We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Ranked #75 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Situated centrally. Easy to get to times square and right around the corner from Macy's. Clean, spacious rooms.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,783
    1,505
    294
    64
    46
See reviews for
1,226
1,463
322
837
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Extremely clean, nice views, comfy, convenient, nice staff!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fankindagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights prior to a cruise leaving from the port of Bayonne, New Jersey. The hotel is in a great location close to Times Square, subway station and across the street from Macy's. I had originally requested a room on a high floor with a view of the Empire State Building. When we checked in the staff were friendly and glad to accomodate our request. Our room was on the top floor with a great view. The room was very spacious and clean, but felt very hot. We turned down the airconditioning and went our for a few hours, when we returned, it was still hot. We told the front desk and they said that our room was directly under the boiler room and they would move us. Our new room was a couple of floors down with the same view and much cooler! After we moved, I realized that I had left my maginifying make-up mirror attached to the mirror in the previous room. The staff couldn't find it, so they purchased me another one. A very nice gesture that I much appreciated! The new room was not as spacious, but it was clean and it met our needs. I had the best chocolate Martini ever in the bar at the hotel! Breakfast was very good. Tom, the Concierge had arranged car service for us to the port of Bayonne, The service was great! Nice, new Suburban with a decent price. They even made a stop around the corner to pick up another couple traveling with us. If you need anything call Tom! We appreciated his effort! Over all this was a very nice hotel and we would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: If your request a high floor room, make sure it's not under the boiler room. Hot up there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruisini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I only stayed for a night but was very happy with my selection. You never know what you're going to get in NYC sometimes but this turned out great. The room was a good since for NYC, I was on a high floor so I had a great view as well. The room included a fridge and a decent sized bathroom as well.

Its an HGI not a Hilton so not as fancy but the internet is free so who cares in the end. Its adjacent to a subway stop so an easy connection to anywhere you want to go in the city. The elevators require a key to get up to the rooms and there is lobby security at night though the location is so good they don't need it.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the few on a high floor it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fsview11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This is my second stay at this hotel. Once in 2009 and then again over the weekend. The hotel is comfortable and relaxing after a long day of walking around the city. The hotel is kept in brand new condition and is extremely clean. The staff is very accommodating from holding luggage to just making sure your stay is superb.

The only complaint I have which really is not the hotel's fault, but they seem to have group of cab drivers that park themselves out in front of the hotel waiting for airport fares. They are not interested in taking you anywhere else as we asked and were turned down, as it results in a lower fare. I don't mind getting my own cab, but these guys make it difficult as the street is very narrow and they leave little room for you to get picked up by another cab. I think the hotel should put some pressure on these guys to take whatever fare comes along if they are going to sit out front.

I will definitely be back to stay again.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ROATravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The staff are extremely helpful in this hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. There is a lovely atmosphere and it is in a great location - across from Macy's, next to the subway with nice restaurants and bars nearby. We left some of our personal belongings behind us in our room and the hotel staff took great care to keep them safe for us, for this we are very grateful. If/when we go back to new york we will definately stay there again, I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We chose this hotel because of the location and figured you can't go wrong with a Hilton. It all started off bad with the check-in. I let them know up front I was paying cash but I still had to hold it with my debit card. Well before I got there, they had already charged my card for 1 night stay. I was told the money would be credited right back to my card but it wasn't done until we departed 9 days later. So, they held a one night visit on my card plus we gave them an extra $450 cash for incidentals. After a lot of fuss, we got our $450 back early. The room wasn't bad, it was small but cozy. We let housekeeping in one day and the sheets were obviously dirty and they weren't changed, the window in our room was left open as our belongings sat right beside it. Also on our first full day there (we checked in late the night before) we had to quit early. The hotel was in charge of the scooter my mother had because the rooms were too small to keep it in there. There was a big sign to charge it daily and well, they didn't. The scooter died while we were out and I had to push it back to the hotel. We were obviously upset but their response was order in (because we hadn't ate yet.) We weren't in New York to "order in." Most of the staff was rude and not willing to help. We spent over $2000 on our stay there and will never stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momtonate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelyoc, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Manargentina,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th as your hotel of choice on your recent visit to Manhattan. It is my job to ensure that all our guests receive a Five Star experience and I regret sincerely that this was not the case during your stay. We do offer 10 spoken languages other than English. I am really sorry if there was nobody available on that day who could speak your native language. Normally, our Wi-Fi connections are excellent but it appears this was not the case during your visit. This is certainly not our normal standard or service and amenity. Thank you for letting me know and we will certainly review your feedback during retraining.

Regards

Hilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#100 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,435 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#103 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#118 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#151 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Address: 63 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Business Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal Midtown location with COMPLIMENTARY amenities including Internet, fitness center, business center & more! Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street was built in 2009 and is perfectly located in Midtown Manhattan just steps from some of New York's best attractions including the Empire State Building, world-famous Macy's at Herald Square, Times Square, Broadway theaters, Fifth Avenue shopping and Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Located on West 35th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues, this ultra-modern hotel is close to many restaurants, lively nightlife, sightseeing and New York City’s best shopping. The hotel is walking distance to all major subway lines and is convenient to Jacob Javits Convention Center, Port Authority Bus Terminal, Grand Central Terminal and all (3) area airports.The hotel features 298 newly built, contemporary guestrooms each equipped with 32-inch LCD flat panel television, refrigerator, microwave, safe, coffeemaker large work desk with ergonomic chair and complimentary Internet access with secure remote printing to the hotel’s Business Center. COMPLIMENTARY amenities include high-speed lobby and guestroom Internet access, 24-hour Business Center, 24-hour Fitness Center, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and USA Today®. Additional onsite amenities include The Great American Grill (located in the hotel lobby and open daily for breakfast), lobby lounge with flat-screen television, evening room service, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry (stocked with your favorite snacks, drinks & toiletries) and Concierge/Theater Ticket Desk. The hotel is 100% non-smoking. Self parking is available. The hotel allows service pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York West 35th Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing