We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A unique side of New York” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gracie Mansion

Gracie Mansion
Ranked #377 of 1,064 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In 1942 New York City mayor Fiorello La Guardia opted to live in Gracie Mansions instead of his palatial residence on Riverside Drive. Since then it has served as the mayoral residence.
Kew Gardens, New York
Level Contributor
251 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A unique side of New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

The governor's mansion was easy to visit, I had no difficulty booking tickets. The tour size is small, the house itself interesting, and the grounds are lovely. It feels like a brief escape from the city, and a step back to an earlier New York.

I enjoyed it very much.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank dnvpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

The view from the deck of the East River is wonderful. Worth the 7 dollars fee. The house is breathtaking...I could move in.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank 404351scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful Historical Mansion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Gracie Mansion is open on Wednesdays to the public for about a 45 minute tour. Reservations need to be made and can be made on the internet - - very reasonable - $4 for Seniors. This is the official residence of the mayor of NYC - and used primarily for public functions. A lot of history attached - located on the East River @ 88th Street. A nice park adjacent and you can walk along the river.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank HamillMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time little known site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

I have lived in the area of gracie mansion my whole life and have fond memories of visiting it when i was younger. I recently visited again and it was a great time it is an undervalued tour spot in new york

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank thesunnyatlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Don't forget to book your place early”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

The guided tour around this beautiful old mansion takes around 45 minutes. There is a lot to see and the guides are well-informed and professional. The carpets, walls, furniture and building itself are all exemplary. There are a couple of tours each day but you have to book by telephone beforehand. Don't just turn up as you probably won't get onto the tour.

Helpful?
3 Thank aapjebaapje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gracie Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Gracie Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing