We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,689)
Filter reviews
1,689 results
Traveller rating
424
829
290
88
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
829
290
88
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upper west side manhattan diner subway station express train central park new york columbia university times square private bathroom fridge and microwave shared bath drug store budget hotel junior suite priced hotel few blocks coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 1,689 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2016

Hotel Newton shows a dated decor. Window unit A/C smelled of mold, but was tolerable for the hot summer days. Queen superior room was spacious, bathrooms was updated and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the location across from the 96th St. subway is ideal.

Room was equipped with microwave, refrig, coffee maker, desk, dresser. Very nice.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandryJoseph, Director of Sales at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2016

Thank you very much for your review of The Hotel Newton.
its always great to hear that the guest were greeted by friendly staff and that the rooms met your needs.
I do apologize if there was anything that was not 100% to your liking, and I do hope that you brought it to the attention of the friendly and helpful front desk. We take great pride in making sure that every guest is as comfortable as possible.
Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2016

Stayed here for 12 days, and will definitely come again. Our room was big (double
Queen size), and had a fridge and microwave. The room was cleand every day.
The location is good, right next to a metrostop with express lines that will take you to Times Square in 10 minutes. Central Park is a 10 minutes walk away.
Right next to the hotel you will find plenty of grocery stores and places to eat.
You're in the middle of New York so of course there will be some noise (sirens etc), but what can you expect? Bring earplugs if that bothers you.

Room tip: Our room had private bathroom, not sure if every room has one
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

The hotel staff was very nice to deal with. Our room was small but it did the trick. We only were there to sleep after a long day on our feet. I wasn't too sure about the "shared bathroom." However we used it and it was fine. Just have to remember to put the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door to avoid anyone coming in. Otherwise it was a fantastic place. Do have some advice if you know the reservation has two adults please provide two washcloths to use. Otherwise perfect. I will definitely recommend it to friends and family. Already planning to return next year.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2016

The room was small but it does what it's supposed to do. You're only there to sleep in this city. Bed was good. Shower as well. Worth your money. Only a few minutes walking to park central. Small lobby. Nice personell.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richard712016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2016

If this hotel was in any other city, it would be a non-event. But a NYC hotel for under $150 is a real find. My daughter lives close by and we have stayed here several times. It is clean, easy to deal with, pleasant. Don't be put off by the price and assume it is a dump!

Room tip: ask for a room NOT overlooking Broadway if you are bothered by street noise.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MiddleAgedFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews