We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service during and after stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Ranked #36 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service during and after stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at Gild Hall for two nights over Easter. We were greeted upon arrival with a glass of Proseco which was very nice. The room was beautiful, really nice linens, marble bathroom, very roomy by NYC standards. The best thing was that I left my Blackberry in the room and didn't discover it until I was halfway back to Boston. When I called the hotel the next day, they reported that the phone had not been turned in, but they would search the room again. The very nice Executive Housekeeper, called me the next day and told me they had found it had fallen behind the safe! She was so nice!!! I would definitely go back to this hotel and would recommend it highly! It's also a quick walk to Fulton Station, so easy to get around.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFlynnRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott K, General Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for the great review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I will share your kind comments with my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    439
    101
    38
    14
See reviews for
207
610
120
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I decided at the last minute to see a show with friends in NYC. I used a hotel site that doesn't tell you what the hotel is till you buy it and chose a 4star. After purchase I was nervous because the reviews weren't good. Though I wouldn't call it a 4star, we were pleasantly surprised and had a wonderful stay. First off, the location was perfect. Walking distance to the train, Seaport, a supermarket, places to eat, coffee, bars. We were greeted with unique decor, a glass of Prosecco, and excellent customer service. It wasn't "luxury", but "boutique" hotels are a welcome change from the usual. We felt at home and enjoyed our stay. The bed was comfortable, room clean. Missing, however, was wifi. Got to have free wifi! A small fridge would have been nice too. And an odd thing; the key reader in the door woke me up a few times because it makes a clicking noise.

Room Tip: A building is going to be built next door on the east side at some point...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvnLif e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott K, General Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will have your door lock checked to ensure it is functioning properly. Give us a call next time you are in town. it would be my pleasure to personally look after your stay.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
169 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We also purchased the Travelzoo deal but were staying over a Monday night so had no problem booking a room. They even advised that we received an upgrade without my asking. We ordered room service for breakfast and the food was wonderfully prepared. Staff were very helpful upon check-in and we needed some extra assist.

We loved the location which was close to the 911 memorial, Seaport, Trinity Church and Wall St. Great location for crossing the Brooklyn Bridge and enjoying some of Brooklyn as well as close to multiple subway stops on Fulton St. The room was large by Manhattan standards, bed was comfortable, and bathroom one of the cleanest we had seen in the city. As to someones comment about no top sheet, the comforter was covered with sheets and I found the sheets of good quality which is also becoming harder to find in Manhattan.

Our one minor issue was that we were placed in a room on the Platt St. side of the building which is where trash trucks seem to load trash and recycables from a neighboring building for two hours at a time. They actually were loading two trucks at a time with the noise of constant compacting. We were only on the 4th floor so it made it difficult to listen to the TV or each other from 8-10 pm. It was also going on during the daytime but the good news is that it stopped around 10 pm so no problem sleeping. We would return to this hotel but request a room on the opposite side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Away from Platt St. side of hotel. Room 46 has a window that does not shut tightly on the left righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slstretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott K, General Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for the great feedback about your stay. We are so glad the demo accross the street has come to an end. That was a long week for us all!
Look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed at the Gild Hall with my girlfriend and two other couples back in December. The hotel was easy to locate and we even found a parking spot on the street around the corner form the hotel. I liked this property because it didn't have the feel of a bigger hotel such as a Weston or Marriott. We had three rooms between the six of us and all of our rooms were ready upon our arrival. The front desk staff was very accommodating to our group and quickly checked us in. The room was very clean and had nice high ceilings. My favorite part of the room was the king size bed. Overall I had a great experience at the Gild Hall and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I got a Travelzoo coupon for this hotel. Bad idea. Because when I tried to redeem it, they told me they were out of the "class" of rooms that were on the coupon for the date I wanted. The coupon offered two upgrades for the price, so I told them I would be happy to take a lower grade room. They were happy to book me in a lower grade room. But for a HIGHER PRICE. Then I asked them what rooms they had available. They told me they only had premium rooms. That was the room grade on the coupon. When I told them that, they said they didn't have those available, they only had suites available. Then I asked them why they were offering me a lower grade room. They kept changing the story. I should have took the hint and booked somewhere else, but I went ahead and paid the extra money.

Mind you, I was supposed to get free WiFi and free continental breakfast with the coupon, but since I got the LOWER GRADE room for a HIGHER PRICE, they were not going to honor the coupon. So I called Travelzoo and got a refund.

When I got to the hotel, they were nice enough and the hotel was pretty and the decorations were nice. However. The room was just ok. First thing. Why didn't they have a top sheet? That is just unsanitary. Who knows if they wash those comforters every day. Second. There is no coffee maker in the room. If you want your morning cup of joe, you better be prepared to go downstairs and pay a full $15.00 for their continental breakfast, which consists of some cereal, a little fruit, a few danishes and some juice. And coffee. I just wanted the coffee. So I grabbed a cup and went upstairs to my room. I didn't pay for it, figured it was the least they could give me.

Last, but certainly not least, they have NO RESTAURANT ON THE WEEKENDS. Who closes their restaurant on weekends? I was looking forward to a night in with some delicious four star food. Room service? Nope. They brought up some menus. One of the places was closed already and it was only 8pm. ??!! We eventually ordered from grubhub. I wanted room service because I wanted china and real utensils and a decent meal.

I will never go to this place again. Ever. They spend a lot of money on aesthetics and failed to spend the pocket change it would have cost to have a top sheet, a coffee maker, and some damn food. They nickel and dime you on the continental breakfast, though. Not cool. Not cool at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BDavis20744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott K, Manager at Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review. I am sorry about the confusion with Travel Zoo but glad you straightened it out with them. I wanted to assure you that each guest receives freshly cleaned 400 thread count sheets and duvets. We will be happy to make note of your request for additional sheeting should you return to our hotel. We are also sorry you did not get a chance to take advantage of our continental breakfast or evening bar service but I wanted to assure you we happily serve guests coffee in restaurant every weekend.
I am glad you enjoyed our décor and ambiance. Please contact us when you plan to return to NY so we can ensure your stay is up to our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

A great hotel in the financial district - the king room was large for Manhattan snd well appointed. The bed was like a big cloud - sooo comfortable and a very clean hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALP1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed at the Gild Hall last month and I was pleasantly surprised. I just moved from living in New York for 7 years so I am well aware that the financial district shuts down on the weekend but as a former New Yorker enjoyed the quiet streets and neat little finds for pubs and places to dine. It is also walking distance to Tribeca where you can find a little more night life. As for sleeping it was quiet and enjoyable. The staff was overly helpful in recommending places close by and gave us a room upgrade upon checking in (even having booked at a very discounted rate). If you are looking for the bright lights and touristy NYC don't stay here but if you want to enjoy a bit of New York off the beaten path then I highly recommend the Gild. Not to mention when the Monday rolled around the hotel was a buzz and you can't beat happy hour on Stone Street.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYork_hotelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#22 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel

Property: Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Address: 15 Gold Street, Main Entrance on Platt Street, New York City, NY 10038-4803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
#17 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen meets Wall Street at Gild Hall, Thompson Hotels' Lower Manhattan luxury lifestyle design property. Located on Gold Street in the heart of the financial district with nearby landmarks such as the 9/11 memorial, Freedom Tower, Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty, Gild Hall brings a new level of design savvy and service to Manhattan's most historic neighborhood. Designed by Jim Walrod, the unpretentious yet luxurious hotel offers 126 rooms and suites including meeting space for up to 15 people. Our rooms feature oversize leather-tufted headboards and elegant custom-designed furniture, topped with rich flannel throws and mahogany details, some adorned by dramatic chandeliers. Felice Ristorante & Wine Bar offers authentic Tuscan fare complete with one of the best Italian proprietary wines - bottled from Fattoria Sardi Giustiniani, the owner's vineyard in Lucca. Effortlessly blending classical European sensibility with American contemporary style, Gild Hall serves as a modern-day gentleman's club for the kings and queens of Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gild Hall New York City
Gild Hall Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing