We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Insanity!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of FAO Schwarz - CLOSED

FAO Schwarz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This world-famous toy store is a great place for kids to browse, play - and of course, shop.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Insanity!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

You have to go, just for the experience. Extremely crowded but every toy you can imagine!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yesthem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    820
    424
    131
    35
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My daughter got to do the Big Piano upstairs and if you get there early on a Sunday morning, then the line isn't long. We looked around for hours....amazing at what all they have! Including dipping dots ice cream to eat while you look around!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

It is so much fun to see the soldiers as you are entering the store. If you are a Muppett's fan you can create your very own muppett to purchase. It is $99, but where else can you get one - no where! My boys loved it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kubbylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FAO candy section is a tourist trap!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I got totally ripped off.. I paid $66 for three Chinese-food-box sized selection of candy. There was no visible price when my kids filled up their boxes but I never expected to be such ridiculously expensive. Candy is not even good quality. same stuff you get in the mall but four times more expensive. big, big, disappointment.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JC-RoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had heard so much about the original flagship FAO in NYC, that the new smaller store is a little disappointing. They do still have the "Big" keyboard that the kids can play on, and they will even take their pic and sell it to you.

You might want to stop by if you are in the area, however don't make a special trip.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank M0mster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed FAO Schwarz also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing