We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for the first NY-visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #274 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for the first NY-visit”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We planned our first visit of NYC in november 11 and also booked a deluxe room in the New Yorker Hotel. About a week before departure we changed our mind and asked for an upgrade to one of their tower suites. After 4 days of waiting for a response, we got an upgrade offer for 75$ per night... pretty cheap if you compare it to the standard tower suite price.
As we heard about their slightly unfriendly personal we didn´t expect much of the check in.
Unfortunatly their was no upgrade noted in our file, so we had to discuss with the receptionist to get the upgrade for the promised 75$. It seemed that they had mistakenly told us the price of 75$ and now wanted to withdraw their error. But after 20min of talking we managed to get our upgrade.
Room was - for a suite - not too big, but for 4 days and 3 persones it´s ok. Minibar was free, but there was only 1 Coke, 1 Dietcoke and 1 water in it. We had a coffeemachine and 2 big flatscreens for each room. Beds were exeptionally good. View was also superb, as we could directly see the Empire State building from our beds. Windows were able to open for about 10 centimeters. Unfortunatly there were 2 balconys of the other suites directly unter our windows. The first 2 nights we were lucky as nobody used it, but in the third night some spanish or mexican people thought it would be a good idea to invite all their friends to have a nice party on the balcony. Unfortunatly the doors were also very loud an had a large slit so you heard everyone coming and going to the lifts. Bathroom was a bit too small and very hot. The shower was a desaster as you felt like in jail while under it. There didn´t even flow enough water to get the shampoo of your body. By the way, room was nearly top-floor (39 of 40). So liftrides at rush hour took more then 10 min.
The complementary breakfast was a joke (at least for us). Cerials, joghurt and some dry buns, muffins and crossains. Coffee was typicly american, tasted after chlorine and to feel the coffeine you had to drink about 20 cups. We went to TikTokDiner the next days.

Checkout was efficient as you just have to drop you keys in a box if your bill is ok.
All in all it was a very nice stay at this hotel, of course their is room for improvement.

Room Tip: Be careful not to be placed near an Ice-machine and in summer not over or next to a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svapo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestResponse, Public Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
We certainly appreciate you review. We strive to offer unmatched value for the price. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and please come visit again soon.

Eric Bryant, Marketing/PR
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,641
    4,792
    1,942
    596
    370
See reviews for
3,214
3,876
581
1,300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The location was great! Our service was excellent. GSR Jimmy was great! However, the rooms could use a little touch up. There are things that seem simple to fix that are just overlooked. (i.e. 24th floor elevator door has a huge spot that needs to be painted and would only take a few minutes.) Other than a little maintenance work it was okay. I might stay here again.

Room Tip: Madison Square Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntieof7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestResponse, Public Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
We're glad you liked our location, and wished our bathroom size was more suitable for you. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Eric Bryant, Marketing/PR
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, NY
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

If you are looking for a luxurious setting or rooms, not really the place for you. However, if you are looking for a centrally located "decent" hotel, with friendly staff, this is definitely the place.

Located 1 block away from Penn. Station (and therefore super convenient if arriving by train), this hotel is a fairly easy walk away from Central Park (1 mile north), the High Line Elevated Park (1/2 mile to the West), or Chelsea (1 mile south), as well as many other locations.

We were slightly dismayed on arrival, because: (a) the check-in line was a bit lengthy; and (b) the main elevators weren't working. However, we were upgraded (to a balcony room) just by asking nicely (balcony = absolutely worth it, even if paying!). And, the hotel staff worked very hard to direct folks to service elevators (this was only temporary and the problem was fixed within 1 hour) and were very polite and extremely apologetic about the (slight) inconvenience.

Rooms were a bit on the small side, but were always promptly cleaned and furnished with new towels.

While not really the highlight of the trip (hotel really isn't the point of visiting NYC, is it?), it was the perfect background for the trip. That is, we never experienced any really problems with the hotel, so we were free to enjoy our weekend. As far as I'm concerned, we got exactly what we hoped for in the New Yorker hotel.

Room Tip: If you are traveling during nice weather, a room with a balcony is well worth the extra cost. Even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestResponse, Public Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
We certainly appreciate you review. Thank you for the 5-star ratings and for being willing to recommend us to your friends!

Eric Bryant, Marketing/PR
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Myself and my husband came to New York with family for the first time but definitely not the last!Excellent hotel, fantastic location. Tic toc diner fantastic and staff very courteous and helpful. Rooms cleaned every day, bed very comfortable. The gift shop was very good with a nice selection at reasonable prices. We booked a show and helicopter ride at the booking desk, staff very friendly and helpful. Will definitely use this hotel on my next visit to New York!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at the New Yorker for 6 nights...Our first time in New York.
The rooms were small but very clean and served the purpose as we were out early and in late.
The front desk staff were friendly and extremely helpful. They made arrangements for a cab for us the morning we left. Anything we needed they were happy to help.
Times square and Empire State Building all within walking distance. We walked in the neighbourhood early morning and late at night and felt safe.
We definately would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennonscrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestResponse, Public Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for the endorsement! We're glad you felt our hotel was good value for the price. Please do come and stay with us again soon, and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Eric Bryant, Marketing/PR
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My best friend and I visited for a long girls' weekend - it was my first time in NYC. The location was great, the hotel staff was helpful and professional, and the hotel itself was clean and beautiful, in spite of the renovations. At the desk, I asked for a room upgraded and my request was accommodated with a smile. I came into Penn Station from JFK, and the hotel was in easy walking distance. We also took in a Knicks' game at MSG, which was right across the street. The subway was easily accessible, and there were always cabs waiting in front of the hotel. I would recommend the hotel and plan to stay there again when I return to New York - which I definitely will as soon as I can. Thank you, New Yorker!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

just spent 5 nights at the New Yorker (april 5-10).The lobby is very impressive and check in went very smoothly.The room was very art deco and very comfortable,the only dissapointment was the lack of a decent view.used the tick tock diner on numerous occations due to its convenient location and standard of both service and quality of food.Check out was quick and easy and used the transportation desk to arrange a private car trip to the airport(only slightly dearer than a yellow cab and well worth it).Another big plus was the location of the New Yorker,away from the noice and glare of Times Square but ideal to reach all major destinations and 1 minute from main subway station.All in all a top hotel,great location and would highly recommend.Thanks for making our holiday a memorable experience.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the quieter it gets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marathonman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#95 of 467 in New York City
4,318 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,442 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#151 of 467 in New York City
7,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#187 of 467 in New York City
9,551 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#259 of 467 in New York City
4,626 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#169 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing