We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location close to subways/restaurants”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenwich Village Habitue
Ranked #16 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 November 2015

We booked 5 nights in November based on trip advisor reviews and we were not
disappointed. Kevin, one of the owners, warmly welcomed us upon arrival and gave
us helpful information concerning the neighborhood. Our apartment with full kitchen in in a well maintained brownstone (1830's I believe) was located in a residential neighborhood near stores, restaurants, and subway stations. Ray and
Brenda, who help with maintenance, were also most accommodating.

Room Tip: No elevator in 3 story brownstone. Select apartment on lower level if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bsb120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

I stayed here in early October & could not have asked for a better location- at the cusp of the West Village & Meatpacking District (1 minute walk from the new Whitney museum). Everything you need is right at the doorstop- especially if you love eating, drinking, shopping and aimlessly wandering about. The apartments are spacious, clean, homely & extremely good value for money. The perfect choice if you want to feel like a local.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank DKap72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 7 night at the start of November 2015. We were welcomed by Kevin and Matt upon arrival and told about the interesting sights to visit around the neighbourhood. The apartment was lovely and clean and Ray came to tidy it up every other day. We could not have found a better place to stay in New York! The location is amazing, the hosts are very warm, welcoming and so helpful! We highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the city. You will love it there! Thank you Kevin and Matt for welcoming us into your home :-) we will be back!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank AleeTD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

i stayed between the 11th-16th October this year. It is literally 2 minutes walk from the Whitney Museum and the southern entrance to the High Line.Totally agree with all the other positive reviews. Kevin was very nice to deal with and everything went like clockwork.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Bilal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

My husband and I stayed at The Greenwich Village Habitue for 6 nights in late September/early October and we would definitely recommend it.

The location is fantastic in Greenwich Village but close to the Meatpacking district with a large selection of restaurants nearby. We didn’t intend to eat in the area every night, but it was so good and convenient. The apartment is a minute or two from the start of the highline (a beautiful walk) and close to the subway station (from which you can get a direct subway to the JFK Skytrain, so very convenient).

We stayed in room number one which is a first floor apartment with a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom (with a great shower) and a living room with a sleeping alcove and a dining alcove. The apartment was cleaned every other day and new towels provided (which was great).

We didn’t see Matt, but Kevin was very friendly and informative. He was there when we needed him but we didn’t feel crowded. We also had a late departure and had no problem leaving our cases to pickup later.

Next time we visit New York; this will be top of the list!!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We stayed between the 11th-16th October this year. What a marvellous find! So individual and spacious, It's the equivalent of a small hotel suite (but with much better taste) Hosts Matt and Kevin were very helpful and friendly, a real home from home.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borderlass2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015

We wanted to stay in a local neighbourhood, at a reasonable price, in an apartment rather than hotel room and with easy access to other areas of Manhattan. Greenwich Village Habitue was perfect for this. It is literally 2 minutes walk from the Whitney Museum and the southern entrance to the High Line. In this immediate area is the Meatpacking District, the latest "must be" area. In all directions nearby there is a huge range of restaurants. The apartment owners Kevin and Matt were most welcoming. Ray, who looks after the apartment on a day to day basis is a font of knowledge, and perhaps a NYC living treasure in his own right. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dace49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#140 of 471 in New York City
1,500 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#312 of 471 in New York City
1,439 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#61 of 471 in New York City
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#187 of 471 in New York City
5,665 reviews
West Village
Incentra Village Hotel
Incentra Village Hotel
#15 of 78 in New York City
156 reviews
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#8 of 78 in New York City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Village Habitue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Village Habitue

Address: 80 Horatio St, The West Village, New York City, NY 10014-1526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenwich Village Habitue 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Completely private apartments in 1830's Federal style brownstone for rent. Owner occupied, self-contained, fully appointed apartments - single or double occupancy ONLY - 5 night minimum stay. Located in West Greenwich Village / Meatpacking District. Close to subways, Highline Park, brand new Whitney Museum of American Art, Hudson River Park, great restaurants, shopping and all attractions. Quiet, charming building, beautiful street and great West Village neighborhood. Air conditioning, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, tea kettle,toaster, iron/board. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Greenwich Village Habitue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing