We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Safe, Excellent for the money. A good find for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
Ranked #203 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean, Safe, Excellent for the money. A good find for a family”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I was weary about a hotel that cost 1/2 of the ones a long the harbor but I was pleasantly surprised.

If you are the kind of person that expects a luxury spa hotel, don’t stay here go to the Hotel Del Cornado and pay 5 times more. If you want a clean, safe place with plenty of FREE parking in San Diego, I recommend this hotel.

It is 15 minutes away from the zoo, down town, sea world and most everything you want to do on S. D. Lego land is 18 miles away and about 30 to 40 minutes.

The staff is nice and the rooms are good. The hotel pool and hot tub is kept nicely. The FREE breakfast was a little better than your standard continental breakfast. Every morning there is at least some form of hot meat and eggs. The coffee is fresh and there is an attendant that takes care of everything.

The most disappointing part was the happy hour. Yes, there is free beer and wine, but the ‘so called’ light dinner consists of chips and salsa. You’d be better off stopping at the many liquor stores or grocery stores and get your own beer or wine because the stuff was CHEAP. This was the ONLY complaint.

In the immediate area there are plenty of places to eat and shop – even an In and Out burger within ½ mile. It shares the parking lot with a Holiday Inn and a Dennys. I’m not a fan of Dennys so I wished it was something else, but that really has nothing to do with the hotel.

This is a great find in San Diego, particually for a family on vacation looking to keep hotel cost down. Seven days cost us $850, including taxes and fees.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jabawaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    65
    46
    25
    25
See reviews for
102
51
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Hotel is in need of renovation, problems with internet, ice machine not working, lumpy bed etc.
That said, they seem to be pricing accordingly. With location, good breakfast and room size, definitely worth a look. It worked for us on our trip. Just take the above into account.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRMSouthwestUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

First glance, this hotel needs some work. Some renovations have been done and seems to be improving. The front desk staffwas friendly and always enthusiastic to help. The rooms all face a courtyard with pool and sauna that was never loud or disturbing in the evening. The rooms are worn, but well equipped with fridge and microwave and decent amount of space. It was clean throughout, especially the bathroom area. The breakfast area was adequate with at least 2 hot items per morning. The breakfast manager also kept the area clean. She took over the waffle irons one morning as some smaller children were there unattended and kept pouring batter on the outside of the machine. She cleaned it and started making waffles for those who wanted them while basically watching some unruly children. Checkout was a breeze. Its easy to get to San Diego, the beach, and Legoland without parking fees and congestion. Its more of a budget motel, but definitel a value for families.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drifter33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Excellent stay. Breakfast was great, bed was great, room was great. What more can I say. Parking might be a problem but we had no problem. We paid $90.11 total senior rate. Would stay here again at that rate in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We were here 2 nights for a family wedding near Downtown San Diego, and the location from the venue was about 20 minutes, so it wasn't a bad drive. We have never stayed at any Comfort Suites and driving up to the property, we were pretty happy!

The actual location of the hotel is right off the 15 freeway at Mira Mesa Blvd., so seeing it is very easy. However, the only cumbersome part of getting to the hotel is that you have to drive all the way up to the Scripps Ranch Blvd. and then make a U-turn to get to the other side. If you're staying here for several days, it just gets a little tedious, but not a big deal.

There is free parking which is great, but since it is shared with the Holiday Inn Express next door, it can get a little difficult to find a spot if you're arriving late in the evening and during a weekend. For the most part, this wasn't much of an issue.

Checking in was a breeze and once we got our keys, we went to our room and was really happy with it. The room itself had a nice flow to it and since it was tucked away in the corner, it felt very cozy and was quiet. Entering into our room, first you came across the living space that had a pull-out sofa. We didn't personally use it, but the sofa itself was comfortable to sit on. There is a TV, wet bar, mini refrigerator, and microwave - all very convenient to have if you'd like to heat up some food and store beverages. The bathroom was quite small, but functional. It was nice to have the sink basin outside of the shower area so that one person could be taking a shower and then the other could be outside washing up with no hassle.

The bedroom was very nice. There was a small hanging closet with an iron and ironing board, dresser, and another TV. Off to the side, there was a small armchair to relax in. We absolutely loved the bed and slept like rocks every night we were there. The decor was very inviting with green curtains and it blocked out the outside light pretty well. We were very fortunate to have a room that faced away from the parking lot and the swimming pool. Being away from it allowed the room to stay cool. That just improved our sleep quality, as after a long day of being out, there was a nice retreat to come back to. My only problem with the room was that the soundproofing was pretty bad, as you could clearly hear people walk above you and when the water would turn on for the shower, or when the toilet was flushed. If you're a light sleeper or don't want to get up early, I'd suggest getting a room on the top floor (4th).

We didn't get a chance to try the swimming pool and jacuzzi, but it looked like a decent size. The jacuzzi was very popular, albeit a bit small. The pool wasn't huge, and you certainly couldn't do laps in it, but it is a good size to play around in. Perfect for the kids.

The internet was left to be desired, as it was painfully slow, unless you used it during the day or early in the morning. We ended up using our phone as our portable modem to surf the internet. Thankfully, we weren't in our room for a lot of the day.

Overall, I'd have to say that this place is a pretty good option if you want to save some money from staying in Downtown SD. We enjoyed the inviting atmosphere of the room, and the layout of the hotel itself is quite nice. The energy doesn't feel stifled or forced. The front desk was quick to check us in, but the guy was a bit too whiny, so that was a little unprofessional, but not a major problem. The breakfast was very basic, but at least you could make your own waffles, but since you are so close to a Trader Joe's market (across the street on Hilbert St.) and other eateries on the other side of the freeway, you're better off eating around there. It's called the Mira Mesa Market Center, and there you will find everything from In-N-Out Burger, Target, Edwards Cinemas, Pat and Oscar's, Chipotle, Jersey Mike's, Cold Stone Creamery. Within walking distance of the hotel, there is a Denny's, Japanese steakhouse, Afghan restaurant. Suffice to say, there are A LOT of options. :)

Room Tip: Get a corner room that doesn't face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tycl516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
367 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

This was our third time staying at this hotel. It's a little dated, but very comfortable and clean. We love it because there is a bedroom with a door and a sitting area with a fold out bed. The kids can sleep and the adults can watch TV without interrupting. All the rooms have a fridge and microwave. It is right off the I-15 freeway at the northern end of San Diego. We originally chose it for it's central location between The Zoo/Sea World and The Wild Animal Park, however we have chosen to stay there again even when not visiting the Wild Animal Park. However since it is right off the freeway, we request a room facing the parking lot so as to avoid the freeway noise. The parking is a little tight as it is shared with another property. There is not a washer/dryer in the hotel, it is next door at the Holiday Inn. That's a little annoying, but not too bad if you know and plan ahead. The staff has always been very friendly and helpful. They have always taken care of the minor problems we've had in a timely manner. The breakfast is very good. They have boiled eggs, waffles, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, cereals, fruit and pastries. There is a Denny's, a Pizza Hut , a Japanese place, an Italian place and a sub shop all within walking distance. Under the freeway (on Mira Mesa Blvd) there are lots of eating options, grocery stores, shopping areas, and movie theaters all within a couple of miles. (Buca de Beppo, Rubio's, In n Out, to name a few)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go2theZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

I was there for an overnighter, checked in at 7:30pm and left at 6:30am so I had no time to enjoy the pool or jacuzzi which looked very inviting. The rooms were immaculate and spacious. The bed was the best I have experienced yet.
Only one complaint that I had was I asked for a wake up call at 4:40am and did not get it until 5:58am. I had my cell alarm on so this did not affect me but I found it very unprofessional whomever it was at the desk that set up my wake up, and reported this when I checked out.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetNavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#188 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
#187 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miramar
Holiday Inn San Diego North Miramar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar

Property: Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
Address: 9880 Mira Mesa Blvd, San Diego, CA 92131-1025 (Formerly Quality Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar is located right off of Interstate 15 in Central San Diego. The hotel is within walking distance to restaurants, movies, shopping, and a short drive to San Diego's famous sights and attractions - SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo Safari Park, Balboa Park, Gaslamp Quarter, and San Diego beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites i-15 Miramar Hotel San Diego
Quality Inn San Diego
Quality Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing