We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Milburn Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Beacon(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Amsterdam Inn(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
The Lucerne Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Inn New York City(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riverside Tower Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Hotel Olcott(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
Excelsior Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,195)
Filter reviews
1,195 results
Traveller rating
449
518
139
39
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
518
139
39
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupper west sidesmall kitchenettecentral parkfairway marketlincoln centernew yorkmuseum of natural historybeacon theatreliving roombreakfast roomoff broadwaygreat neighborhooddvd playerstay there againfew blocksaround the corneran older hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
710 - 715 of 1,195 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

February. Parents with two kids. Our room was upgraded to junior suit when we were checking-in. The hotel is quite old but charming. We stayed on the 10th floor (room 1002) and had no problems with hot water or shower. It was too warm in the room for our taste, but it seems that climate control didn't work well. We were staying there for only two nights so we could live with it. The room was big and comfortable. The bathroom was also big and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Mini-kitchen was useful because we bought yogurts and fruit for our kids and could keep everything in the fridge and also make tea for ourselves. Continental breakfast was OK for us: we didn't need anything else but cereal with milk, tea, croissants with cream cheese, yogurts and bananas.
The only minus was that we could very well hear the working tv from another room and our neighbors were watching it till 3 a.m.
It is a nice hotel to stay with kids: mini-kitchen is very useful, the hotel offer books, CDs, DVDs and games for kids free of charge. WiFi is also free! The hotel is situated in a quite street and you can walk to the Museum of Natural History and Central Park in just five minutes. Many restaurants and shops are nearby. The location of the hotel is great-great-great!
It is a very reasonably priced hotel to stay there with your family. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnastasiaB74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed 5 nights in mid-Feb and loved it!
The previous reviewer mentioned the reception staff being rude & unsmiling.
We found the exact opposite, they were always courteous, smiling & couldn't have been more helpful! Perhaps it's a case of 'you reap what you sow'?
Up on the 11th floor it could sometimes take a little while for the shower to run hot but it was just a case of turning it on a couple of minutes before you wanted to get in once we realized this.
I'll never stay anywhere else in NYC from now on! We hardly even went downtown - the Upper West Side is just wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Its kind of old, needs a bit of refurnishing. Old bathrooms, small and old towels. We spent one day there with no hot water, winter time! Reception, oh god!, rude, rude... Put a smile on their faces, please! Breakfast is a joke, right?!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shoelovest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I traveled to New York with my son and husband. I've visited the city before, but it was their first time. We chose the Milburn for its very reasonable rates, great location and thanks to many great reviews on TripAdvisor. We stayed in a modest room with two double beds and a mini-kitchen (fridge, microwave, sink, dishes) on the 5th floor of the hotel. It was great! We had to juggle a bit to stow all of our clothes and toiletries. Three women would be hard pressed to make do in the small bathroom and with one dresser and a small closet, but we did just fine. The room was clean and completely serviced every day. The beds were comfortable and the TV new, with many cable channels, and the internet worked fine, even with 3 devices all online at the same time.

The hotel has a fair sized breakfast room with a very basic continental breakfast. Loads of carbs if you like them (fresh bagels, bread, coffee cake), coffee, tea, apples, bananas and yogurt sometimes. I augmented this with a few items from the glorious Fairway Market just a block away on Broadway. Another block farther south there's Trader Joe's. Between these two stores you'll find everything you need. Oh, there's a wine store across the street and Andy's Deli on Amsterdam has cold beer. Best of all, you're just 3 blocks from the 72nd St Subway station, where you can catch a fast, safe and easy ride to wherever you want to go, whenever you want to be there. You can also walk to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. Up and down Broadway there's good shopping and lots of restaurants. We spent some time just exploring this neighbourhood, which is a definite step up from the Times Square area, much quieter, and with more variety and less tourist glitz.

The best thing about the Milburn is the staff. We were greeted warmly upon arrival and served with a smile every moment. We got extra towels, a corkscrew, a taxi, directions to the post office, a yoga mat (to use on the floor in the small but functional exercise room) promptly when we needed them. There's a lovely man who presides over the breakfast room. Even the housekeepers are friendly.

We didn't make use of it, but the Milburn has a partnership with the Jewish Community Center, just a block away, so you can swim or use the gym there. The notes in our hotel room also said they have DVDs and books at the front desk to borrow and enjoy. If you're not finished the book by the end of your stay, take it home and bring it back next time. They know you will be back.

We'll go back to the Milburn, I'm sure. It's great value and a warm and welcoming home away from home.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moodymcsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just back from New York City, staying for a week at the Milburn Hotel. This is the second year we've spent a week there in January. We travel to NYC by train, and the Milburn is just a short subway ride from Penn Station. What a great location; a few blocks from Lincoln Center, across Central Park to the Metropolitan Museum and the Guggenheim. For food, you are between Zabars and Fair Way! We were upgraded, and got a very nice big suite. Bed & bedding extremely comfortable, bathroom was perfect, we were on the 11th floor so quite quiet. Very good breakfast served downstairs, 6:30 -10:00. But the best thing about the Milburn is the home-like, relaxed ambience. All the staff are considerate & friendly. The guy in the breakfast room remembered us from last year, as did the front-desk staff. Highly recommended - we'll be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews