We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best option available to stay in Manhattan, period.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenwich Village Habitue
Ranked #16 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2010

We spent 14 days in the Apt.1 and without any doubt we think that the GV Habitué is the best option available to stay in Manhattan, for many reasons.
The Apt is amazing, very comfortable, super quiet. You can feel the sensation of the real living in the City when you back home, sensation that you can't feel in an faceless hotel. The Apt. is fully equipped with TV Set, HiFi, all the kitchenware and you've a drawer full of every kind of NYC maps and guides.
Matt & Kevin are probably two of the most kind persons I've ever met, very helpful but also very discreet. They helped us a lot to solve the Vulcano mess that delayed our departure 6 days later. They supported us for the new flight reservation and allowed us to stay 6 days more without problems, transforming a possible nightmare in 6 more days of wonderful stay in the best city in the world.
Few words about the position: Horatio is just in the middle between the super fashion nightlife of the Meatpacking District, full of the most trendy nightclubs and restaurants and the friendly and quiet Greenwich Village, with many small live club and lovely restaurants, shops and pubs. Even so it's a small street without traffic, very quiet during the day and also the night. A 24H Deli is just around the corner if you need food to eat home. Last but not least the nearest subway station (just few blocks) is the 14St/8Av. From there you can link up every lines (via Union Square) and go everywhere in Manhattan and also in Brooklyn (with the L line you can go to Williamsburg in just few stops).
I hope to be helpful, for sure I will suggest GV Habitué to friends that ask me advice for accommodation in NYC!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bedlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2010

This was our third trip to New York. On each occasion we have tried to stay here, based on the reviews on the website, but they were booked out on the first two tries. However, on the third attempt, we were finally able to book in. We always have chosen B and B style accommodation as we want to have the experience of living in New York - even if only for a week or so - rather than staying in a hotel. Staying here more than lived up to our expectations. This was in part due to the fantastic location and the quirky but comfy nature of the accommodation - which was spotlessly maintained during our stay - but mainly due to the friendliness of the hosts, Matt and Kevin.
From the moment we booked, we were given tips on where to go and what to do around the area, as well as general information about New York. When we were there, there were numerous articles in the apartment on various topics, relating to attractions, restaurants, shopping, or the million other things you can do in New York. While we didn't see our hosts very often, when we did, they were always interested in what we had been up to during the day and were able to offer more useful suggestions.
The apartments (there seems to be a few in the building) are located in a quiet street but just around the corner from the nightlife of the Meatpacking district. Turn the corner the other way and you are a few minutes walk from the heart of the village. The subway is about a 5-10 minute walk. There are numerous restaurants and bars - far too many to try out in one trip. The apartments are very spacious for New York with a separate area for the bed, a dining alcove and a lounge area as well as a kitchenette and a small but modern bathroom
One of the highlights in the area is the High Line park which is just around the corner from the apartments. It is quite a wonderful walk and you get to see New York from a completely different perspective. It is also great for just lazing around if you need to take a break from the frenetic pace which New York generally generates in its visitors.
The only issue about staying in the apartment is if you have a mobility problem, as the stairs are steep and there is no lift. However, if that isn't a concern, I have no hesitation in recommending these apartments. In fact, I already have, and my friend found her experience well worth it as well.
I am now well under way in organising another trip back and am thrilled that Matt and Kevin have a vacancy when I will be visiting. I can't wait.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We (two couples) stayed here for almost 2 weeks. It is in a convenient, yet quiet, location close to transport, restaurants and nightlife. Kevin and Mathew are excellent hosts and went out of their way to make us welcome and offer helpful advice.
The accommodation is exactly as described and comes well stocked with tea coffee etc. It was like a second home. We thoroughly recommend GV Habitue.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbornst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We (two couples) stayed here in November for 8 nights as part of birthday in NY trip from Western Australia.
I can not say enough about the experience. We were greeted by Kevin who was hospitable and welcoming. The apartment was exactly as descibed and the street was lovely. I felt as if we lived there. Ray made sure our aprtment was clean and comfortable.
The location is excellent, sorrounded by restaurants and bars with the Chelsea Food Market just a block or so away, we were sopiled for choice. We used the subway everyday which is within walking distance.
A must for us was a walk up Bleeker Street which was really interesting.
Honestly i can't say enough good things about our stay at 'the habitue'. It was the highlight of our trip and I have recommended it as the only place to stay in NY. I am planning to return in a year and can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liana59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

This little place is all that people have said and more. I cant praise it enough. We spent 18 days there and couldn't have been more comfortable. We would go back there like a shot.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuoBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Just back from our second stay at the GVH and nothing had changed. Still the same fabulous art deco rooms, ultra clean (thanks to lovely Ray) and great value. Matthew & Kevin make you feel very welcome and it instantly becomes your home from home. You're only one street away from the Meatpacking District. We went to Pastis for breakfast twice - the menu lasts till 12 and the pancakes were the lightest we found. I have no doubt that we'll be back again. Go there - you'll love it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We've just come back from a week's stay at GVH and it was simply perfect. The apartment is spacious, comfortable and spotless and beautifully furnished. The location was also perfect - you can easily get up to Midtown Manhattan from the Subway which is a few minutes' walk away and in the local vicinity are plenty of great bars and restaurants. Matt and Kevin were so helpful with their local knowledge and Ray looked after us so well. I coudln't recommned GVH highly enough. Thank you all! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smef28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#140 of 471 in New York City
1,503 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#65 of 471 in New York City
2,178 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#311 of 471 in New York City
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 471 in New York City
1,456 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#187 of 471 in New York City
5,669 reviews
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#10 of 78 in New York City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Village Habitue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Village Habitue

Address: 80 Horatio St, The West Village, New York City, NY 10014-1526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenwich Village Habitue 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Completely private apartments in 1830's Federal style brownstone for rent. Owner occupied, self-contained, fully appointed apartments - single or double occupancy ONLY - 5 night minimum stay. Located in West Greenwich Village / Meatpacking District. Close to subways, Highline Park, brand new Whitney Museum of American Art, Hudson River Park, great restaurants, shopping and all attractions. Quiet, charming building, beautiful street and great West Village neighborhood. Air conditioning, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, tea kettle,toaster, iron/board. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a Greenwich Village Habitue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing