We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So with the visit ”
Review of Statue of Liberty

Statue of Liberty
Ranked #16 of 1,141 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Statue of Liberty Enlightening the World was a gift of friendship from the people of France to the people of the United States and is a universal symbol of freedom and democracy. The Statue of Liberty was dedicated on October 28, 1886, designated as a National Monument in 1924 and restored for her centennial on July 4, 1986.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Pays to book in advance we did and had crown access which involves some small steps ....small space but worth it Booking in advance means you can skip the line .... well with it Take the audio tour Ellis island has lots of history

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"months in advance"
in 1,088 reviews
"crown tickets"
in 934 reviews
"battery park"
in 1,824 reviews
"new york"
in 3,470 reviews
"crown access"
in 381 reviews
"pedestal tickets"
in 381 reviews
"pedestal access"
in 319 reviews
"ferry ride"
in 955 reviews
"airport style security"
in 239 reviews
"audio tour"
in 817 reviews
"manhattan skyline"
in 538 reviews
"security check"
in 341 reviews
"bucket list"
in 337 reviews
"buy tickets"
in 300 reviews
"great pictures"
in 223 reviews
"staten island"
in 343 reviews
"boat"
in 3,358 reviews
Filter

2,418 - 2,422 of 39,253 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

This was the best part of our week in NYC. We had the perfect weather despite it being December (2016). We did the tour and learned things that we had never heard before about the statue. I couldn't believe it when they said that the Eiffel Tower was the brace inside of the Statue. Later that designer, Gustave Eiffel built the Eiffel Tower in France. Ellis Island had a great deal of information on my ancestors. You got to see photos and some videos as to what it was like many years ago coming to America. I could have spent all day there if we had more time. We went in December 2016

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Kildimo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Be a tourist. Go to the Statue of Liberty. I've seen a million pictures, but there really is something special about seeing it in person, going around it on the ferry, and walking the island. We didn't go to the base or the crown, and honestly, I'm not sure what else we would have gotten out of the experience by doing so. The real impact of the Statue is from the outside. Take the first ferry of the morning (8:30am) and catch it before the crowds arrive later in the morning. Worth the early wake-up.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

The monument should be seen as part of any visit to nyc. Didn’t manage to get tickets to go inside so I recommend you book well in advance. You also get a visit to Ellis Island, superbly documented and educational for anyone interested in the history of immigration and how this shaped America

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

The Liberty Island/Ellis Island tour is run by one tour company (Statue Cruises) out of Battery Park in Lower Manhattan. Getting to Battery Park is relatively easy via Subway. You can either take the 1 to South Ferry and get off at the end of the line or the 4, 5 or 6 and get off at Bowling Green. From there you will have a 5 min walk to the water and the boats. There are signs along the way to point you in the right direction.

There are several different tickets you can purchase but all include Liberty AND Ellis Island. There is a standard ticket where you can walk around the grounds. The second is grounds + pedestal and the third is grounds + pedestal + crown. We purchased the grounds + pedestal. If you want the crown, book early. They were booked until July and we were there in April. There is also a bypass the line option for each of these where you can pay more. When we went, there was no difference between these two lines for speed of access to Liberty. We did not purchase these.

If you haven’t already pre-purchased tickets, you will likely queue up to purchase them or pick them up at the will call window in Clinton Castle which is right by the water. Once purchased, you will then queue again to go through security. This line took us about 40 mins and the lines were not long so give yourself time.

Security is the standard airport style with several stations. Once through these, you will once again queue up to board the vessel. If you can get up to the top for the best view. After a short ride, you will land at Liberty Island.

There was construction on the island but it isn’t intrusive. Since we purchased the grounds + pedestal, we made our way to the entry tent. You must lock up your backpacks. The lockers only take $1 dollar bills and cost a minimum of $2 for 2 hours which should be plenty of time. Folks who didn’t have $1 bills had to queue up again to get change. Once the pack was secured, you go through security once again and then finally are free to roam about the pedestal.

Inside the pedestal is the museum and access to the pedestal deck. NOTE you can either take an elevator to the pedestal or do the 195 steps. We chose the former.

There isn’t a lot of room on the pedestal. You can barely fit two abreast as you walk around it and the entry/exit doors messed with the flow. The views are fantastic. We took the elevator down also but you can take the stairs if you like. Be prepared to wait for the elevator.

There are two gift shops and one café near the on/off load location. We didn’t visit either. Once you have completed your tour of Liberty you make your way back to the slip and queue up. The boat departs for Ellis which is a very short 10 min ride.

Once at Ellis, you can either stay on the vessel and go back to Battery Park or you can visit the Ellis museum. We didn’t spend a lot of time here but it is all indoors so if the weather turns, this isn’t a bad place to be. There is a gift shop and cafeteria like café where you can have lunch.

Queue up one last time for the return trip to Battery Park.

The entire trip is at least a half day so plan for weather, food etc. The grounds + pedestal was the way to go I think.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank evernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Statue of Liberty also viewed

 

Been to Statue of Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing