We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Decent/Affordable Place for a NYC Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Ranked #266 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Decent/Affordable Place for a NYC Vacation!”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Pros of the Chelsea Savoy: Clean, good-sized rooms. Our room was very quiet (was not facing the street). Very affordable for NYC with no creepy bed bugs, mold, extra small rooms, etc. Has nice amenities such as a flat screen TV, hair dryer, ipod docking station, etc. In a good location, lots of subway stations close by. Some fun places to check out close by including a great place called Eataly and the flatiron district. 20 minute walk to Times Square. There is also coffee and bagels/rolls every morning. I would stay there again.

Cons of the Chelsea Savoy: Thin blankets, it was cold at night. When we asked for extra blankets, they brough extra comforters, not actual thermal blankets. Hit and miss staff. We had a flight leaving at 6:00 pm, I called and asked the front desk if they could arrange a car to pick us up. The person I talked to was very unhelpful as far as what time the car should arrive (he kept asking me what time we wanted to leave and I told him I didn't know, that our flight was at 6:00, asked him what did he suggest). He was also very unclear on the cost of the car. He told me one thing over the phone, when we got back to the hotel to wait for the car, we asked to confirm the price again and he called the company. They told him one price, when the car arrived, the driver said another price. The driver/front desk then seemed to get into an argument. It was very...odd. I guess I would think/hope that the front desk of a hotel would be more knowledgeable about things like airport transportation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside (that does not face the stree) -- it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNGal31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    338
    109
    27
    22
See reviews for
178
139
51
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We had four to the room (to keep New York hotel costs somewhat reasonable) and it held us well though I wouldn't call the room spacious. We had a room on the inside and away from the sound of traffic and had great sleep every night. They have complimentary coffee and pastries in the morning (I liked the chewy bagels). If that is you fancy a Starbucks one is just across the road and a grocery store is less than half a block away.

The best part of the hotel is it is relatively close to the three subway lines with one right at the hotels location so it is easy to get to all parts of Manhattan including Times Square to the north and the Financial District to the south.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Don’t expect this to be the best hotel you have ever stayed in, but for its location and price range, it will get you a good sleep and off on the road to the many sites of New York.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the inside, the view isn't too hot but the street sounds won't keep you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skibug_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed in this hotel twice, and it really was what I needed: close to a number of a subway lines, a nice confy bed and a spacious room (which is very uncommon in Manhattan). The staff were friendly and helpful all time, and let me storage my luggage after check out at on extra charge. The location was very good, with nice restaurants on walking distance.
I have to say that this is not a fancy or charming hotel, but it is very convenient, and with a very reasonable price compared to others of the same price. Besides, in Manhattan, you need location, some space, and a bed to crash...the city will provide the rest!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktycastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Chelsea Savoy from 27 October - 2 November. The best thing going for the hotel is the location: in the middle of Chelsea and close to a number of subway lines. Check-in and check-out were fine but the staff can generally be described as surly and dis-interested. The room itself was reasonably sized by NY standards (read: small but not tiny) and clean-ish. Wifi is available via an external provider but is expensive (ie. $35 for 5 days) and restrictive (one device only at any one time).

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We are a family of five so they offered to bring us a cot at no extra charge. We arrived early in the day from our cruise and the hotel also stored our luggage until check in time at no extra charge. The breakfast is bagels, Muffins and coffee. We were right around the corner from The Whole Food Market which gives you healthy snacks. The big screen TV was great although no children's channel. Overall it was perfect for our needs. Free Wifi would be added bonus but then price might go up. It was right next to a subway station and handy to all the major attractions we wanted to see. Walking distance to Madison Square Gardens for my husband and oldest son to catch the NYR game. It is handy to the Chelsea Market and Times Square/ Theatre district,close enough to Empire State Building. Highly recommend it for those that want clean, comfortable room, friendly service for great value. This leaves you with money to spend on the attractions, shows, shopping and food.

Room Tip: We had corner suite which was noiser for traffic but great for people watching and sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyofthreeboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Great location! Close walking distance to the Chelsea markets, meatpacking district, and times square. To the people complaining about noise... Why stay in NY if noise annoys you?? It really isn't bad. Skip the breakfast- way better places to eat in the city.. The front desk staff are not the most helpful, and I think the hotel should offer free wifi, that was a bit of a hassle. But other than that, definitely enjoyed the stay and would return for sure, can't beat the price.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyfeet12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This is not a fancy hotel, but the price is right. It is perfectly adequate if you do not plan to spend a lot of time in your room. The room is clean and comfortable, although a more comfortable chair would have been nice. The front desk was helpful and we found the location very nice as Chelsea has some very good restaurants nearby, and it is not that far from the major tourist attractions. The breakfast was disappointing, but there are great breakfast places very close by. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#302 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#437 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#154 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#430 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Savoy Hotel

Property: Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Address: 204 W 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2301
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea Savoy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotel in NYC that is located in the vibrant Chelsea neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chelsea Savoy
Chelsea Savoy New York City
Chelsea Savoy Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing