We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in the middle of Nowhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Enumclaw, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gem in the middle of Nowhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

My husband and I had driven from Moab, arriving in Torrey just before dusk. Not having made any motel reservations, we were not sure where we would spend the night. We also checked the Days Inn and the Red Sands for prices and the atmosphere and decided on Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge. It was a good thing we made that decision when we did as we got one of the last rooms available, and we were glad we did! The room was adequate in size and very clean and new--the place must have been recently updated. For the price, the Chuckwagon is a good deal in an otherwise expensive location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enumclaw1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    257
    53
    10
    4
See reviews for
192
312
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

One of the best motel that we vist in our holiday! very nice people and room very clean!
We racomended it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elwoodvespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Excellent value. Quiet little town Very clean and comfortable. Friendly staff and helpful

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andruette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I booked based on TA reviews but since this was a local motel in the middle of nowhere I was a bit nervous. Turned out to be quite nice and we enjoyed our night. It is pretty basic motel but rooms were clean and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed one night in October 2011 and they could not have been more helpful or friendly. Our room on the ground floor [we were offered the choice of up or down] was large, well equipped, spotless and comfortable.
Rooms lay way back from the road so it is peaceful.
Free coffee provided in the deli at the front for breakfast.
If you are planning to go to Capitol Reef NP [and you really should] make this your night's stop, you will sleep well and be made welcome.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dick_pops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

After three years since our last stay, we returned here in October, 2011. The hotel was just as good as before!

While the pool was closed for the season, the hot tub was kept hot and clean. The rooms were also clean, large, and included a refrigerator, flat screen TV, and free WiFi (with a strong signal). We never had any trouble with noise in our room. The general store on-site sells breakfast (free coffee and hot chocolate for those staying at the hotel), snacks, lunches to go, and a selection of groceries and other miscellaneous items.

One of the things we like about the hotel is the location - right in town, near an art studio and a few small shops, with giant cottonwoods on both sides of Main Street. The trees were gold in color in late October. There is a nice ambiance to this tiny town.

Not too surprisingly, the hotel was filled to capacity during our stay, even in late October. The service at the front desk and from cleaning was pleasant. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The first floor is right at your car, but the second floor is surprisingly easy to access up central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Live4VacationTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espanola in AZ
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We arrived late at night and had no problem checking in. We were exhausted and quickly went to bed, but I did my standard room inspection I always do. The room was clean and comfortable. There were no noises from outside. I was a bit concerned about being in the room next to the office, thinking we'd hear noises early in the morning from all the early-birds. But we heard nothing...then again we seemed to be the early birds next day :) The staff was courteous, and told us where to go eat. Unfortunately my husband passed the breakfast place and wouldn't turn around...and I'm still mad at not getting the hearty breakfast I deserved.
The views from the hotel are fantastic. I love the large trees in front, it was breezy in the morning and I love the sound wind makes on trees. It was quiet and quaint, and so was the town. And so close to beautiful parks, Capitol Reef, Escalante. The whole area was amazing. I'd definitely come back.
The only drawback was the beds were a bit stiff. My back was feeling it in the morning...next time I'd ajust by sleeping with a pillow under my legs.
The price was amazing, amazing!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcbEspanolainAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torrey hotels
4.1 km away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.9 km away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.3 km away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
3.3 km away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
4.0 km away
The Rim Rock Inn
The Rim Rock Inn
#5 of 7 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store

Property: Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Address: 12 W Main St, Torrey, UT 84775-8050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Torrey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin`s Chuckwagon Lodge And General Store Hotel Torrey
Austins Chuckwagon Torrey
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge And General Store Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing