about CJ. We look forward to the return visit, hopefully under better circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2024

What an experience! My wife and I have been to the hotel on multiple occasions. We have had dinner at Quixote which has such an authentic Oaxacan food and drinks at Gutters where they have pool tables and two bowling lanes. Their diner Beginners has great food. Had their chicken fried steak for breakfast. Tasted great and good size portions. Recently we stayed the night in their poolside queen room and the bed was extremely comfortable and had a sitting area and a full bar! We attended a jazz concert at Lou Lou’s what a beautiful setting and the sound was great. Will definitely return!

Room tip: Parking is difficult to find but they have valet.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve Slack, General Manager at The LaFayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2024

Thank you for the kind words, Staycations are our speciality. PLease come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews