We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #35 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Chelsea Pines in is a great little respite in the middle of the city. You're greeted by extremely friendly and helpful staff (in some cases the owner himself), where a bowl of snacks or cookies awaits. The staff is extremely knowledgable and more than willing to point out some good spots or activities, or help you get tickets for a site, museum, or play. The rooms are small but nice, adorably decorated. Breakfast and snacks are served where you can choose from NY bagels, fruits, cereals, oatmeal, etc. The hotel is right near the Chelsea Market (great for restaurants) and the Highline (a gorgeous walk, especially in spring and summer when the weather is nice), and a multitude of shops. I wish I'd had more time to explore the neighborhood, but it was located right next to some of the major metro lines which made getting around the rest of the city even easier. I highly recommend the Chelsea Pines Inn!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,664
    314
    71
    15
    18
See reviews for
280
1,067
255
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
danvers
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

rooms are so functional and comfortable- dare I say - feng shue - can't spell it so probably not! coffee, snacks etc, available all day along with great advise! I loved how comfortable everyone made us - no problem with my extra trips to the expresso machine , snacks etc. Great sun room -- location is unbelievable! We visited everything --without a car / cab etc WE WILL BE BACK --- If they'll have us - of course xoxoxoxox hope you see this!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danver8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I typically travel to NYC for work, so I'm fortunate enough to stay in hotels like the Maritime, the Standard and the Ace hotel on my company's dime. This time, I needed a last minute hotel that I could afford so I could come down to visit with friends. Chelsea Pines fit the bill! The location is fabulous--you can get around anywhere from the city easily (and for me, it was right around the corner from my office). The value was very good for the money; it's not the poshest hotel in all of NYC, but that's not what it's about. It's about being comfortable and quirky with great service. Many of the rooms are decorated in the theme of a movie star--I had Jame Chandler, so there were vintage move posters all over the room. The bed was very good and I had a great sleep. The bathrooms were small but efficient and very clean. And, my room overlooked an adorable little garden in the back of the hotel, which is a rare find in NYC. I had plenty planned out for my stay, so I didn't need recommendations, but the staff definitely let me know that they'd be there if I did want it. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We would return without any doubt. Just hope it doesn't get too renown so we can still get in. The guest house is friendly, clean, superbly located and decent value for money in Manhattan.
Service - faultless. Incredibly friendly and helpful and felt very looked after, safe and at home. The room was spotless and returned to that state every day.
Rooms - cosy, and perhaps slightly outdated but that was part of the charm. Incredibly clean which was very important to us, lovely well- stocked bathroom and appliances all good. Sure there is some street noise- we were on the front - but it is West 14th St and in central Manhattan. We slept well.
Breakfast- just great. Fresh fruit, yoghurt, breads, cereals and a cheese/meat plate. The breakfast room was great too for grabbing a coffee when back in from sightseeing. And a sweet back patio to sit out in.
Location- new to us and a real find. Easy to get to the Village and into Soho, and the subway just next door (have change or you'll find it hard getting a ticket. I think $6 was the most they'd take). I haven't used subway on previous trips but used it all the time this time. The best thing about the location is the Meatpacking District - buzzing day and night. Chelsea Market and the Highline the hits of our trip. Ate out in the local area every night, sitting outside when it was warm enough. And each restaurant was fantastic. There is a real vibe to this area and I wouldn't now want to stay anywhere else.
Sure this is not a hotel experience - but I think you get much more than staying in one of the anonymous chains. It felt like our own small apartment in the hottest part of Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NickW067067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed with my Partner over the Easter Weekend and overall this is a great hotel, service was excellent. Staff were very friendly and super helpful. The location is perfect, a short walk to the MeatPacking District and the Chelsea Market. The rooms were smaller than I would have liked but filled with charm. If I were to stay in the Chelsea area again I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

That is what you will receive when you stay at Chelsea Pines Inn. The staff is always friendly and helpful. You will receive a daily list of recommended activities. My wife and I would never have discovered the Ari Hoenig group had we not been directed to Smalls Jazz Club in the Village one evening. And Jay, the owner, somehow nabbed us 5th row center seats for the opening night of the preview of "The Best Man" on Broadway. The hotel is conveniently located between Chelsea, the Meatpacking District and Greenwich Village. It is just blocks from Chelsea Market and the Highline Park. The rooms are postage stamp sized (it is NYC afterall -- besides, how much time does one spend there except to sleep?), but modern with flat screen TV and HBO. And QUIET: no street noise! The beds/linens are very comfortable. There is no elevator that I know of, so that could be an issue for disabled guests. There is an expanded continental breakfast with cold-cuts and cheese, excellent coffee or espresso, fresh pastries, cookies and fruits. After receiving a personalized thank-you email from Jay upon or arrival home, we were certain that we have found a new "home" when we visit NYC!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the back courtyard. Absolutely NO street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WIEireannach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The staff found out we were there for my friend's birthday and we came home to a bouquet of roses in the room that evening! The staff had great recommendations for every type of request and hands down their personal touch and demeanor cannot be beat. If customer service is important to you, this is the place. The hotel is quaint and charming and inexpensive and the location is PERFECT! Just a few steps from the Blue line. If it had an elevator we would give it 5 stars but those stairs ! :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocteaumazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing