We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you might expect”
Review of Super 8 Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Carlsbad
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed 4 April 2017

The outside of the Super 8 was a little run down and the inside decor was getting dated. It was clean, though. The front desk attendant was friendly. Sadly, I didn't think through the timing of our trip and when I searched pool, I assumed indoor pool. They do have one, but it was empty at the end of March, duh. The free breakfast was adequate, mostly cereal, yogurt, danish, and a waffle maker.

Room Tip: You must specify non-smoking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear Jen B,

Thank you for sharing this heartfelt review of our hospitality and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness. We take all reports of lacking service and your suggestions for improvement, particularly those that you have raised. We greatly appreciate your time in bringing a number of important matters to light and we hope that you will find your expectations to be far surpassed during your next stay with us. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2017

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank KEITH K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 March 2017

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

It was a very nice place. Good breakfast. Very very clean rooms and relaxing rooms. It was quiet in our rooms. We never heard our neighbors. We will stay here the next time again. Prices was awesome. See you soon.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dyanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Dear Dyanne J,

Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words regarding the five star service and
accommodations that you received during your most recent stay with us! I am glad that you enjoyed the value and your compliments to our breakfast options. We're glad you had a great time with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

My family and I had to make a quick stay here because of the nasty winds in White's City. When we arrived the lady in the front was very very nice. The rooms were very clean. The only thing wrong was they ran out of milk for breakfast cereal.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank robledo_mickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Dear robledo_mickey,

Thank you for leaving your five star rating of our hotel. It's rewarding to learn that we exceeded your expectations with the accommodations, hospitality and cleanliness of our guest rooms. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the breakfast as this will help us to continue to improve upon the guest experience. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Good motel with a decent price. Only one room was vacant when I arrived and it was a smoking room. I had been to about 5 other motels in Carlsbad and none had vacancies, that's why I took this room.
I really expected a filthy room cause smokers tend to leave their room with an aroma that can cause second hand smoke cancer. But no, this room had a minimal smell of smoke. My only complaint was that they forgot to clean an ashtray in the room. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank H4530ASgabrielg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Dear H4530ASgabrielg,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding your most recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the value and that you found the accommodations and service to be satisfactory. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the ashtray, things like this are not missed by our staff and mistakes like this should never be overlooked. We look forward to seeing you again!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Old building which could use some cleaning and fixing.

Bed was clean and slept well.

Just not the same standards of clean that
most motels have. Need to sweep baseboard area before vacuuming as vacuum doesn't pick up that close.

Breakfast is for carb lovers.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Laufrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Dear Laufrain,

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. Your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for you and other guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
7.8 km away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
8.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
230 reviews
7.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 3 in Whites City
371 reviews
0.1 km away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Carlsbad

Address: 3817 National Parks Hwy, Route 62/180 South, Carlsbad, NM 88220-5952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $184 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Carlsbad 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Super Eight Carlsbad
Carlsbad Super Eight
Carlsbad Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing