We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first time in New York,great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #273 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“first time in New York,great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

just spent 5 nights at the New Yorker (april 5-10).The lobby is very impressive and check in went very smoothly.The room was very art deco and very comfortable,the only dissapointment was the lack of a decent view.used the tick tock diner on numerous occations due to its convenient location and standard of both service and quality of food.Check out was quick and easy and used the transportation desk to arrange a private car trip to the airport(only slightly dearer than a yellow cab and well worth it).Another big plus was the location of the New Yorker,away from the noice and glare of Times Square but ideal to reach all major destinations and 1 minute from main subway station.All in all a top hotel,great location and would highly recommend.Thanks for making our holiday a memorable experience.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the quieter it gets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marathonman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,449
    4,547
    1,817
    548
    344
See reviews for
3,003
3,682
547
1,223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at The New Yorker for 4 nights over Easter in 2012. This was our 3rd visit to the Big Apple and we decided to stay a little further out than tourist time square and stumbled on The New Yorker on expedia.

From the moment we checked in, we new this was the best overall hotel we have had in New York to date!

The Lobby is splendid and the staff helpful so we settled straight into our holiday. Our room was a Metro Queen(2183) and although we didn't have a view of the Empire state, we got to watch sunrise and sunset over The Hudson and New Jersey, which isn't bad.

The room was easily large enough for us, with a closet, drawer space and a large comfy bed. The only issues were a little bit if poor wiring and a shower with difficult temperature to regulate. If these are your only issues though, I certainly deem this as a good hotel.

The excellent Tick Tock Diner (see seperate review) and Coopers Tavern, both accessed from the lobby are excellent and reasonable value making life easier, especially for breakfast, or a quick drink after a long days sightseeing!

All in all, I was delighted we ventured away from Time Square and certainly believe you get far better value for money. I would definitely recommend The New Yorker hotel and will use again next time we are in New York!!!

Thank you The New Yorker, see you soon!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bexy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestResponse, Public Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Wonderful words! Thank you so much for the kind review.
We hope that you had an enjoyable stay, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Eric Bryant, Marketing/PR
The New Yorker Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just returned from spending a girls only Easter in the New Yorker hotel. What a fantastic hotel . From the moment we walked in we were impressed .The hotel has a fab art deco style . All 6 of us shared 3 double rooms , which consisted of 2 double beds (large enough and very clean and comfy). Each room had a tv, iron and ironing board and bath/shower and hair dryer (bring your own dryer though). plenty of storage for your suitcases etc.
Once settled in you can then go and explore New york and from this hotel you are never far from anywhere.We were on the 29th floor so noise was not an issue at all. The views of New york were Amazing. I was lucky enough to have a spectacular view of The Empire State Building.....simply Stunning!!
There is a superb Diner attached to the hotel and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful , the food was perfect and plentiful and was very inexpensive.
This was an all over fantastic experience
The hotel staff were a credit to The New Yorker hotel and We as a group look forward to returning and staying here again!

Room Tip: Just ask if they can they will !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Have just returned from spending three nights in this hotel. We had upgraded to a room with a view (35th floor) and we were not disappointed. the view of ESB was superb. Beds were very comfortable. Room was spacious and bathroom was fine. No complaints at all . The location for many tourist attractions was excellent. I would definately stay here again on my next visit to NY.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austintown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Every person working at this hotel is excellent. Any one I stopped with a question, answered it or sent me to the correct person to answer my question. I was my first time to the city with my daughter and I had many questions, so this alone was a great help. All the staff is friendly and will go out of their way for you, what ever you need. The Hotel was very clean and quite beautiful. Also the location is great, right by Penn station where we came in from , and across the street one of the main subway steams to get you to where ever you want to go. I definiately will stay again next year when I will be in the city for the same event. I can't say enough good things about this hotel and it's employees. Also the diner is great and is open 24 hours- great service and food and very clean. thank you New Yorker Hotel for making my stay in the city a great experience.

Room Tip: I was on the 24 th floor the room had a street view that was very nice -- but I'm sure all the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have just got back from 3 nights at the New Yorker Hotel. Unfortunately, our travel company had only booked for 2 people but should have been for 4 sharing a room - us and our 2 children. The hotel staff were excellent in sorting out that error, which was nothing to do with them, and gave us a lovely suite. It not only had 2 beds but also a small 'lounge' area with a separate tv and settee. The bathroom was great and cleanliness was excellent. Only thing we had to ask for was a coffee machine which is not automatically provided but perhaps tea/coffee making facilities are just a british thing in hotels! They immediately bought a coffee machine to our room. The hotel is in a great location and a good area for getting to tourist bits - Empire State building being seen just to the right of the main entrance. Will definitely stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestResponse, Public Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the New Yorker Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and, also very pleased to read your review of our team, services, and facilities.

We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Eric Bryant, Marketing/PR
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel really is ideal if you visit New York as it is central to the main sites, from the window we could see the Empire State, Madison Square Gardens & Chrysler Building which were all a very short walk from the hotel. The staff were very helpful, the diner attached to the hotel served very good food and again very helpful staff. The hotel is art deco so interior is gorgeous. The only negative I would say was that there was no facilities for making coffee/tea in the room which may just be how it is in America but us Europeans do like our tea especially first thing in the morning! Overall, loved loved loved this hotel & location, will stay again!

Room Tip: Rooms on one side have view of the Empire State Building and Chrysler Building where on the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenmaryclaire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,817 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,702 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,652 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#278 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,002 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing