We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for price”
Review of Super 8 Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Carlsbad
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Super 8 Carlsbad was all we needed for a stop on our way to Carlsbad Caverns. The continental breakfast was sufficient to get us on the road nourished for the visit to the Caverns about a half hour away. The room was clean and comfortable and was one of the least expensive stays on our two week road trip. There was plenty of ice and the motel was easy to find.

Room Tip: Views are all parking lot and nearby businesses. Entry is through lobby so one might want to be cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Donald B,

Thank you so much for your compliments to our breakfast options and we were able to meet your expectations of cleanliness in Super 8 Carlsbad hotel. I am happy to learn that you enjoyed the value as well and we can't wait to serve you again!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

I had to go and buy sanitizers to cover the mold smell. Even with the front desk knowing I worked nights, and the do not disturb on my door. Maids would knock and open my door every day. The pool was not functioning. Horrible expierence. To top it all off....I could not get a refund after all this....for a weeks stat!!!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank 96christopherv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

96christopherv,

Thank you so much for bringing this matter to our attention. I am so sorry to hear about the difficulties that you experienced with the unpleasant smelled in your room and for your refund request which didn't grant, The standard procedure in such cases is to confer with management regarding what can be done to resolve the error, as our staff is not authorized to make decisions which conflict with policy. I hope you will forgive this error and the service that did not meet your expectations and that you
will someday return to see how we have grown through guest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

A decent size room but the bed was too firm. Not impressed with the breakfast. Not much for variety.
Value of the room was reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank K7482PIdaveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear K7482PIdaveg,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and to explain your experience. I do apologize for the lack of family dining opportunities, but we're very pleased to hear your positive feedback regarding the good value for your money. I hope you'll return to enjoy a better experience with our bed and the breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank 991scarletl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 August 2017

This was your typical Super 8. It smelled more like mold and smoke than some other locations and the carpet could have been cleaner, but it was a good sized room with nice hot water and a decent breakfast available. Keep in mind, this location has 3 floors and no elevator. If this had been the last day of the vacation instead of the first then carrying up a cooler and other bags would have been an issue, but as it was it was just mildly annoying at the time.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank 162mandyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear 162mandyb,

Your review and rating of our hotel mean a lot to us, and we thank you for taking the time to share this experience. I am so sorry that you smelled of mold in your room. In the future please address immediately so that our staff will clean and disinfecting to restore the clean smell of our accommodations. We are working to take care of all of the issues that you addressed and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Crumbs on room floor, cigarette burns on blankets. Pool closed. Breakfast area real dirty, sign saying sorry for the inconvenience but no milk, and no danishes or muffins, just bread - we were glad to bail on breakfast and eat out. Not wheelchair assesible as 1st floor has steps down and breakfast upstairs on second floor with no elevator.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank 811brenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear 811brenta,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay in our hotel. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we want to assure you that the housekeeping issues which you have brought to our attention are being addressed with renewed efforts to improve upon our policies to ensure that each guest has a pleasant and comfortable experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Praful P, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlsbad
7.8 km away
U.S. Travelers Inn & Suites
8.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 22 in Carlsbad
230 reviews
7.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#1 of 3 in Whites City
371 reviews
0.1 km away
Candlewood Suites Carlsbad South Hotel
2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Carlsbad

Address: 3817 National Parks Hwy, Route 62/180 South, Carlsbad, NM 88220-5952
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price Range: $184 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Carlsbad 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Super Eight Carlsbad
Carlsbad Super Eight
Carlsbad Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing