We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GV Habitue - our second stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenwich Village Habitue
Ranked #16 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Thanks to Matthew and Kevin for offering such nice accomodations in New York City.

You will feel like a native New Yorker in this great apartment in the West Village.

The one-bedroom/one bathroom property is located on a lovely quiet street in the city. A quick walk to the nearby 14th street subway station that offers an easy ride to Laguardia and Kennedy airports. The Train to Newark airport is also an easy trip.

The close walk to the subway also offers easy transport throughogut the city.

The West Village is the best neighborhood for a NYC visit. The lovely cobblestone streets, great restaurants and bars provide a neighborhood feel for your stay. The new High Line park is located two blocks from the apartment - and you can easily visit this very popular park befoe the tourists invade! We had the space to ourselves on an early Saturday morning walk.

Tha apartment provides a great place to rest after an exciting day touring the city. A comfortable living & dining area, area along with good sleeping and bath provide a great home base for your stay. Matthew and Kevin are friendly hosts - and now Mr. Ray is also available for great city recommendations. Thanks to Ray, we experienced Eataly - what a food palace!

This was our second visit to GV Habitue and we will surely return! Thanks Kevin and Matthew - and Ray!

Gail

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the back apartment which provided a quiet retreat. I believe a front room, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at apartment 2 for a weeks holiday in New York. Ideally situated near the metro, plenty of taxis, loads of restaurants and bars close by and a corner shop at the end of the road.
The apartment is in a lovely old brownstone building, the street looks like a film set. The owners were very accommodating when our flights were delayed and we turned up over six hours late. The whole place is decorated with antiques and the building is full of original features.It was like staying in someone's home.
An added and unexpected bonus is the lovely Ray who came in most days and changed the towels and tidied up. Ray was also extremely knowledgeable about the area and places to see and do.
This is definitely the place to stay rather than a hotel, like a home from home.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the road and it was very quiet even during the day. We didn't have a distur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathryn_brennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights in this lovely apartment. Kevin met us upon arrival and was very helpful in telling us about the area. The apartment is right in the West Village in a cool and funky area. Many restaurants nearby, not to mention the Highline and Hudson River. We were happy to walk up town to Times Square (3.5km) and the same to the financial district and WTC (lower manhattan). This cute apartment made our first trio to NYC even more amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

My wife and I spent two weeks at this apartment. We had a great stay, and our character-filled apartment was delightful: very spacious and comfortable, filled with antiques and quaint nicknacks, and well maintained and frequently cleaned. Our hosts provided excellent information prior to our arrival, and were very helpful during our stay. It is well located, with many cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance: Chelsea, the West Village and Greenwich Village itself have so much to offer. The subway is close as well. We stayed on the top floor in apartment 6 - certainly the stairs up are steep but also fun. We would gladly return on a future visit to wonderful New York!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 56gc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We had a great time at this apartment and enjoyed every minute of our 9 nights stay!

Pros:

- Location: best location, felt very safe and there was a lot to see in a walking distance.
Only a few minutes from the subway.
we enjoyed walking to China town (great food) and Blicker street.

- Size: the apartment was very spacious and uniquely decorated.

- Cleanliness: very clean and tidy - was cleaned regularly during our stay.

- Info: Good tips from the owners and a lot of maps and magazines in the apartment.

- Comfort: Nice small kitchen for breakfast, a closet to hang all your clothes, comfortable bad and sofa.

Cons:

- None :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank _K_and_J_advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Thanks to Kevin & Matthew. We just loved our experience of New York. Would thoroughly recommend staying at Habitué and in the West Village area. The accom is quaint and so New York. Close to so many places to eat, have coffee and enjoy a night out. The subway is very close but walking is a great option also so many new things to see along the way. We stayed in one of the back apartments over looking the lovely courtyard and other accom but very quiet.
Enjoynifnyoundecide to stay and take it all in, 12 days wasn't long enough for us
Brisbane , Australia couple

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Letz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed for 15 nights recently and highly recommend it to anyone! We had apartment 1 at the back - perfect!

The West Village is the best area to stay in NYC and I don't think you can beat GV Habitué.

Lovely owners, friendly, trusting and happy to share advice.

We went to many local restaurants - Kava great for coffee, Corsino just a minute away is delicious! The famous Spotted Pig close by as well as access to The Highline - be sure to have a drink at the top of The Standard and watch the sunset.

Apartment had everything we needed, very comfortable bed and room to put all our clothes away.

Loved it!! Thank you Matt & Kevin

Room Tip: We had no issues with stairs but if this would be a problem ask for apartment on first level (1 or 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#140 of 471 in New York City
1,500 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#307 of 471 in New York City
1,438 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#64 of 471 in New York City
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#185 of 471 in New York City
5,664 reviews
West Village
Incentra Village Hotel
Incentra Village Hotel
#15 of 78 in New York City
156 reviews
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#10 of 78 in New York City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Village Habitue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Village Habitue

Address: 80 Horatio St, The West Village, New York City, NY 10014-1526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenwich Village Habitue 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Completely private apartments in 1830's Federal style brownstone for rent. Owner occupied, self-contained, fully appointed apartments - single or double occupancy ONLY - 5 night minimum stay. Located in West Greenwich Village / Meatpacking District. Close to subways, Highline Park, brand new Whitney Museum of American Art, Hudson River Park, great restaurants, shopping and all attractions. Quiet, charming building, beautiful street and great West Village neighborhood. Air conditioning, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, tea kettle,toaster, iron/board. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Greenwich Village Habitue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing