We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent stay at New Yorker”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent stay at New Yorker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed at the New Yorker with my husband and three daughters. We had two double rooms, which the receptionist kindly put next to each other,that were very clean and modern with daily maid service. Beds were very soft and comfortable.From our 19th floor room we had terrific views up 34th street of The Empire State Building and across the city of The Chrysler Building. The bathroom was small but functional. The staff were friendly and heplful.The hotel felt very safe and secure, you have to show your room key to use the elevator. The Tick Tock Diner served up very large portions of delicious food at reasonable prices. Vending and ice machines for use on every floor.The only thing missing was a tea or coffee making machine.The hotel is in a perfect location for seeing the city, just a short walk to Times Square for bus tours and across the street is Penn station. I would recommend The New Yorker for families.

Room Tip: The higher your room is the less street noise, though we were on 19th floor and could still hear sir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,487
    4,596
    1,843
    567
    348
See reviews for
3,051
3,721
552
1,236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We've just come back from a 4 night stay at The New Yorker - and it comes highly recommended!

As first time visitors, it was perfect for us as it's close to the subway station as well as MSG (where we had tickets for the Rangers on our first night).

It's also within walking distance of Times Square / theatre district, and just a 5 minute walk from Macy's.

Our room was a nice size with queen size bed and chair. Free wi-fi in the room was also much appreciated.

The Tick Tock diner attached to the hotel is great for breakfasts.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carlysparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Booked on priceline.com for about US$140 per night which is cheap for NYC midrange hotel. Booking was for queen size bed which was actually a double size so we asked for 2 singles which you hadto pay an extra $20 per night to upgrade to next room size. It was well worth it as the room is double the size so alot more space. Location is great close to Penn station to get anywhere you want, but i preferred to walk everywhere which is easy. Staff on checkin friendly but other staff a bit gruff. Beds very comfy and room pretty modern. Bathroom a bit worn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestResponse, Public Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the New Yorker Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and, also very pleased to read your review of our team, services, and facilities.

We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Eric Bryant, Marketing/PR
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed here with my daughter in January. Reception staff went out of their way to be helpful and upgraded us to a room with a view of the Empire State Building. Perfect location for seeing Manhattan especially as it is just a couple of minutes from Penn Station which connects directly to Newark Airport. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Empire State give a real wow factor especially if this is your first visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippa2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We have stayed at the New Yorker Hotel many times and we always enjoy it. We can echo some of the recent reviews about the smallish size of the rooms, but we usually have a good view of either the Hudson River (through the buildings) or the Empire State building. Our room was pleasant and clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The bathrooms tend to be very small and with tile from an earlier era (although recently repainted), but they are clean and functional. What we like is the friendly atmosphere, the great location (A & C subway lines around the corner and a bus stop to Lincoln center across the street), the short-wait elevators and the Tick Tock Diner. We have usually gotten a reasonably priced room for New York City and it now just feels like home. This trip we "discovered" B & H camera just around the corner on 9th and 34th and were just amazed that we had never been there before. A visit there is entertainment itself if you are a camera buff.

Room Tip: Although usually a little more expensive, try for a "room with a view" for more city atmos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nylorac63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestResponse, Public Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Wonderful words! Thank you so much for the kind review.
We hope that you had an enjoyable stay, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Eric Bryant, Marketing/PR
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just got back from having a fabulous trip to New York. We where worried that the room we would get would be facing a brick wall but was over the moon to get a view of the Hudson River, granted it was looking through several high rise building but all the same great view. The check in staff where friendly especially Mohammed. The rooms where small but clean and we only spent time in there to shower and sleep. Great location close to Time Square, Broadway, Madison Garden and Train Station to name but a few. No negative points.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My brother and I & our wives , just returned from a long weekend at the New Yorker (Feb 17th to 20th, 2012) . We arrived via Amtrak Train to Pennsylvania Station, and the Hotel was less that a block away.
Mohammed, checked us in, at the Desk and he was very pleasant and accomadating... Not rude at all Our Check in was quick and painless. As a matter of Fact, any interaction I had with the front desk, or any other staffers in the New Yorker, I was taked care of with professionalism.
! He did warn us that our room was small... and he did offer to provide our room w/a coffee maker (Kuereg). My wife & I's, room was on the north east corner of the building, with great views of the Manhattan CityScape Northwest/North and Eastward. We loved the morning sun waking us up. Yes the room was small, but it was Clean and the Housekeeping service did a nice job each day we were there. I like old hotels... as long as they are clean. The bed was comfortable and the linens were crisp and clean.
I would recommend and return to this hotel for sure.
Great location, and great value...

Room Tip: Rooms on the North East Corner have two windows and , have great views of the west/north and East. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,520 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,788 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#323 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,737 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,177 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#221 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing