We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Preferred Property in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Ranked #74 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Preferred Property in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Whenever possible, I stay at the Hilton Garden Inn on 35th Street for the following reasons:
1) Conveniently located - just a few feet from the subway, a block from Macy's and an easy walk from Penn Station. 2) Great staff - always courteous at the front desk and they will go out of their way to be helpful; I left a theater ticket with the front desk for a colleague who was staying at the 48th Street HGI this week - no hassles at all; 3) Breakfast cooked to order. The rooms are pleasant and I always appreciate having a refrigerator - one of the best perks in a Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,934
    1,592
    311
    66
    48
See reviews for
1,313
1,538
334
883
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and 2 year old thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for a short weekend trip. The room and common area was very clean and the staff was pleasant and very helpful. The location is terrific for those looking for the combonation b/t value/location/quality. We will certainly be staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 299DanielP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
189 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in January. January must be a discounted month because our rate was about $159 a night. The only negative was the room was small, just big enough for 2 double beds, night stand, tv, etc. My daughter said it reminded her of hotel rooms in Ireland and England because of the size. That was the only potential negative, but for $159 night we really didn't find it a negative.

Pluses:
--room was SUPER clean. Everything from the bathroom to the bedding was super clean.
--sheets were amazing soft. Rarely do I encounter soft, new sheets in a hotel, but these were up to standards I've only found at places like the 4 Seasons.
--view of Empire State Building was lovely. We would open our curtains every day and have a lovely view, esp. when it snowed heavily one day
--safe: having to use your room key for the elevator made it feel very secure from the outside
--minisnack bar in lobby: starving very late one night and bought frozen mini bagels and THERE IS a MICROWAVE in the room so we heated it up and ate
--LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION : there was one subway entry literally 10 footsteps from the hotel; there was another main line 2 blocks away; we went everywhere by subway
Also, around the corner were several delis where we could grab a bite. We like one so much we ate breakfast there every morning. It is a chain, but we all remarked how many choices there were and the quality of the food was high. There is seating upstairs as well as down so we always got a seat. Service there was excellent too, very personable. Wish I could remember the name, but exit hotel, turn right, at the corner turn right and it's the first deli you encounter.
ALSO we had to take the train to New Jersey one day and Washington DC upon check out. The train station is 2 blocks away. Also near is Macy's and adjoining shops and banks
--For a New York hotel room it was fairly quiet. Yes, I could hear some garbage trucks early in the morning, but I very, very, very picky about noise at hotels and this past my test.
We are going to New York again in March and plan to stay here again although i see rates in March are $269 a night, darn!

Room Tip: We paid a bit more to have a room with a partial view. Not sure if this is essential, but we did hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethStreetMoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babylon, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is my third stay at this hotel and am always pleased. Clean rooms, perfect location, and helpful staff. Even though there was a problem with my reservation, it was resolved quickly and easily. This is where I always stay in Manhattan.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This hotel is terrific. Close to everything, clean, quiet and well priced. Thomas, the Concierge is fantastic. He's friendly and so very knowledgeable. Each day he sent us on our way with expert "local" advice and a smile. I highly recommend this property. I have now stayed here 6 times and I will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stennie1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

The one risky thing about booking a room is that you never know just what the view will be like. The room we stayed in was on the 31st, tucked away in a cute little corner. From the room you can see the city with all the skyscrapers, and the lights of Times Square. The location is also perfect. You have Macys right across the street and Times Square just a few blocks away. The rates are also good, as well.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough,UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed here for only one night on the way to my son`s wedding in New Jersey!The hotel was a short walk from NY Penn station,around the corner from Empire State building & Macey`s.There was plenty of restaurants & Bars within walking distance or there is a metro station next to the hotel if you want to go further afield!The room was great & had everything you need for a comfortable stay,the bed was so comfortable & the walk in shower was nice & powerful.Would definitely stay here again & recommend this hotel for its great location.

Room Tip: If you want a view of Empire State building you need to ask for a city view on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NessPeterborough_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#84 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing