We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
7
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2009

I was traveling on my own, visiting some businesses in Harlem, and found this place to be conveniently located and a good value. My room was on the 2nd floor, and had just recently been opened as a guest room and was very pretty. The bathroom was nice, with a warming floor, which was cool, but no shower - only a clawfoot tub (but no stopper for the tub!) with a shower attachment (with no curtain so it was hard to use as a shower). For breakfast Kurt ran out and got a fresh crossaint, and made some excellent and very strong coffee, served in a window seat overlooking the street and with the New York Times. Kurt was very gracious when I arrived, greeting me on the street and helping me carry my bags up the two flights. I cannot say enough about how kind the family was. I would stay here again, even if I was here as a tourist, because the subway is close and the PARKING IS FREE. All in all, this was a pleasant, good value stay for people visiting New York City and wanting something different and more personal.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmdc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumel, Owner. at Jumel Terrace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2009

A host is only as good as his guest and I've been blessed with good guests. Just to say, that big claw-foot tub has a stopper under the drain, closed by a toggle under the faucet. It's a rather antique arrangement in which one takes a bath, using the shower attachment to wash one's hair and rinse. Meant to be a luxury. I'll know to point this out next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2008

The host Kurt Thometz is a person who really loves to help and to give good advices to his guestes. He knows Harlem and the history of the civil rights movement as well as the history of the black culture very well. He and his family are very friendly and open to all kind of questions. The apartment is quiet, well furnished, fully equipped kitchen and a lovely backyard garden belongs to it as well.
Thank you, Kurt.
It was a wonderful time staying with you.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank klavierklavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2008

An exquisite, spacious and peaceful apartment located in a vibrant and historic area. The Thometz family is delightful, and we were made to feel incredibly welcome. The apartment is a stone's throw away from the subway - an easy and safe 15 minute trip from downtown Manhattan. It was wonderful to be able to retreat back there in the evenings. Kurt's enthusiasm for the city and for the Sugar Hill area is infectious, and he was incredibly kind in helping us plan our days and get the most from our trip. A big personal thank you to him for showing us around the Jumel Mansion! Highly recommend, and hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre cote cour tres calme
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews