We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View - Not worth the money”

Empire State Building
Ranked #15 of 1,138 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world-famous Empire State Building offers unobstructed panoramic views of New York City and beyond from 8 a.m. until 2 a.m. daily. Our 86th and 102nd floor Observation Decks offer the two highest vantage points in New York City. Soaring 1,454 feet above Midtown Manhattan from base to antenna, the Empire State Building is the World's Most Famous Office Building. Named America's favorite building in a poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects, the Empire State Building is one of New York City's top tourist destinations. On a clear day, you can see up to five states from our Observation Decks - New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Guests can enjoy our outdoor viewing area on our open-air 86th floor Observatory, or our indoor climate-controlled viewing areas on the 86th and 102nd floors. We recently launched our new Multimedia Experience as well, which guides visitors through the extraordinary exhibits and breathtaking views with additional depth on the building's history in eight languages - including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean. The Empire State Building aims to provide entertainment for guests of all ages. Bringing children? Have their picture taken with King Kong himself on our 80th floor from Thursdays through Mondays (12 p.m. until 9 p.m.). Celebrating a first date or an anniversary? Enjoy romantic tunes from our saxophone player from 9 p.m. until midnight every Thursday through Saturday night. Tickets can be purchased through our website. Our celebrated tower lights are often illuminated to commemorate holidays, events and special causes. In the Fall of 2012, we upgraded our tower lighting system from floodlights to one-of-a-kind LED tower lights. The state-of-the-art system allows customized lighting capabilities from a palette of over 16 million colors! To watch some of our recent light shows, visit our YouTube page. Reigning as the world's tallest building from 1931 to 1970, the Empire State Building is known for its distinct Art Deco style. Construction of the renowned icon only took one year and 45 days, and logged more than 7 million man hours. This is the fastest construction to date for a project of its scale. Additionally, from classics like An Affair to Remember and Sleepless in Seattle to recent hits such as Oblivion and Elf, our place in pop culture has been solidified since our early days. In fact, over 200 movies and TV shows have featured the Empire State Building in them!
Reviewed April 5, 2018

Nice to visit such an iconic building, but was it worth the money. At 39.00 dollars I do not think it was. We visited the Statue of Liberty and for 9.00 Dollars !!!. We had a whole afternoon of visiting the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. This also included all the Ferry trips. Amazing value for money.

Date of experience: March 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank mmehmet2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empire_State_Bldg, Reviews Manager at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Hi mmehmet2018,
Thank you for your feedback. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed our views. Please note, general admission tickets are priced similar to other NY Observatories. Thank you for visiting.
-Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"observation deck"
in 3,578 reviews
"new york"
in 8,838 reviews
"express pass"
in 1,077 reviews
"vip tickets"
in 556 reviews
"empire state"
in 3,327 reviews
"top of the rock"
in 3,182 reviews
"views are amazing"
in 702 reviews
"bucket list"
in 499 reviews
"audio tour"
in 518 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 533 reviews
"statue of liberty"
in 638 reviews
"central park"
in 695 reviews
"floor"
in 10,800 reviews
"elevator"
in 4,485 reviews
"nyc"
in 6,892 reviews
"esb"
in 2,955 reviews
"security"
in 2,529 reviews
Filter

6,358 - 6,362 of 77,587 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2018

Really enjoyed the experience however I really don’t think after paying the initial fee you should have to pay more to go up to the higher floors- it’s expensive enough! However, the views are great- luckily we went up on our only sunny day in New York and I got some amazing photos on my phone. It was pretty crowded but you can always find a space to see and binoculars to use.

Date of experience: March 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank GF0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2018

What a beautiful building! We loved the art deco feel and sheer glamour of the place. It was a real treat to visit when so few people were there. Why so few? Because the fog was filthy! We could barely see a thing, apart from some tiny misted-over people and vehicles on the street below! The staff warned us very kindly before we entered and we could have swapped and gone a different day, but hell! It was our birthday and we went ahead as intended. We made light of it, told ourselves we would have got vertigo if we could see clearly, and enjoyed the fact (photographic evidence) that Ed Sheeran also went on a foggy day! All the staff were very helpful.

Date of experience: March 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank VDog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 5, 2018

We pre booked for my husband's birthday. We only landed that night so we were pretty tired but it was well worth it! It was spectacular. The view of everything out up was stunning. I recommend a night time visit for this attraction.

Date of experience: March 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank a_parry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2018

Amazing attraction & views. Good to know more about the actual construction of the building too. Only down side was the long queues, but they did move fairly quickly. Would advise to pre-book tickets.

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing