We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum
from US$25.00
More Info
from US$380.00
More Info
New York CityPASS
1,190 Reviews
from US$132.00
More Info
from US$69.00
More Info
Reviews (5,147)
Filter reviews
5,147 results
Traveller rating
1,895
1,368
949
548
387
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,895
1,368
949
548
387
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern art frank lloyd wright permanent collection spiral walkway current exhibition amazing building new york van gogh works of art special exhibit great architecture art lovers audio guide central park kandinsky spiraling galleries
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 5,147 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

With admission, you can get free audio tour headsets - you just provide them with your ID (although note the sign said no passports). They have a kids tour of the building, which let's all admit is a showstopper, that my kids really enjoyed listening too. They listened to a few other "near me" topics on art on display not specifically for kids, but they didn't care for those as much. We easily spent an hour and half touring the building and the impressionist gallery.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank kturner008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I visited Guggenheim several times over the last 20 years. This time I was shocked that they do not display the great main collection anymore. There is just one room with few pieces from the main collection. The rest of the great building is occupied by an underwhelming ultramodern conceptual exhibition. This is big mistake - their main collection is brilliant, on par with MOMA, and should continue to be prominently displayed. Funny that the shop sells souvenirs from the main collection with Chagall, Picasso, Modigliani, but the pieces themselves are nowhere to be seen.
Now sadly do not recommend, until they put their main collection back on display.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Vezuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

What do I have to say? I'm always impressed by the wonderful building of Frank Lloyd Wright and it's collection. When you're lucky you will be there during an opening or evening when they have music.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 944hans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

Don't come here for the art, come for the architecture and pay homage to a great American architect. The exhibits tend to be avant garde and bizarre. Do not fixate on that. Appreciate the organic structure of the building, its elegance and soft lines. Take the elevator to the 6th floor, to top floor, and work your way slowly down. Look at the angles from the edges and in between staircases, look down and go to the side rooms. Look up at the very top towards the roof. You get a sense of even living in a space that is not only organic, but very modern, almost as if you are in a space shift and about to just cross paths with ensigns from Star Trek. When done, you will be glad you came for the homage to Frank Lloyd Wright--he was truly ahead of his time.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018

According to their website, kids receive a nice kit on the weekend with colored pencils, activities, etc. I wish that was available during the week. My children usually love art museums because they contain interactive activities and they enjoy art in general. I would not recommend this museum especially for children, or perhaps anyone for that matter. My kids made the best of things, but the current exhibit is bizarre and quite poor. Place a television over a refrigerator and call it art? The main exhibit looked like a Saturday Night Live spoof on snooty people's vision of contemporary art. The ongoing pieces contained some quality works by Picasso and Kandinsky, for example, but it was not worth the price of admission. The building is beautiful and well designed , but the artwork within does it shame. I do not care what critics say, but old horse tack, abandoned wood, and items from a junkyard do not make art. Trying to be shocking by titling pieces with obscenities is not creative, but simply annoying. This may be the most pretentious art museum in the country.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank VacationSleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews