We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midtown Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Ranked #41 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Rarely do I make a review on a hotel, due to the fact that most are run of the mill. The US Grant is one of those exceptions. We were in town expressly to visit the USS Midway Museum. When you walk into the hotel, it has a warm comfortable feeling that's hard to explain. Lots of wood and very tasteful furniture are spread throughout the lobby. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are beyond clean. Everyone from the concierge to the maid service was attentive and willing to help at a moments notice. They have down pillows in the rooms and as I am allergic to down, they were more than happy to swap them out for polyester fill. We needed a recommendation for dinner and the concierge, Mr. Brooks Barding, stepped right in to help us make a choice (Greystone Steakouse). We were only there for one night, but if I'm ever back in the San Diego, I'm definitely staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 August 2017

Allan H, thank your for the review! We hope that you do return to San Diego as we would be delighted to welcome you back. To learn more about our own storied history - including the many ways we have honored and welcomed the military throughout our 107 year legacy, I suggest our self-guided tour for a unique and enriching experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 2,548 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

The US Grant is ridiculously beautiful! You almost feel like you are in San Francisco once you see the hotel. The first floor lobby area is spectacular and nicely decorated. The bar and restaurant is old school beautiful. The rooms are nice and comfortable. They are clean and fresh. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
The Grant is perfectly located in downtown. It's close to the Gaslamp, Petco Park and shopping.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Reporting live from San Diego, this is Ron burgundy. I spoke with the reviewer and thought this hotel was a blast. The reviewer went as a couple and thought very highly of the hotel. When you first enter the hotel, the hotel screams classy. The lobby has high Chandeliers, historic art work, and beautiful decor.

The rooms really remind the reviewers of the old Parisian hotels. As one can see, this is a fine selling point for newly found couples, especially if you want to impress a girlfriend!

The bedroom features a nice tv, dimmable lights, and a very spacious living room center. The bathroom was very spacious, his and her sinks, and very awesome shower.

If one wants a great hotel, please choose the us grant in San Diego! Stay classy San Diego!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 August 2017

Mr. Burgundy, what an honor for you to cover Charles L's recent stay. The only question left to ask is what can we do to make the reviewer's next stay a 5-star experience?? Until then, staying classy always and forever since 1910.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Kudos to Starwood for the really superb way they have restored and maintained this historic hotel, which was built in 1910. Many older hotels feel older, with smallish rooms and cramped public spaces. Not the Grant. It's been beautifully updated to meet the needs of the modern traveler while still respecting its storied history.

The appearance of the hotel reminds me a lot of the venerable St. Francis Hotel in San Francisco, which was completed in 1913 (also managed by Starwood). The decorative touches are all elegant without being stuffy. The hotel provided pineapple lemonade in the lobby the day we arrived, and offered a mixed cocktails cart beginning around 4pm.

Our room was spacious and inviting, crowned by the Starwood touch--the Heavenly Bed. The room also had a safe, a small refrigerator, a coffee maker, and free bottled water during turndown service.

We look forward to returning to the welcoming service and elegance of the Grant.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WalnutBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 August 2017

Thank you for the glowing review, WalnutBaron! We appreciate you taking notice of our genuine pride in preserving the historic charm of our hotel while also modernizing features and services for today's travelers. There are many legendary hotels within our Luxury Collection brand that you may appreciate as well. The next time you are in San Francisco, might I suggest you explore the Palace hotel? Safe travels, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another exceptional stay at THE US GRANT.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Great location, Great service and Good food. Large comfortable beds. Gorgeously lit up at night. Only negative is the park accross the street which accents San Diegos Homeless problem. Not a safety issue just sad and unsightly.,

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MJP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with my mom for three nights. We were in town to see a show at SDSU. Our favorite thing about staying here was the Grant Grill, the hotel's restaurant. The service was fabulous and the food was very good. The entertainment was good too! The room felt like just the right size and the beds and pillows were comfortable. We enjoyed the nice bathroom with a great shower. The only downside of staying here would be the location and maid service. There is a mall across the street, but it's not very nice. The area didn't feel safe and I would not have gone out at night. The maids did a fine job, but our room was always made up so late in the day, around 5pm. Also, I found myself always bumping into the maid cart in the narrow hallway, which was a touch annoying. Late check out was a big plus. Staff was all wonderful.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Redmondmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 August 2017

Redmondmom, thank you for staying with us and dining at Grant Grill. We want to ensure your next stay exceeds your expectations in every way! At THE US GRANT, we offer twice daily housekeeping service - traditional cleaning in the morning, and turndown in the evening. To request service at a specific time, you can contact Guest Services or to request service as you depart for the day, you can use the interactive door bell in your guest room. For local area recommendations and transportation options (including FRED - free ride everywhere downtown shuttle service), our Concierge are at your service. We hope to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel was beautiful! The customer service was top notch. The Grant Grill provided tasty appetizers and drinks. House keeping offered extra water bottles and towels. Upon departure, valet provided directions to Coronado Island. It was a delightful experience. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank elannielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 August 2017

Happy Birthday, elannielove! Thank you for celebrating your special occasion with us at THE US GRANT and Grant Grill. We hope that the memories made during your stay last a lifetime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
515 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#23 of 286 in San Diego
4,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#28 of 286 in San Diego
5,557 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: C$276 - C$784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing