We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see!”

Museum of the City of New York
Ranked #142 of 1,196 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the top of Museum Mile on Fifth Avenue, the Museum of the City of New York is the place to explore the city’s past, celebrate its present, and imagine its future. Engaging exhibitions educate New Yorkers and visitors from around the world about the city’s distinctive character, especially its heritage of diversity, opportunity, and perpetual transformation. The Museum’s three first-floor galleries are devoted to New York at Its Core, a groundbreaking, ongoing exhibition where visitors discover 400 years of New York City history and consider the city’s future in the Future City Lab, a technologically innovative and interactive gallery. Special exhibitions focus on a wide range of city-specific issues and events. Finally, don’t’ miss Timescapes, the Museum’s award-winning short documentary narrated by Stanley Tucci that explores how New York City grew from a settlement of a few hundred Europeans, Africans, and Native Americans into the metropolis we know today.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We got a free pass to visit this museum with our Greyline bus ticket and it ended up being one of the highlights of the trip! The layout and design of the museum is awesome with original displays and modern features. The information provided really helped to understand the history of NYC. I would highly recommend!
*The staff are really friendly!

1  Thank KeriannG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith D, Public Relations Manager at Museum of the City of New York, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

Thank you for the warm words. We love to hear about the friendly staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gilded age"
in 45 reviews
"city's history"
in 30 reviews
"minute film"
in 25 reviews
"new york"
in 283 reviews
"doll house"
in 11 reviews
"multimedia presentation"
in 9 reviews
"central park"
in 70 reviews
"excellent exhibits"
in 9 reviews
"changing exhibits"
in 11 reviews
"conservatory garden"
in 9 reviews
"upper east side"
in 17 reviews
"fifth avenue"
in 22 reviews
"suggested donation"
in 10 reviews
"on display"
in 19 reviews
"permanent collection"
in 9 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 17 reviews
"rainy day"
in 8 reviews
Filter

33 - 37 of 886 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I enjoyed our visit here very much because it gave me a general idea of the evolution of NYC through the ages. To my opinion it should be in the checklist for every visitor.

1  Thank Just_research
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith D, Public Relations Manager at Museum of the City of New York, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and agree that the museum should be on all the checklists. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

I had a wonderful experience here. I got inexpensive tickets from Goldstar. The museum tells the history of NYC from its beginning to the present day. There is a film that is about 30 min. on the lower level. It was very interesting and easy to watch. On the main floor there are rooms that go through the history in different respects. I honestly could have stayed here all day looking at the photos of then and now and reading the experiences. It's a lot to take in. The top floors have some misc exhibits: fashion, photography, etc. While the main level was my favorite part, these also were enjoyable and worth a visit.
I spent about 3.5 hours here, but could have easily stayed longer if I hadn't been tired of standing.

1  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith D, Public Relations Manager at Museum of the City of New York, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

We are glad you were able to spend your time with us. We would love to have you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Great, small but focused exhibits on current serious and pop culture events. All relate the New York City and the current world situation.

Easy museum to navigate, beautiful space. After your visit take a walk through Central Park!

Thank DNB1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith D, Public Relations Manager at Museum of the City of New York, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

We love when residents visit! Thank you for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

This phenomenal and well curated exhibit will only be at this lovely museum until April 1st. It displays women’s clothing from the 1960’s through 1973. Also includes sketches, jewelry, and fabulous boots from those years. As good as any fashion exhibit at The Metropolitan Museum of Art! The perfect amount of garments are shown. The exhibit is not too long or drawn out. Have some clothing that was owned by Jacqueline Kennedy and other famous fashionable women of yesteryear. If you love women’s fashion, do not miss this exhibit!
The museum is lovely with a very attractive area near the entrance on the main floor. We also saw a very interesting exhibit about the history of New York City. It was very comprehensive. The gift shop is so nice. Interesting items reminiscent of the fashion exhibit are sold there. I bought adorable magnets of some of the fashions shown at the exhibit.

Thank 281valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meredith D, Public Relations Manager at Museum of the City of New York, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

Mod New York was one of our favorites! Come back again to check out our new exhibitions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of the City of New York also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the City of New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing