We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The bus tour is so much tasty fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scott's Pizza Tours

Scott's Pizza Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
Pizza Walking Tour of Manhattan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Scott's Pizza Tours runs public and private tours of New York's vast pizza landscape by bus and on foot. Every tour stops at multiple pizzerias, each highlighting a different phase in the evolution of the dish from its humble beginnings as a street snack to its current position as New Yorkers' food of choice. Guests get a slice at each stop and are guided through the kitchens and back rooms of the city's most significant pizzerias. AS SEEN ON: CBS Sunday Morning, Travel Channel, Food Network, Cooking Channel, Discovery Channel, and MORE!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The bus tour is so much tasty fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Scott's bus tour was a lot of fun and a good way to see a bit of daily life in New York. The tour group rode in a school bus (with a professional driver) to four pizza parlors - two in Manhattan and two in The Bronx (the locations change with each tour). We had four very different slices in four very different establishments, and got to tour the ovens as well.
Scott loves pizza, he loves New York, and he knows his history. You could tell by his enthusiasm that he was as into the tour as the rest of us.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank swizzleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    28
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“HIGHLY Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Super fun. Scott is an energetic and enthusiastic encyclopedia of pizza knowledge, without being the least bit annoying like some gung-ho tour guides can be. I'm not a "tour person", but this one is worth the time and the money.

Went with two kids, 9 and 12. We visited two pizzerias in Manhattan and 2 in Brooklyn. Don't think twice about doing this if you like pizza (or even if you don't). It's GREAT.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinyasagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baileypie79
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“I must do if you love pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Being a native New Yorker and lover of pizza I thought this be a fun activity to do for my birthday. Scott the tour guide was so enthusiastic about pizza that it made for a memorable tour. You stop at 3 different pizza joints all different from one another based on the size of the slice and quality of pizza. You also stop at a restaurant supply shop that sells mainly items to pizza places in the country. The tour is about 3 hours and does require a lot of walking so if you dont like walking this isnt the tour for you..its about 1.5 miles. Anyhow, I would do the tour again and I would recommend it to my friends and family.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank baileypie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We recently visited NYC with our two kids, ages 8 and 11. We went on Scott's Crosstown Pizza tour, walking from Lombardi's near Little Italy, to John's in Greenwich Village, visiting The Pizza Box on the way. The tour was fantastic, so much fun, highly recommended for all ages. You have a slice at each place and Scott provides a notebook so you can write down your thoughts - good and bad (not much bad in my experience). Scott knows so much about pizza, it's history in both Italy, NYC and the U.S. He is patient with kids allowing them to ask questions and be a part of the group. His personality is infectious. This is wonderful way to spend a few hours in NYC. Highly recommended. My kids loved it and are still talking about it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JennyMod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Scott makes this tour fun and informative! He knows so much about pizza and the history of it as well as the buildings and businesses the tour visits. It begins at Lombardi's, the first Pizzeria and visits 3 others. The tour is great because its different everytime. He visits different places, some are bus tours some are walking tours. Well worth the money!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sheriberi511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scott's Pizza Tours also viewed

 

Been to Scott's Pizza Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing