We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location and great service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Ranked #74 of 467 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing location and great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We really liked staying at this hotel. Check in was fast and easy. During our stay all the staff were attentive and always happy!

Our room ( allergy-friendly Pure) was very clean, good size ( by Manhattan standards) and the bed was comfortable. Since this is a small hotel try your best to stay as far away as possible from the elevator. The hallway is very narrow, and you literally stand in front of other rooms door while waiting for the elevator. We stayed at room 1007 and we didn't have this problem.

The breakfast was very good, keeping in mind that you are at a Garden inn and not a 5* property . They had an egg station, waffles, fruits, yogurt, cereal, toast . The staff serving breakfast were super friendly and helpful. I wish I could remember the name of the staff that worked at the egg station , he always remembered how we liked our eggs and was very polite.

The hotel has a good size gym;

The location is amazing, you walk 1 minute (literally) and you are in the subway. Great after a day of shopping you can always go back and drop your bags at the hotel, very convenient.
There are many options for dinning around the hotel.

We will probably stay here next time we are in NYC!

Room Tip: Stay as far away as possible from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonderfulworld2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,899
    1,563
    308
    66
    48
See reviews for
1,280
1,523
330
876
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Islip, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Rooms were average size for NYC budget hotels. Enough room to move around but maneuvering chairs was a bit difficult.

Bed was a select-comfort type of system and was comfy. Shower and bath was brand new and the shower head was tremendous. Great pressure and coverage. All glass walled shower was roomy enough. No tub.

Good staff and no other complaints.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

When we arrived here the location and hotel was very unassuming, after having spent 4 nights earlier in the week in Times Sq itself. But once we got to our rooms all that changed.
This place has the feel of a smell hotel. Check-in was painless - we asked for a nice view and we got more than we bargained for. A room on the 31st floor overlooking Empire State and Macy's. The hotel has been refurbished and everything is spotless. The microwave came in handy when we ate in. Just a few blocks south of Times Sq but still a buzzing part of the city. Across the road from Macy's(shop till you drop) and countless other stores. Herald Sq was a lovely surprise(little park with tables to watch people go by, the bell tolled every hour).
Peter the consierge was amazing. Helped with places to eat and things to do.
The room was a little cramped but not a problem as we spent most of the time out in the city. Extremely comfy beds and showers and bathroom amenities.
Also literally out the front door is the subway to get to anywhere in NYC - very convenient. Walking distance to Curry Hill and the many eateries.
The continental breakfast was also very reasonable ,convenient and hearty. Just enough to get you started in the morning.
Overall an amazing stay in a more afforable hotel, in a top location. Its high rating on TA is justifiable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 30-31st floor overlooking Macys, Empire State and Herald Sq are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have stayed in this hotel two times in the last year. It's location could not be better. If walk out of the hotel, turn right and walk about 50 ft, there is a subway entrance. Perfect. There are also plenty of bodegas around.

The front desk staff is incredibly nice and welcoming. We arrived before check in both times and rooms were ready for us. Every interaction with staff was top notch.

I've only stayed in the king corner rooms, which are slightly larger, but still smaller than any room outside of NYC. The rooms have a small fridge and a microwave and a nice sized desk for working as well as plenty of outlets on the desk for your gadgets.

I found the bed to be comfortable. It was a firm bed, but I like that so I had no issues. The bathroom, while nicely appointed with tile, could use a re-design. The shower head is great but the glass enclosed shower doesn't have any ledges for shampoo, etc. I had to keep everything on the floor at the back of the shower. One minor flaw was that in order to open or close the door while in the bathroom, you had to either straddle the toilet or stand next to it. There wasn't enough room to open the door normally.

We had one minor incident the first year we stayed there. A man tried to enter our room in the wee hours of the morning. He was trying for the room next door, and he was drunk. We had to call security. They were very prompt.

My only major complaint about the hotel is that the wi-fi was unusable due to it's incredibly slow speeds.

This is a decent mid priced hotel in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Book through the Hilton website for a great price on room upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Some friends and I stayed at this hotel in February 2012 and loved it. Some of the benefits include:
*Accessibility to public transit
*Proximate location to all points in Manhattan
*Comfortable beds and quality linens
*Fairly sizable rooms
*Great customer service

Overall, without hesitation, I'd stay at this location again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cascader503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Yes, that's what I said, so for dinner it is eat out or room service. The restaurant is open for breakfast. Not lunch either when I was there Feb 15-19 2012
The location is great, near Times Square, Empire State Building, good central location for
shopping and site seeing. Room was clean and good size for NY.
Just hard to give it more than three stars when after a 18 hour flight, just don't want to start
searching for a place to eat just want to sit and relax. Concierge was helpful when asked for information. I would recommend the hotel in spite of three stars.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on the optional upgrade if booking from the Hiltion site. The room I got was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boblet451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel this past weekend. The location was wonderful.

Short walk everywhere we wanted to go. The walk up Broadway to Time Square took 5 -10 minutes, depending on your pace. I was attending a conference at the Javitz Centre and thought I would grab a cab. THe concerige adviced me to walk. 20 minutes and I was there.
We had 2 adjoining rooms, which wrapped around the elevators. We notice no noice from the elavators. These rooms didn't offer the Empire State building view (they were on the other side of the building), but we could see part of the Chrysler building.

We did drive in to NYC so we used the hotel garage, which is a public lot. We pulled up to the hotel, and they informed us that the parking was on 36th st. Traffic was very heavy, and we had to drive up to 8th to make a right hand turn to get over to the garage. This took us 20 minutes in the traffic. I wish there website explained this on the driving directions! I wasn't pleased.

We had arrived at 1 pm and our room was not ready, so they were very professional about storing the package, and offered to lock up our lap tops. Well done.

I will definitely stay and this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,692 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing