We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
FridaMatisse
Vancouver, Canada

Good option in DT SD

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 8, 2024via mobile
Only stayed here for a night - it was fantastic. The building has its charm being a former bank. I especially appreciate Georgie at the front desk for her help. We stayed on the 18th floor and had a good night sleep. The view was great and the bed comfortable.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$207
  • Official Site
    C$191
  • Vio.com
    C$174
  • Expedia.com
    C$215
5.0 km from Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
C$466
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$466
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$413
  • Expedia.com
    C$466
8.5 km from Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Pool
C$204
  • Expedia.com
    C$246
  • Agoda.com
    C$173
  • Vio.com
    C$202
5.2 km from Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
C$582
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$582
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$553
  • Expedia.com
    C$582
1.0 km from Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
C$267
  • Expedia.com
    C$283
  • Vio.com
    C$198
  • Hotels.com
    C$264
9.4 km from Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
C$475
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$475
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$408
  • Hotels.com
    C$474
10.0 km from Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
piscine et spa
C$146
  • Expedia.com
    C$181
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$128
  • Priceline
    C$177
13.2 km from Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$1,309
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
1.3 km from Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$422
  • Priceline
10.3 km from Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$248
  • Algotels
18.3 km from Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in San Diego
Reviews (1,213)
Filter reviews
1,213 results
Traveller rating
727
393
61
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
727
393
61
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic bank building house of blues meeting room valet parking beautiful hotel balboa park homeless people front desk staff gas lamp convention center seaport village vault lobby gaslamp elevator waterfront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,213 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2024 via mobile

I am a Bonvoy elite, so I always rate the hotels I stay. This is a wonderful historic gem in the gaslamp district of San Diego. In its previous life, a bank. Lots of history here and the Marriott family has done a wonderful job in retaining that glamor.
I was in a junior suite in the corner. Although the view wasn't there, it was a very clean and updated room.
The hotel is quite secure and safe.
I chose valet parking since there isn't any on site parking. Closest lot is a few blocks away.
I highly recommend trying this property if your travels bring you to downtown San Diego. Lots of nearby restaurants as well. It is also an easy walk to Petco Park ~ 1 mile.

Room tip: Valet parking available. Don't use Broadway address if driving, use 6th street address.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank gatecrasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 4, 2024 via mobile

This is my 3 rd time here. Liz checked me in early and she is delightful and professional. At the bar with Nick he was fun, chatty to my family and friendly. He took time to tell us a few stories of San Diego. Mickey was our breakfast server and he was super sweet and very quick. The bank vault on level S was mesmerizing

Room tip: Take bus 992 from the airport. At the hotel in 20 min
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank kathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 1, 2024

Excellent! Beautiful rooms! The Service was very good as well! The breakfast was timely and perfectly served! We will definitely return! Parking was more expensive than I thought it would be, other than this, all positive feedback!

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 12, 2023

Average hotel at the most, north of the Gaslamp Quarter. Booked this hotel because it was relatively cheap compared to others. Maybe because of all the homeless people around the hotel?

Gold status ain't worth a thing at this place. I was given a low floor room with no view at all (except a waal and a lot of trash), and there is a lot of outside noise from airco systems. No complimentary water, so went to the supermarket around the corner.

Room was OK and in decent shape, and bed was OK too. Housekeeping does a good job. Skipped the breakfast, way too expensive and a lot of places in the neighborhood to get some food. But next time, not this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 898frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Veronica Padilla, Owner at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2023

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I apologize your experience was not what you were expecting. We are currently doing some remodeling in our restaurant and I hope we get the chance to provide you with a more elevated experience once we finish. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, I hope we get the chance to host you on your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2023 via mobile

Good value, imposing building, freezing public area due to height of ceilings and stone structure (converted from a bank) - take warm clothing if you eat breakfast there! Gym should be better - minimal equipment and dumbells sizes poor. Some poor souls seem to camp out across the trees at night but didn't feel threatening.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JMHGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews