We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Ranked #276 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Manhattan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We chose the hotel for its location in Midtown, Manhattan and stayed three nights in March. We were on the 34rd floor and had a city view, which was great. The room was not huge, but perfectly adequate, with comfortable king bed, ample storage and an a bathroom.
The complimentary breakfast was surprisingly good: more than just a basic roll and coffee, it included cereal, eggs, fruit, roll, coffee, fruit juice and yoghourt.
Reception and other staff very helpful.
A useful service was that you can store your luggage with them if your flight is in the evening - so that can give you an extra full day in the city.
No safe in the room; only at Reception.

Room Tip: We booked a city view, which was a good move
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Hi Peter! Thank you so much for writing such a kind review of our hotel. We hope your trip across the pond was smooth and that your stay was exceptional. If this was your first time staying with us, we hope you were encouraged to choose our hotel for any future accommodation needs. Thanks again and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    895
    335
    78
    57
See reviews for
677
570
98
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Brought my 74 year old Mother to NYC March 8-12. The hotel is a great location-quiet street, close to Times Square and Broadway, and steps from 8th Avenue where you can grab a cab easily! Hot breakfasts every morning-Oscar and the staff were tops! Room had a city view of the Hudson River, Empire State Building and the new buildings near the 9/11 memorial. Very clean and the staff was extremely helpful. The stay was wonderful! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Hi Angie! We’d like to thank you and your mother for choosing our hotel for your trip to NYC! We’re so happy to see you enjoyed your stay and that our location was convenient for your activities. We really appreciate you mentioning our staff, especially Oscar. It is extremely gratifying to see our hard work pay off with happy guests! We hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Coming back fro a great trip..I had ro point out this hotel because:

1. Location!
I was able to reach everything by feet (location near to Times square, subway/ train station/ bus station only few blocks away)!!!

2. Staff
Allways very friendly and helpfull! The biggest plus of this Hotel. I hope the bosses of them are recogniziing this!!

3. Value for money

With the overprized Hotels in New York in my mind. I thought that this Hotel (for the price of doubleroom = 150 Dollar but breakfast included) would be a lower service Hotel. But it was not like that! Ennough space, very good equiped (the bed was just great) and very clean rooms!


The only negative aspect was the really small breakfast room and the poor breakfast on its own. But at least it was included and I am not a breakfast fan ...just need coffee and a snack in the morning!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Athens E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you! We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We’re delighted to see you enjoyed your time here in NYC and that our staff and location exceeded your expectations. We definitely strive to offer the best service and value to all of our guests and we’re glad to see we succeed with your stay. We sincerely hope you get to stay with us again soon and wish you safe travels! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

A clean modern hotel located on a fairly quiet street on the edge of the Theatre District, about 10 mins.walk from Times Square. Our room was compact but the kings size bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Don't necessarily expect the "City View" to be of the downtown Manhattan skyline !!
Staff were very helpful and friendly and the service we had was more of the kind you would expect from a 4 + star hotel in UK.
The breakfast room became quite busy at peak times but the staff kept things moving and we seldom waited for more than a few minutes. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a room at a reasonable price,

Room Tip: The upper floors are quieter, we were on level 32.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Hi David! We’re delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Our entire staff works around the clock to ensure all of our guests receive the best service and value for their money and we hope that we exceeded your expectations. We really appreciate you recommending our hotel to other travelers and we hope to have you stay with us again soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Hotel is near Times Square so you can walk to everything! Staff is very friendly! Rooms are small but only 6 rooms per floor...so not alot of noise at all! Hot cookies when you arrive too! Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OREO-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
We enjoyed reading your review! Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We’re happy to see you enjoyed your stay and that our location was convenient for all of your activities. We’d love to have you stay with us again and we’ll make sure to save you some fresh cookies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel is superb. Free wifi in your room , free breakfast catered for everyone's needs. Hotel staff extremely friendly . The location is great ,turn left to ve on times square in approx 8/9 minutes. Turn right then left and you are on ninth avenue where all the delis, restaurants of hells kitchen are. Would defiantly return !!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We greatly appreciate you sharing your experience with us. It’s great to see that our location was convenient for your activities and that our accommodations were satisfactory to your needs. If this was your first stay with us, we hope you were encouraged to stay with us again for any future accommodation needs. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Just got back from a great break in New York - made all the better by staying in the Holiday Inn Express - Times Square. Explained that it was a special birthday treat for my husband and there was balloons in the bedroom on arrival. The hotel staff are all friendly and informative. the rooms are very comfortable and clean and the breakfast was really lovely. We were on the 30th floor and had a great view of the city including the Empire State Building and the river. Very central for all amenities.

Would definately recommend this hotel and are already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: High floors are worth the wait for the lift (although that was not a problem for us)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillyjeweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Hello! We all would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review of our hotel! We are so happy to see you enjoyed your time in NYC and that we were able to contribute to your enjoyment. We sincerely hope that we exceeded you expectations and that you will consider staying with us for any future accommodation needs. Thanks again and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#189 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#213 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#235 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,458 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#206 Business Hotel in New York City
#233 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing