We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Staff walked in on me and my Girlfriend..”
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #46 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Staff walked in on me and my Girlfriend..”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

It seems the hotel staff wasn't aware that I was staying in the room that I was in. Around 10 am, after the first night there, a male housekeeper burst right into my room, without knocking, while me and my girlfriend were... occupied with each other. Needless to say she was very embarrassed, and this experience ruined our entire trip.

I told the hotel staff about this incident, and they forwarded me to the hotel director who offered me a bottle of wine as an apology. Of course I accepted, as I figured this is quite a nice hotel with a very expensive taste in alcohol, at least it should be a good bottle. Nope, I was given a cheap $15 bottle of wine that wasn't even on the hotel's alcohol menu. What a joke, this was just a huge slap in the face.

To top it all off, I asked twice to have a refrigerator brought up to my room. The first time I asked was when I first arrived, the second when I asked the concierge over the phone. Both times my request went unfulfilled. I ended up placing my perishables in the hotel mini-bar fridge out of desperation, which ended up charging multiple items to my hotel tab (due to the weight adjustment). I ended up owing about $100 in drinks I never even drank. By the end of the trip I was just so sick of everything, I didn't even care to check out. By the way for those wondering, apparently the US Grant thinks a coke not even the size of a small can is worth $4.95, and a small 8oz red bull is $9.95. Both of which are still inside the mini-bar.

I guess I shouldn't forget one last thing, when we arrived my girlfriend (being the superstitious person that she is) asked the Bellhop if the hotel was haunted, since the hotel is indeed over 100 years old. Without skipping a beat, the bellhop tells her it is indeed haunted and tells her a few scary stories not paying attention to the face I was making to tell him to stop. This completely RUINED her experience, she was frightened most of the night and thought every little sound she heard was a ghost. How could someone from the hotel staff do this?! I spent over $1,000 to stay here 3 nights, and my girlfriend was completely distraught the entire trip.

Needless to say, I won't be staying here again. I'd rather stay at a motel 6, at least I know their staff wont forget that I'm in my room, they'll be happy to give me a mini-fridge, and they will give me complimentary breakfast. Oh yeah, and a motel 6 won't scare the living hell out of my girlfriend.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel like the plague. Choose one of the cheaper ones around the area, you'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnFitch12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas K, General Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
We appreciate you providing us with detailed information regarding your unpleasant experience in our property. I deeply apologize for the distress caused by the issues you enumerated and would like to have the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Please feel free to contact me directly at 619-744-2005 at your most convenient time.

Sincerely,
Douglas R. Korn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,427
    634
    220
    73
    62
See reviews for
413
963
144
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I felt like a 1920s movie star. Building is so deco and gorgeous. Rooms are tight but lovely (I still wear my US Grant slippers!). Great location, tons to do. Staff was very nice. Even let us stash our bags the day we checked out so we could explore the city one last time. For a unique hotel experience in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, this gem won't disappoint. I would absolutely stay here again .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prattjwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Walking distance to restaurants and shopping mall. Service was both welcoming and helpful. A lot of history seen and read throughout hotel. Room was a good size for a couple. I was impressed by the luxury though you can notice it is an older hotel.

Room Tip: View to garden is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copper07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonie, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This hotel had excellent service. The only issue we had was the room was on the side near construction on the street and was very loud in AM. They didnt inform us of this issue ahead of time and it is prevelant enough that they certainly are aware of it. Other than that it was an exceptional hotel. I would recommend it highly to anyone wanting to stay downtown. You are within walking distance of anything downtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdhny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

After all the reviews on this property I was afraid I'd be disappointed, but I was not. This hotel is as amazing as 99% of the reviewers say it is. First off all, the staff: Sergio at check in was amazing. Our room wasn't ready right away, so he took our # so he could call us when it was. We were told of all the things we could do in the area while we waited. He is fantastic at his job and a great representative of this property. Next up, Leanne at concierge. She basically took us on a history lesson of the hotel while telling us of all the things we could do in the San Diego area. quite possibly the friendliest concierge we have ever come across.

The hotel itself: you cant beat the area it's in. Close to absolute everything. Gaslamp, main shopping, water/piers, Hilcrest, and Little Italy all within minutes walking-no need for a car at all. It's beautiful, well maintained, and very comfortable.

Would return here without a doubt!

If I had to say one thing, the 150$ pet fee is too much. Even for a luxury hotel. I get the 35$ parking bc we are downtown, but even 75$ would be far more reasonable.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esg772016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The US Grant hotel was built by the descendants on America's 18th President after the Civil War. It is a fine old fashioned hotel with charming rooms and great common areas. The hotel is well located for visiting the downtown sights, many fine restaurants and bars are nearby in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NelsonVNile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
251 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

CHECK-IN/VALET STAFF/FRONT DESK: The entrance to the hotel valet parking is quite tricky. You might go right pass it if you don't pay attention. We arrived to the hotel and were greeted by a very professional valet parking staff who had big smiles and addressed us as Mr. and Mrs. The professsional and friendly valet staff was consistent throughout our stay. We got 2 bottles of water from them everyday "for the road and the little guy". The young front desk staff was very friendly as well. Our son had a cold with temperature during our stay, the staff opened the closed gift shop and offerred tylenol (though we had to decline because we had to use children's tylenol). Overall, we couldn't be happier with the customer service. No complaint!

ROOM: Our room is on the 4th floor facing the Westgate hotel, which wasn't a good thing because of their all day construction. Not very good for napping or sleeping in. Our little one was quite unhappy to be waken up so early in the day (around 5AM...) The room overall is more like a suite. The king bed was very comfortable with a ton of pillows. The decor is quite dated and dark, but we weren't bothered much by it. There was a huge mirror on the floor leaning against the wall (not safe if you have a toddler). The bathroom is nice and clean and has everything that we needed, from cotton balls to magnifying mirror and a lot of clean fresh towels with timed lightning. There were always at least 2 clean bath robes for us each day. We got a call every night to find out if we wanted our bed to be turned. Oh, there were 2 compliment wate bottles in our room everyday, which were very nice.

ROOM SERVICE: The maids were very friendly and attentive. We had to use the long pillows to cover the pointy sharp night stand to protect our son from getting hurt. The maid understood that and didn't touch them (without us telling). When we saw them on the hallway, they were always polite and friendly to our little one. We ordered in-room service for dinner one night. The food was excellent, exceeded our expectations. We had the fillet mignon with seasonal garden veggies. Everything was very tasty and hot. We could tell that the veggies were very fresh. Our son was happy with his mac and cheese. The onion rings were very good, just like Red Robin. The room service staff was very warm and courteous when he delivered the food. We got a phone call about an hour after our dinner from the conceirge to see if we were satisfied with our meals.

LOCATION: One word - EXCELLENT! The trolley is right in front out the door. The mall is one block away, which has a lot of nice shops and restaurants. Very close to Little Italy and about 10 min walk to the Harbor. 5 min drive away to the San Diego Zoo, Spanish Village, and the models train museum (you can take the trolley there). The SeaWorld is about 10 min drive away. The San Diego Sarafi Park is about 20 min away (you will have to go on the freeway to get there, but quite straightforward).

Room Tip: If you have sleep problem, before you go, you should contact the hotel and ask NOT to be placed in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nononesense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,193 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Property: The US Grant
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing