We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,682)
Filter reviews
1,682 results
Traveller rating
422
825
289
88
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
422
825
289
88
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upper west side manhattan diner subway station express train central park new york columbia university times square private bathroom fridge and microwave shared bath drug store budget hotel junior suite priced hotel few blocks coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,682 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2018

We were in Room 902 and had a very enjoyable visit from the UK.
It was a de luxe room with 2 queen beds and a city view.
The room was big and had a coffee maker,fridge and a microwave.
As many have said it was old fashioned,which we rather liked,but was clean and tidy.
We had no problems with the lift despite what others have said and they are currently installing a second lift.
The staff were pleasant and helpful,although we were out most of the time.
One of the main benefits for us was the price. It was very reasonable and in a great location. As it was a residential area there were many shops bars,markets and restaurants in the area.
The subway was 2 minutes walk and the express train took you to Times Square in 10 minutes with only one stop.
It was exactly what we wanted and at a good price

Room Tip: We had room 902. It was nice and spacious with 2 queen beds.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nbnuty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaH2084, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for stay in the hotel newton, we appreciate all your feedback on the staff and on the cleanness of the hotel and the comments about the are and the bars by the hotel, we do hope you come back and stay with us next time your visiting the hotel newton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

I researched several hotels before this most recent trip to NYC. I have stayed all over Manhattan, but never on Upper West Side. Hotel staff was courteous at all times. We left our luggage there on day of arrival since we were a bit early. Did some sightseeing and came back to a clean and spacious (especially for New York) room with an ample en suite bathroom. Be sure to let them know if you want an en suite bathroom versus a shared bath, since the hotel does have both. The hotel is right next to a 1-2-3 train stop for great subway access. It is also between a 10 and 15 minute easy walk to the B and C trains adjacent to Central Park at 96th street stop. Restaurants are plentiful in the area. There is a The Halal Guys free standing restaurant a block away. We also ate at Manhattan Diner right next door to the hotel. Great food at good prices for both places. Tal Bagels right down the road is great for New York bagels if that is what you are looking for. Tom's Diner (of Seinfeld fame) is right up the road at 112-113 and Broadway. Columbia University and Grant's Tomb are not far away either. Great, great location. It was not a problem at all to take the 1 train downtown to all sights downtown. Room was clean, beds were comfortable. The A/C is a window unit and can be a bit loud, but earplugs took care of that. The room (at least our room) had a fridge and a microwave as well as a small coffee maker. There is a business center with two computers and a printer. We did not use it, but saw several people printing out their boarding passes, etc. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: October 2018
Thank MeGusta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaH2084, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for stay in the hotel newton, we appreciate all your feedback on the staff and on the cleanness of the hotel and the good commentes on the metro thank you for condisder for your stay we do hope you come back stay with us next time your visit the hotel newton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Made reservation for Junior Suite in August for October on Hotel Newton website. Upon arrival, higher price charged and no consideration of honoring the lower price printed on reservation. The additional price charge negated the AAA/Senior discount rate. Bug crawling on pillow of couch of Junior Suite and another down the private bathroom wall. When the front desk was told, an offer was made to change the sheets. We could not use the couch of the Junior Suite (reason for renting this room) because feared more bugs. Given the bugs, we asked for a credit to our bill since we were unable to fully use our more expensive room, but were refused, told flat out no. Air conditioner was so loud, the tv had to be blasted to be heard

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nello G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018

We stayed in a 'deluxe double' room in the Hotel Newton which was very spacious. There were two large beds and two of us had plenty room to move around/store our clothes etc. The bathroom wasn't modern but was clean and the shower over the bath had enough room with good water pressure. Plenty of towels and toiletries are provided if you want them. I did read in another post that the towels weren't changed often enough - if you want them changed more often a cleaner told us we should leave them on the floor.

A fridge, microwave and coffee maker are in the room - these were appreciated but personally we would have preferred a kettle so we could make tea easier, but that's just personal choice.

We were on the eighth floor and sometimes there would be a wait for the lift but this was to be expected in an old hotel that only has the one lift. There is also a flight of stairs if you feel energetic!

The hotel is located on upper Broadway so it is busy with traffic which starts to sound louder around 7am at weekends and 5am on weekdays. It is Manhattan though so no surprise there.

Generally the hotel is looking a bit 'dated' and could maybe do with upgrading but it has some really nice features and we were happy enough with the cleanliness.

The staff are great - reception staff were always happy to help with directions and the cleaning ladies were very friendly.

We asked for a safe, there wasn't one available but we were assured no-one could get into the bedrooms.

Our bags were stored for a few hours free of charge on the day we checked out.

Location is great if you want to be away from the areas that are chock-a-block with tourists; the upper westside has a more 'residential' feel about it, there is a subway literally outside the front door of the hotel with a line that goes straight down to midtown attractions, there are plenty of shops for food and drink, lots of eating places round about (some very expensive so look around), Central Park is a 10 minute walk away and the smaller Riverside park is 5 minutes to the west.

We were happy with the Hotel Newton and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FiFi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaH2084, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for stay in the hotel newton, we appreciate all your feedback on the hotel and the staff and on the cleanness of the hotel and Thank you for all your comments regarding the hotel room and about towels request the good comments on the metro and the tourist place near the hotel we do hope you come back stay with us next time you visiting New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018

I don't think I've ever written a two star review, but Hotel Newton earned it.

For $250 I stayed in an 8th floor room there last night. The room was especially small, smelled bad, and was generally run down, edging toward seedy. The bed was uncomfortable, which is a subjective thing of course, but the sides were far softer than the middle, so it might be time for a new mattress. The walls were thin, so I could hear my neighbors move about. On the positive side, the free wifi was good, and there was a coffee maker. But that's about it.

For that price, I was entitled to use the tiny bathroom at the end of the hall. It was run down but clean. It's a little thing, but there wasn't even a hook to hang your clothes on, which is especially necessary since you have to be dressed to go use it.

I got up early so I wouldn't have to wait for the shower, and then left to go sit in the waiting area at Penn Station rather than stay in that bedroom any longer than I had to. The Penn waiting room is spacious, has comfortable chairs, smells ok, and is just seconds from a variety of food vendors. Yes, Penn's bathrooms are also shared, but you're already dressed enough to go into them, so there's that. Overall, I'd give Penn station one more star than the Newton Hotel. Maybe two.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
4  Thank davidjoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews